Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    DNF Addict
    URLtrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,056
    DNF$
    4,168
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,168
    Donate  

    iMicrosoft.com - TM violation or not ?

    Hi Members ,

    This question is to all of you, especially TM attorneys . If someone registers name like iMicrosoft.com , iFord.com , iPepsi.com etc and tries to sell it for profit , will it be considered as violation of TM ?

    Thanks.
    Genetics.us, Genome.us, Nanotech.us, CosmeticSurgeon.us
    CellularPayments.com, ElectronicsEngineering.com,
    HollywoodTimes.com, TechnologyTimes.com are on sale.

  2. #2
    Gold Lifetime Member
    thinkaholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    217
    DNF$
    1,766
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,766
    Donate  
    Yes. It would be registered in bad faith, which would deem it a violation of TM.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Restecpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    540
    DNF$
    1,716
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,716
    Donate  
    Unless you can prove that by iMicrosoft youve actually meant iMicroSoft as in: mine is micro and soft
    ............................
    ||| TraceRT ||| Royalty Free Images (10 FREE credits)

  4. #4
    Domain Buyer
    DaddyHalbucks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, USA
    Posts
    3,211
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    115,488
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    115,488
    Donate  
    If it is a famous registered trademark and you intend to sell it, YES that is a violation.

    You open yourself to potentially huge liability.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    142
    DNF$
    575
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    575
    Donate  
    Unless you have a "fair use" defense, this would arguable violate the Federal Trademark Dilution Act as well as, possibly, the UDRP. A fair use defense could be either:

    1) Authorized reselling of the trademark owner's products or services;

    or

    2) Criticism of the trademark owner.

    But, I would stay away from famous, coined trademarks -- the kind that are pretty much associated with just one party. You're just looking for a fight.
    Ari Goldberger
    http://ESQwire.com

  6. #6
    DNF Addict
    URLtrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,056
    DNF$
    4,168
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,168
    Donate  
    Thanks to all of you for your inputs.
    Genetics.us, Genome.us, Nanotech.us, CosmeticSurgeon.us
    CellularPayments.com, ElectronicsEngineering.com,
    HollywoodTimes.com, TechnologyTimes.com are on sale.

  7. #7
    Account Terminated
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    2,605
    DNF$
    3,134
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,134
    Donate  
    Ari, what would be the case if one registered Micro2Soft.com and sold ties and socks?

  8. #8
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    142
    DNF$
    575
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    575
    Donate  
    >Ari, what would be the case if one registered Micro2Soft.com and sold ties and socks?

    Forgive my slightly cranky response.

    First, answer the question as to why you would want to bother doing this in the first place?

    Now, I'm not saying that the tie and sock shop is illegitimate, as I would need to hear more -- and I understand this is just a hypo. But, generally speaking... I think we, as a domain name community, can advance our cause by not always looking at how we can be clever and beat the "man" (the man being the trademark owner).. It's not like the trademark owners as a group is this evil empire to defeat. Companies with famous, distinctive marks that they have spent millions of dollars nurturing have a valid interest in protecting their brands. If you really want to criticize a company (Microsoftsucks.com) or need to use the mark to sell a bona fide product (Elvislookalikecostumers.com),that's cool.. But just figuring out ways to stick our tongues out at the trademark owners is a waste of valuable time in my opinion.

    Every domain name owner is not a victim. Sometimes the trademark owner is right. But, when we're dealing with a descriptive or common word mark, I'll be the first in line to defend your rights to ownership against a reverse domain name hijacking trademark owner.
    Ari Goldberger
    http://ESQwire.com

  9. #9
    Account Terminated
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    2,605
    DNF$
    3,134
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,134
    Donate  
    Ari well-said. Forgive the rather naive example; my intention was to see where I stand in a similar case where I am the tm owner and I'm challenging the applicant. I emailed John on the subject (with details) but I understand that he's busy or unable to comment. My related thread was this one.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington,DC
    Posts
    4,907
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    2,404
    Bank
    139,101
    Total DNF$
    141,505
    Donate  
    Along this line of thought. Usually, I use a bookmark. But, earlier today I typed in paypal.com

    However, I accidently put an "s" on the end. I was shocked. That I got a different company. I was also surprised that PayPal (Ebay) hasn't gone after them.

  11. #11
    Domain Buyer
    DaddyHalbucks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, USA
    Posts
    3,211
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    115,488
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    115,488
    Donate  
    Along this line of thought. Usually, I use a bookmark. But, earlier today I typed in paypal.com

    However, I accidently put an "s" on the end. I was shocked. That I got a different company. I was also surprised that PayPal (Ebay) hasn't gone after them.
    +++++++++++++++++

    1. This is a potential security risk for PayPal.

    2. The entity that owns the domain PayPals.com (MrsJello, LLC in the WhoIs) appears to be cybersquatting on a famous registered trademark.

    This sort of cybersquatting indirectly hurts us all. Large corporations and the courts use this sort of flagrant blatant abuse to justify their overreaching in other cases, and to beat down small entities that legitimately own generic domains. Cybersquatting hurts us because it brings the heat down.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com