Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2007, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
ArcadeScript.Com
 
Varchar's Avatar
 
Name: Kawing Chiu
Last Online: 10-18-2009 02:24 PM
iTrader: (43)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,778
DNF$: 3,026
Location: NYC
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to Varchar Send a message via MSN to Varchar Send a message via Yahoo to Varchar Send a message via Skype™ to Varchar

Many people got scammed by GameChimp.co.uk

Hello,

Recently I have received a complain email regarding my domain GameChimp.com which turns out that some scammer has use GameChimp.co.uk to scam people.

I am including the emails from the person who got scammed below. I am not worry that my domain is being blame for, but I am just concern if anyone can help these people to get their money back?

Thanks.

Regards,

Kawing


First Email:
"Following investigations I believe you are the scammer behind the site Gamechimp. I was one of the people done over by you and lost £200 which was my daughters Xmas Present, so christmas for her will not be going ahead thanks to you. Myself and many other people been done over by you have reported you to the local authorities and to paypal, I feel very upset that because of you my daughter will not be getting the christmas she deserves!"

After I explain that I am not the scammer, I receive the following email:
"The website me and may others have been scammed over is Gamechimp.co.uk, between us all we have lost loads of money, although is was meant to be a UK based company we now know that its based in Hong Kong and nobody received their goods, the website is now closed. I have reported it to Paypal but because it was not purchased through Ebay they will only try to recover the money on a "best effort" basis so unlikely we will get any money back, I should imagine these people have done a runner with everyones money now so not much luck of getting it back."
Varchar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 10-03-2007, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
DNF Addict
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-19-2009 09:03 AM
iTrader: (34)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,636
DNF$: 5,995
Location: Jaipur
Country:

Send a message via AIM to FuseFX Send a message via MSN to FuseFX Send a message via Yahoo to FuseFX Send a message via Skype™ to FuseFX

I see it is at BODIS. However, if you could have it on your own server, why not put a disclaimer page explaining the whole issue. Recently I also was getting a LOT of emails because a .co.uk site, of which I owned the .com, spammed people.

I put up the disclaimer explaining the situation to them and the emails nearly stopped.
FuseFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com