Register Now for FREE! | | |
02-25-2008, 02:23 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | DN Coyote
Name: Ed Last Online: Today 08:22 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,253
DNF$: 457 Location: South Florida
Country: | I've been typosquatted... One of my sites that I do for a local club has been typosquatted.
Either it's a huge compliment to me or a sign that typosquatters are extremely desperate.
This site has about 1,000 hits a month (probabaly including spiders) and is for a small group of about 30 people and people who may join the club.
It is very location specific and a rather small niche.
My domain (we'll call it domain.com) has been typosquatted - domain.cm points to a parked page.
I have the .net and .org, I guess it's time to register the .info and .us, too. |
| |
02-25-2008, 02:25 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | dnBillboard.com
Last Online: Today 08:55 PM Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,260
DNF$: 283 Location: Toronto
Country: | if the typos are not directing traffic to your google ads, etc.. then you're fine..
__________________ Data on over 3 million domains and 19 million search terms Updated Daily. Free Site Ranking and Unique Visitor data. Click Here |
| |
02-25-2008, 02:28 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 02:47 PM Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,903
DNF$: 10,351
Country: | Quote: |
My domain (we'll call it domain.com) has been typosquatted - domain.cm points to a parked page.
| Damn my domain dsfgjasdnfjnsdjgfnjnasdkdnsfgjnnasjfnjsnk.com has been typosquatted too: www.dsfgjasdnfjnsdjgfnjnasdkdnsfgjnnasjfnjsnk.cm leads to parked page as well ! DAMN THE TYPOSQUATTER KEVIN HAM !
__________________ I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com, I will however answer only if I feel I have something to say
1f u c4n r34d th1s u r34lly n33d t0 g37 l41d |
| |
02-25-2008, 02:29 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | DNF Regular
Last Online: Today 08:22 AM Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 576
DNF$: 20 Location: Portugal
Country: | Any domain .cm is redirecting to a parking page... |
| |
02-25-2008, 02:32 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
Name: Darren Last Online: Today 07:59 PM Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,816
DNF$: 6,738 Location: I'm Home
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by denny007 |
__________________ .::: e-nic.com :::. - semperfidelis.com - stow.org - parlaying.com - shopbooks.com - 775.org and more.... |
| |
02-25-2008, 02:54 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | DN Coyote
Name: Ed Last Online: Today 08:22 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,253
DNF$: 457 Location: South Florida
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by Vorty Any domain .cm is redirecting to a parking page... | It's going to Agoga.com
Owned by NameView?
Also, it's a good thing the club members will know that they are on the wrong page! 
Last edited by draggar; 02-25-2008 at 02:57 PM..
|
| |
02-25-2008, 03:03 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Account Terminated
Last Online: 06-19-2008 12:08 PM Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,891
DNF$: 6,723 Location: my home is where my bank account is
Country: | |
| |
02-25-2008, 03:15 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | DN Coyote
Name: Ed Last Online: Today 08:22 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,253
DNF$: 457 Location: South Florida
Country: | I remember reading that but didn't read that far down. So now he's taking advantage of non-profit organizations. How low can you go?
The articles refers to him as a "devout Christian" but isn't taking advantage of people against some Christian doctrine? |
| |
02-25-2008, 03:20 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
|
Last Online: 12-22-2008 11:51 PM Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,306
DNF$: 2,294 Location: Dallas, TX
Country: | technically speaking he's not infringing  |
| |
02-25-2008, 03:23 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 04:29 PM Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,842
DNF$: 1,232 Location: San Diego, CA
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar I remember reading that but didn't read that far down. So now he's taking advantage of non-profit organizations. How low can you go?
The articles refers to him as a "devout Christian" but isn't taking advantage of people against some Christian doctrine? |
Haha... It *IS* their doctrine!
__________________ The only domain reseller BRAVE enough to post prices: TheNameStore.com  ] [ |
| |
02-25-2008, 03:26 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | DN Coyote
Name: Ed Last Online: Today 08:22 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,253
DNF$: 457 Location: South Florida
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by maroulis technically speaking he's not infringing  | He registered the domain to take advantage of people typing in (mydomain).cm instead of (mydomain).com - isn't that the definition of typosquatting? |
| |
02-25-2008, 03:37 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Chris Desouza Last Online: Today 08:56 PM Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 476
DNF$: 782 Location: New York
Country: | Kevin Ham has not registered any of those cm names. He has an agreement with the .cm registry. All non registered .cm names point to his portal Agoga. http://www.yahoo.cm http://www.intel.cm
__________________ Unless specified, all sales offers end in 24 hours. |
| |
02-25-2008, 04:01 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | DNF Member
Name: Daniel Last Online: Today 05:27 PM Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 730
DNF$: 2,592 Location: Near you.
Country: |
__________________ Sababa my friend |
| |
02-25-2008, 04:04 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 12-13-2008 01:14 AM Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 320
DNF$: 2,747 | Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar He registered the domain to take advantage of people typing in (mydomain).cm instead of (mydomain).com - isn't that the definition of typosquatting? | It's a wildcard, not individual registrations. Also, the ads aren't targeted to the content of the domain name. |
| |
02-25-2008, 04:04 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
|
Last Online: 12-22-2008 11:51 PM Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,306
DNF$: 2,294 Location: Dallas, TX
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar He registered the domain to take advantage of people typing in (mydomain).cm instead of (mydomain).com - isn't that the definition of typosquatting? | he didn't REGISTER he has wildcard redirection at DNS with a filter that allows big companies that already *****ed about to be excluded from redirection...
the wildcard redirection is in Cameroon, so not US soil, aka NOT verisign/icann.. so NO like I said he's not infringing but rather found a little loophole to exploit this...
is it legal?.. yes
is it moreal?.. debatable |
| |
02-25-2008, 04:17 PM
|
#16 (permalink)
|
Name: Darren Last Online: Today 07:59 PM Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,816
DNF$: 6,738 Location: I'm Home
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by maroulis is it legal?.. yes
is it moreal?.. debatable | Utterly brilliant though...
Boss to Manager - "Why didn't you think of that!!?
Asst Manager to workerbee - "Why didn't you think of that!!?
Workerbee to Janitor - "Why didn't you think of that!!?
Janitor - "wtf?"
__________________ .::: e-nic.com :::. - semperfidelis.com - stow.org - parlaying.com - shopbooks.com - 775.org and more.... |
| |
02-25-2008, 04:17 PM
|
#17 (permalink)
| | DN Coyote
Name: Ed Last Online: Today 08:22 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,253
DNF$: 457 Location: South Florida
Country: | In a nutshell, the rich just get richer? |
| |
02-25-2008, 04:49 PM
|
#18 (permalink)
|
Last Online: 12-22-2008 11:51 PM Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,306
DNF$: 2,294 Location: Dallas, TX
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar In a nutshell, the rich just get richer? | ya life is a *****.. what can you do?  |
| |
02-25-2008, 05:51 PM
|
#19 (permalink)
| | Account Terminated
Last Online: 06-19-2008 12:08 PM Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,891
DNF$: 6,723 Location: my home is where my bank account is
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by maroulis ya life is a *****.. what can you do?  | get rich  |
| | |