Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    JewelryRelated.com
    stock_post's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sharp Directory
    Posts
    2,803
    DNF$
    27,822
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    27,822
    Donate  

    Angry IpassTime.com - sending bills and giving my contact as admin contact

    I Pass time .com Billing people illegally.

    I got a call early today about 7:00 AM for some one asking me why I am billing them?

    I am like what?

    he explains me that he has my contact info as administrative contact and his credit card is billed.

    I explained him I have nothing to do with that asked him to open dispute with this CC company.

    Any one who owns iPassTime.com or what they etc?

    Any suggestions on getting out of this is appreciated.
    Basically don't want any further calls on this and like to know what I can do?

    Thanks
    Medical and Health Directory |
    Health Directory |

    Hostgator Hosting Coupon -- hostbidscom -- Save $9.94

  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    chamac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    320
    DNF$
    615
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    615
    Donate  
    I just checked the domain. I was going to check the WHOIS information, but received a message that IPASSTIME.COM is available to register.


    Quote Originally Posted by stock_post View Post
    I Pass time .com Billing people illegally.

    I got a call early today about 7:00 AM for some one asking me why I am billing them?

    I am like what?

    he explains me that he has my contact info as administrative contact and his credit card is billed.

    I explained him I have nothing to do with that asked him to open dispute with this CC company.

    Any one who owns iPassTime.com or what they etc?

    Any suggestions on getting out of this is appreciated.
    Basically don't want any further calls on this and like to know what I can do?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    JewelryRelated.com
    stock_post's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sharp Directory
    Posts
    2,803
    DNF$
    27,822
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    27,822
    Donate  
    When I search it says available for registration.
    Please delete my personal info
    Medical and Health Directory |
    Health Directory |

    Hostgator Hosting Coupon -- hostbidscom -- Save $9.94

  4. #4
    Exclusive Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    708
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    4,243
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,243
    Donate  
    that is the whois result for ipastime.com (ONE "S")
    Is that your domain or is that the imposter?

    if you want a mod to delete it, go for it... this forum isn't editable for us mortals...

  5. #5
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,638
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    4,791
    Bank
    114,257
    Total DNF$
    119,048
    Donate  
    Correct - posts in the legal forum cannot be edited by members to prevent people from "changing" their tune down the road. I took out the street address and the last 7# of the phone number.

    As for Stock_Post - I would notify the registrar ASAP because not only is it against policy to have someone else's contact as the whois, if there is fraud being conducted, then they should know about it, too.

    ICANN Registrar: MYDOMAIN, INC.
    Created: 2009-02-09
    Expires: 2010-02-09
    Updated: 2009-04-01
    Registrar Status: ok
    Name server: NS1.STEALTHYHOSTING.COM (has 62 domains)
    Name Server: NS2.STEALTHYHOSTING.COM (has 62 domains)
    Whois Server: whois.namesdirect.com
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

  6. #6
    Philadelphia Lawyer
    jberryhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,020
    DNF$
    6,574
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,574
    Donate  
    There is a lot of this going around.

    Now, especially for Biggedon, replace "EXAMPLE.COM" with one of your domains.

    I have a stock response:

    ----
    It appears that you have sent us a misdirected inquiry in one of the general categories described below.

    We operate a network of websites which are used to advertise products and services of others. If you have contacted us because of a belief we have sold something to you, or charged you for something in relation to one of our websites, please do the following:

    1. Look at the website in question. For example, if you contacted us about EXAMPLE.COM, please visit WWW.EXAMPLE.COM.

    2. Notice that there is nothing to buy, subscribe or order at the website you are looking at.

    A. Product or Service Complaints:

    We did not sell you a product or service.

    It is very likely that you have confused our website address with another website address. If you ordered a product from EXA-MPLE.COM, then contacting us at EXAMPLE.COM will not be helpful.

    Helpful Hint: Sometimes performing a Google search on the product or service you bought, and the party from whom you think you bought it, will help you find the site from which you actually bought the product or service

    B. Credit Card Billing Issues

    We have no way of charging anything to your credit card.

    If you received a charge on your credit card or mobile phone statement identifying "EXAMPLE.COM" and that is one of our websites, then you need to understand that merchants can do business, and can generate charges in their business name, using any identifier they choose. If a company has set up a business as "Santa Claus", then they will bill your credit card as "Santa Claus". This does not mean that an old man and his elves exist and have billed you from the North Pole. We sometimes receive communications which indicate one of our website addresses was used as a billing reference by a fraudulent or scam service. We have no way of billing you for anything. If your bill does show one of our website addresses, we would like to know about that, so that we may investigate who may be falsely using one of our website addresses as a billing identification.

    Helpful Hint: If you have received a bill which identifies one of our websites as a billing reference, you need to contact your bank, mobile provider, or credit card company in order to find out the actual contact information of whomever mis-identified themselves as one of our website addresses, and dispute the charge.

    C. Spam

    None of our website addresses is capable of sending email.

    If you received a spam email which you believe came from one of our website addresses, you must understand that identifying information in email is easily forged by spammers. We do not send email from any of our website addresses. In fact, since we only use these website address for providing web pages, we work with a leading spam detection organization to collect and forward email to them for spam identification, because there should be no reason why anyone is sending email to our website addresses.

    Helpful Hint: If you are unable to read an SMTP header, find someone who knows what an "SMTP header" is, and they can provide you with further information about where your spam may have come from.

    -----

    But I remain confused.

    Do I gather thus far that one "S" is in your domain name, and two "SS" are on the guy's bill?

    That's the typical pattern for these sorts of "why are you billing me?" complaints. Most of the time, they looked up WHOIS for the wrong domain.
    Last edited by jberryhill; 07-31-2009 at 11:23 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
    John-AT-johnberryhill.com
    Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com