Register Now for FREE! | | |
06-06-2006, 02:08 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Michael Last Online: Yesterday 11:13 PM Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,037
DNF$: 1,087 Location: Palm Beach
Country: | Legal Question Hello:
In November 2004 I registered MyBlogIt.com. My vision & hope was to develop a portal that generated communal buzz. Unfortunately, personal & business challenges arose that blocked my pursuit of said goal. I thought BlogIt.com was a small hole in the wall firm. When I registered MyBlogIt.com I was in no way trying to capitalize on their crappy unknown site.
In July 2005 BlogIt.com established a trademark.
Today, BlogIt.com in a 1 sentence emailed statement says, "We registered Blogit.com a year and a half before you did, and believe that the use of any variation on blogit.com would be an attempt to benefit from the success of blogit.com."
Now couldn't MyBlog.com make a similar statement? (BTW The domain MyBlog.com sold for $400,000 in December 2005.) MyBlogIt contains 3 common global keywords.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Is there opinion legit? Given their premise, wouldn't MyBlog.com have a say too?
Thank You.
Mike
__________________ Successful people do what unsuccessful people are unwilling to do.
Last edited by tarheelm; 06-06-2006 at 04:59 PM.
|
| |
06-06-2006, 05:45 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Gold Lifetime Member
Last Online: 12-30-2007 05:49 AM Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
DNF$: 102 Location: Chicago | Re: Legal Question I don't see how they can say that without providing documented proof which says that a variation of a trademarked name is not allowed. I think that they are just trying to get you to hand over the domain |
| |
06-06-2006, 05:54 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Senior Exclusive Member
Last Online: 09-05-2008 05:32 PM Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,723
DNF$: 999 Location: www
Country: | Re: Legal Question as i see it this is quite simple. it is a matter of who registered before who--they did not obtain a trademark for blogit.com until less than 2 years ago which was ages after your had created your name. you might pursuit a case against them with a good lawyer and win it but it could prove costly if u lose.
however, don't be intimidated, stay firm while dealing with them.
good luck.
__________________ Always buying .COM revenue typos. PM me! PM me for a Sedopro code!
For superior domain parking Click |
| |
06-06-2006, 05:58 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Dave Zan Last Online: Yesterday 02:19 AM Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,614
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Re: Legal Question Theoretically you should be able to defend it since you got the domain name
before they filed a TM for it. But their TM's coverage appears quite broad, and
how your domain name's currently showing possibly infringes it.
It really depends on how much you're willing to defend it...or not.
__________________ Dave Zan says Vidi, Vici, Veni! :-D DaveZan.com - My Blog |
| |
06-06-2006, 07:14 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 12:34 AM Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 863
DNF$: 3,621 | Re: Legal Question A one sentence informal email? Forget about it. Respond when they send a legal notice by mail. |
| |
06-06-2006, 08:01 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Arizona Wildcats
Name: Bear Down Last Online: Yesterday 06:45 PM Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 617
DNF$: 587 Location: NC.US
Country: | Re: Legal Question I agree. I'd wait until from them with something more official than a one sentence email.
It doesn't sounds like they even asked you to do anything. If they are serious, I expect you should/will receive something much more detailed via email and/or US Mail. |
| |
06-06-2006, 08:22 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Michael Last Online: Yesterday 11:13 PM Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,037
DNF$: 1,087 Location: Palm Beach
Country: | Re: Legal Question I'm grateful for everyone's wonderful advice & opining. In the future, any of you are welcome to bounce ideas off me. Thank You.
__________________ Successful people do what unsuccessful people are unwilling to do. |
| |
06-07-2006, 10:57 AM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | DNF Addict
Last Online: 08-14-2008 04:51 PM Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,099
DNF$: 4,731 Location: Columbia, MD | Re: Legal Question If you look at the TM registeration (which has not been approved yet), first use of blogit is 2/23/04 which is the date that is used when establishing TM rights. And it appears blogit.com was up and running on 3/17/04. You registered myblogit.com on 11/23/04. You have the domain parked at SEDO with links to competitors and have a for sale sign up.... so they do have ground to stand on.
And yes, Myblog could have some say so in this matter...
__________________ Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how.... |
| |
06-07-2006, 01:36 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Michael Last Online: Yesterday 11:13 PM Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,037
DNF$: 1,087 Location: Palm Beach
Country: | Re: Legal Question DNQuest:
Thank you for your explanation.
How about this rationale: Blog.com was registered on April 14, 1998, established a trademark in 2000 and they have had 8 years of branding, capital & resources allocated to Blog.com.
Fast forward 6 years and people decide to register BlogIt.com to capitalize upon the fame & success of Blog.com.
Can Blog.com pursue BlogIt.com and say, "hey look you are taking advantage of our success by running a blogging site?"
Thanks.
__________________ Successful people do what unsuccessful people are unwilling to do.
Last edited by tarheelm; 06-07-2006 at 02:08 PM.
|
| |
06-08-2006, 08:43 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Dave Zan Last Online: Yesterday 02:19 AM Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,614
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Re: Legal Question Quote: |
Originally Posted by tarheelm How about this rationale: Blog.com was registered on April 14, 1998, established a trademark in 2000 and they have had 8 years of branding, capital & resources allocated to Blog.com.
Fast forward 6 years and people decide to register BlogIt.com to capitalize upon the fame & success of Blog.com.
Can Blog.com pursue BlogIt.com and say, "hey look you are taking advantage of our success by running a blogging site?"
Thanks. | Sure they can. But who "triumphs" is another story. :-D
__________________ Dave Zan says Vidi, Vici, Veni! :-D DaveZan.com - My Blog |
| |
06-09-2006, 01:05 AM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | Senior Exclusive Member
Last Online: 09-05-2008 05:32 PM Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,723
DNF$: 999 Location: www
Country: | Re: Legal Question but i doubt how far companies can get with multiple filings, if at all it is possible. it is extremely tricky here.
__________________ Always buying .COM revenue typos. PM me! PM me for a Sedopro code!
For superior domain parking Click |
| |
06-09-2006, 01:06 AM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | Senior Exclusive Member
Last Online: 09-05-2008 05:32 PM Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,723
DNF$: 999 Location: www
Country: | Re: Legal Question but i doubt how far companies can get with multiple filings, if at all it is possible. it is extremely tricky here.
__________________ Always buying .COM revenue typos. PM me! PM me for a Sedopro code!
For superior domain parking Click |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| | | | All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 AM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com
|