Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    811
    DNF$
    1,967
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,967
    Donate  

    I've received a C&D email - need advice

    Hello,

    I run a small free forum Hosting service at mybb dot info. Recently I've received a C&D email from "MyBB Group" (their website is at mybboard.com) asking me to:

    - stop using the terms "MyBB" and "MyBulletinBoard" because they are trademarked as of July 2004. (I've done a search at uspto.gov but couldn't find anything. Maybe someone with more experience on this issue can help.)

    - surrender the domain mybb dot info to them.

    Facts: They DON'T own mybb.com (for sale at BD for $x,xxx), mybb.net, mybb.org, mybb.us nor mybb.biz. They DON'T own mybulletinboard.com and the .net, .org, etc. are unregistered. Are they entitled to claim ownership of mybb.info from me?

    IF "MyBB" and "MyBulletinBoard" turn out to be copyrighted terms I will gladly change the name of the website to "MYBB.INFO" instead of "MYBB" and rebrand "MYBB" as "My Big Board", "My Business Board", or etc. You get the picture but I don't like the idea of handing over the domain name for the above outlined reasons.

    Yours thoughts, please? This is my first C&D.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Adam Dicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    15,751
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    Canada Follow Adam Dicker On Twitter Add Adam Dicker on Facebook
    DNF$
    8,426,910
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,426,910
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    I also find no US trademarks under either of those.

    -=DCG=-

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington,DC
    Posts
    4,826
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,923
    Bank
    137,035
    Total DNF$
    138,958
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    Since, they are located in Australia.

    Could the TM be registered there?

    I also looked thru the US. PTO. And, could not
    find anything close.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    811
    DNF$
    1,967
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,967
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    They mention both US and AU trademark laws: "The terms\"MyBB\" and \"MyBulletinBoard\" are trademarked terms as of July 2004. By running your website, myBB.info located at [...] you\'re in direct violation of both United States (US) and Australian (AU) trademark laws."

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington,DC
    Posts
    4,826
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,923
    Bank
    137,035
    Total DNF$
    138,958
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    I don't see anything the Australian TM site.

    http://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/tradem...ch_index.shtml

    Good luck.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    811
    DNF$
    1,967
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,967
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    Thanks. So I guess they're just trying to "intimidate" me.

  7. #7
    DNF Regular
    DNGeeks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg Canada
    Posts
    625
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    10,257
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    10,257
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    I would respond back and ask them for clarification on their trademark. Ask them for filing numbers etc. Just because you don't see the TM, doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

    Also, was your site created before their TM date? That can have standing as well if it comes to a UDRP.

  8. #8
    DNF Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Rutherford, NJ
    Posts
    184
    DNF$
    4,507
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,507
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    In a case like this, where it appears to be groundless, is it ok to ignore the c&D letter? Or is it always better to respond in some way? I know there have been well thought out "form/answer" type letters posted on here that some of you have created to respond to this kind of stuff.

  9. #9
    DNF Addict
    Domagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyomissing, PA
    Posts
    1,420
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    8,463
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,463
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    MyBulletinBoard appears like an inferior copy of vBulletin - I'm surprised anyone would run MyBB, but then I guess many folks are too cheap to do it right ... in saving money now, many of them will have to deal with their server being hacked, etc due to bugs that vBulletin doesn't have and/or fixed long ago; MyBB just released another security patch the other day to fix a SQL injection problem that's already burnt some folks running MyBB software - one gets what they pay for.

    With all that said, you could likely just ignore the whole thing since it appears, in my view, that the owners of MyBulletinBoard are bluffing and aren't trully ready to pony up the money, along with effort, it will take for them to get your domain.

    If they choose to fight, which as I said above I feel is unlikely, they could actually have a decent basis - even though their mark isn't registered, they may still prevail in a UDRP challenge by claiming they have a common law mark - and doing searches on Google and elsewhere shows that MyBB, on the internet, is most often associated with their MyBulletinBoard software - that alone may not be a problem since mybb itself is only an acroynm, but how you're using the mybb.info domain ultimately could be the deciding factor against you - your site could be construed by the panelist(s) as being confusingly similar; registered in bad faith.

    So in a nutshell, in my opinion, if you intend to use MyBB to identify a product/service, make sure it doesn't appear confusingly similar to what MyBulletinBoard ... otherwise choose a different name/domain.

    If you choose to keep using the name MyBB, assuming you make sure it's not confusingly similar to the MyBB software, zap on over to BuyDomains and pick up the mybb.com - $2688, while not exactly not a bargain, may be worthwhile spending if developing a service/business focused on the name MyBB.

    Ron
    Domagon - Website Management and Domain Name Sales

  10. #10
    Honan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,082
    Country

    Australia Add Honan on Facebook
    DNF$
    2,823
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,823
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    Quote Originally Posted by actnow
    Since, they are located in Australia.

    Could the TM be registered there?

    I also looked thru the US. PTO. And, could not
    find anything close.
    It appears to me to be a fake whois
    Incorrect phone number sequence
    Fake post code
    No street or other unique identifier
    JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College

  11. #11
    DNF Addict
    seeker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    4,204
    DNF$
    7,546
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,546
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    This seems like a strategy that some people follow to intimidate people into giving up their domains.
    I would not take them seriously.
    Seek... And you shall Find

  12. #12
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    811
    DNF$
    1,967
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,967
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    Very valuable advice, thanks everyone. I've sent them an email asking for clarifications / documents / more info. on their TMs and I've also suggested to them that they are not entitled to ask for the domain name since they don't own the "mybb" name in any extension.

    No reply yet.

  13. #13
    The Bishop
    namestrands's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Langley, VA
    Posts
    4,053
    DNF$
    3,127
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,127
    Donate  

    Re: I've received a C&D email - need advice

    your trademark does not need to be registered. MyBB Group is well known for MyBulletinBoard, the term MyBB is used throughout, and does actually constitute as a common law trademark.
    Enterprise Communications and Social Media in Uist

Similar Threads

  1. Large free email / free message board site !
    By ceint in forum Developed Websites for Sale
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 01:57 PM
  2. Just received this email..
    By cyphix in forum Domain Name Legal Issues
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-09-2003, 09:41 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2003, 03:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com