DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2009, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Domain Network Developer
No Avatar
 
Name: Steve Russell
Last Online: 11-01-2009 09:49 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 176
DNF$: 3,341
Location: Marbella, Spain
Country:


Just caught a name that was used for spam. How do I clean it up?

Hello all:

I just caught a name that I need, it is the acronym for my full business name. An LLLL.com. Paid fair price...always too much, eh??

Anyway.

I went into this with my eyes open. The domain has a history, as does the previous registrar and host, of spamming. All three show up on various black lists.

But that's not me.

What is the procedure for cleaning up the domain with the Google and other SEO gods?

Should I warehouse it for 6 months and let it cool down? Write a nice email to Goog, that will never be answered? Or, just go for it and use it right away?

Any thoughts?

As always, thanks in advance.

Steve

PS: If I've not posted this in right place, can moderator help out?
__________________
Selling separately: VILLAS.EU + ®; VILLAS.ES + ®; VILLAS.INFO + ®; VILLAS.MOBI + ®; VILLAS.ASIA + ®; VILLAS.TEL + ®; VILLAS.PRO + ®; and a whole bunch of other villas-oriented names.
steveatvillas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 07-24-2009, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Amms.com
 
tristanperry's Avatar
 
Name: Tristan Perry
Last Online: Yesterday 05:53 AM
iTrader: (50)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,526
DNF$: 5,382
Location: Wales, UK
Country:


There's no easy way to do this, but I'd personally leave it cool off for a bit. Perhaps put a one-page website on it (coming soon, and business info - at least, make sure it's hosted somewhere where spam isn't sent out).

If you go to the various blacklists, they may have options to get the domain removed from their database. I had a few IPs before that were blacklisted, but filling in the blacklists' forms got me removed from nearly all of them.
__________________
Devoted Hosting
High Quality Shared And Reseller Hosting
cPanel, 24/7 support, 99.9% uptime guaranteed
tristanperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 08:07 PM
iTrader: (394)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,903
DNF$: 4,071
Location: USA
Country:




Have a site built and remove the "all catch" feature for emails. Create your own accounts e.g. consultation@domain.com instead of the usual info@ etc.
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
My Countdown Counting down to: Snapnames rebate hitting my mailbox
80 days 21 hours 50 minutes
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Domain Network Developer
No Avatar
 
Name: Steve Russell
Last Online: 11-01-2009 09:49 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 176
DNF$: 3,341
Location: Marbella, Spain
Country:


Thanks guys, great advice.
__________________
Selling separately: VILLAS.EU + ®; VILLAS.ES + ®; VILLAS.INFO + ®; VILLAS.MOBI + ®; VILLAS.ASIA + ®; VILLAS.TEL + ®; VILLAS.PRO + ®; and a whole bunch of other villas-oriented names.
steveatvillas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
myst woman's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 01:09 PM
iTrader: (22)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 982
DNF$: 1,145
Location: Los Angeles
Country:


can't you plug it up to some slid content and groom the results anew?
__________________
lotrblog.com
myst woman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 06:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Member
 
acegoet's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-11-2009 10:16 AM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 315
DNF$: 20
Location: Pennsylvania
Country:


Sorry for the newbie question...but where can you go and check to see if a domain has been blacklisted?
__________________
Acegoet

for sale: g9y.com, FastDropShippers.com, OhioRiver.org, BarnSigns.com, CouponClerk.com, MyOutdoorGear.info
acegoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 09:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Domain Network Developer
No Avatar
 
Name: Steve Russell
Last Online: 11-01-2009 09:49 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 176
DNF$: 3,341
Location: Marbella, Spain
Country:


There are tons of free services for looking at spam sites, hosts and registrars.

The easiest thing to do is just google for spam+websites, or something like this. Here is a place to start:

http://www.siteadvisor.com

If you suspect that a domain is spamming or you are looking to acquire a domain do a little research first. Just search on the URI in google and see what comes up. That's what I did.

On the name I just acquired, the sponsoring registrar has numerous incidences against it for allowing outgoing spam, and its record for suspending offending domain/website operators — of which my acquisition is one — is pretty dismal.

You really don't have to look any further than this.
__________________
Selling separately: VILLAS.EU + ®; VILLAS.ES + ®; VILLAS.INFO + ®; VILLAS.MOBI + ®; VILLAS.ASIA + ®; VILLAS.TEL + ®; VILLAS.PRO + ®; and a whole bunch of other villas-oriented names.

Last edited by steveatvillas; 07-26-2009 at 09:52 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
steveatvillas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com