DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2003, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
cyphix's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2009 09:45 AM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,565
DNF$: 1,325
Location: Australia
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to cyphix

Just received this email..

I recently got the domain JattBrothers.com with a GoDaddy backorder & just received this email:

Quote:
hi


this is the owner of jattbrothers.com from 3 years and we would like to have ur legal teams name and address so we can proceed on getting the our domain name back. this is the my trademark of my company in the uk jattbrothers.com music.namezero our perious company advised us to wait for the domain name to become available before moving itto a diffrerent company. i have already rang your domain name comapany in canada who have advised us that we are right in our legal challange and to contact you directly. it seems u may have back ordered our domain name as we are the trademark holders and owned it for the past 3 years and also own jattbrothers.co.uk we will fight this case fully. however we would like to resolve this matter as quickly as possible therefore appreciate your cooperation please contact us regarding this issue as soon as possible.
Regards


**** & ****


JattBrothers.com
JattBrothers@hotmail.com
webmaster@JattBrothers.com


UK's Number 1 Asian Website
I see no trademark issues myself with the name... what should I do?
__________________
538k Lyrics Database Available - Only $49 - Check Here
cyphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 09-04-2003, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldbie
 
Mr Webname's Avatar
 
Name: N one
Last Online: 01-22-2007 05:03 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,014
DNF$: 1,943
Location: USA
Country:

Send a message via MSN to Mr Webname

Even the .co.uk name is "Detagged", either they have been very careless or some other mystery. There is no website obviously but there are a few references to "RattBrothers" :-

http://216.239.37.104/search?q=cache...hl=en&ie=UTF-8

Mentions them in connection with some church programme but there doesn't seem a great deal more.

The .co.uk name is registered to a Randeep Singh:

Domain Name:
jattbrothers.co.uk

Registrant:
Randeep Singh

Registrant's Agent:
No agent listed. This registration is DETAGGED.

For details regarding the DETAGGED status please
refer to: http://www.nominet.org.uk/ref/detagged.html

Relevant Dates:
Registered on: 10-May-2000
Renewal Date: 10-May-2004
Last updated: 15-Jun-2002

Registration Status:
Renewal request being processed.

No name servers listed.

WHOIS database last updated at 21:25:01 04-Sep-2003
Mr Webname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
 
Sharpy's Avatar
 
Last Online: 03-08-2007 02:22 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,781
DNF$: 638
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to Sharpy Send a message via Yahoo to Sharpy

They prolly forgot to renew but figured rather than pay redemption fees they'd let it drop and pick it back up at reg.

There is a site in the wayback blabbering about "the #1 asian site bla bla bla"

Why did you bo/reg it anyway?

Sell it to them for $150 and be done with it. Unless you regged it for a reason other than resale.
__________________
nosig @ this time

Last edited by Sharpy; 09-04-2003 at 04:40 PM..
Sharpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
cyphix's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2009 09:45 AM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,565
DNF$: 1,325
Location: Australia
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to cyphix

Well, just received a phone call from the guy suprisingly enough.

I registered the name myself for the traffic (around 150 @ OVT) but I don't care about the name itself.

The guy on the phone sounded visibly upset about it was wonderering what interest I had in the name etc etc

Told him to fwd me some documents & show me the TM on the UK site or whatever & if it all looks ok I will transfer the name to him if he buys me another backorder.
__________________
538k Lyrics Database Available - Only $49 - Check Here
cyphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Oldbie
 
Mr Webname's Avatar
 
Name: N one
Last Online: 01-22-2007 05:03 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,014
DNF$: 1,943
Location: USA
Country:

Send a message via MSN to Mr Webname

Very generous!
Mr Webname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

"Told him to fwd me some documents & show me the TM on the UK site or whatever"

...always a good thing to do. After all, when you receive ten emails a day from the Nigerian National Petroleum Company, you can't be expected to believe every claim that comes in email. Requesting appropriate documentation is a simple step toward sorting out the loonies.
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 10:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
DNF Regular
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-31-2009 04:59 PM
iTrader: (8)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 751
DNF$: 52


I can say one thing - musical people seem to have a severe habit of not paying renewals. I have handled at least 20 such names...

In the cases where proof of past ownership/copyright info was sent, a "modest fee" was requested along with a CD and a T-shirt. I actually have some nice contacts because of this.

Some bands were pretty bad though...LOL
__________________
Lew Richards (LewR)
LewR@Budweiser.com
LewR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 02:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
mole's Avatar
 
Last Online: 03-03-2009 10:05 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 6,721
DNF$: 978
Location: Tonga
Country:


Hahaha.. this is funny. I can understand why Randeep is puzzled someone would register a name like Jattbrothers.
__________________
If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon
mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 09:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
cyphix's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2009 09:45 AM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,565
DNF$: 1,325
Location: Australia
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to cyphix

Well, we got this all worked out. He brought me a backorder & I trasnferred the name to him.
__________________
538k Lyrics Database Available - Only $49 - Check Here
cyphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com