Register Now for FREE! | | |
08-14-2008, 10:17 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 03:48 PM Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
DNF$: 900 Location: TEXAS
Country: | Merged Threads About Member - InBrownStockings Hello
A "member" on here made an offer for one of my domains which I accepted. After I pushed the domain to them they paid with an echeck thru paypal. The expected clearing date of the check was supposed to be today. Today when I checked the date had changed to August 27th. Now I just went back and checked again and the check was returned.
I contacted some of the people here who have dealt with this person and one so far has gotten back to me with the same problem.
does anyone know of any recourse I can take to get my domain back?
Thanks! |
| |
08-14-2008, 10:19 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 05:04 PM Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,321
DNF$: 11,552 Location: Washington DC
Country: | Ok. Who is this member?
What registrar is it regged with? how long ago did you push it?
__________________ . |
| |
08-14-2008, 10:19 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Melissa Last Online: 11-25-2008 10:15 AM Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 662
DNF$: 1,200 Location: in a house
Country: | I have the same issue and posted but haven't had any replies on the thread yet. Good luck getting your domain. |
| |
08-14-2008, 10:29 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 03:48 PM Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
DNF$: 900 Location: TEXAS
Country: | the member's name is "InBrownStockings"
Pushed it a few days ago thru godaddy |
| |
08-14-2008, 10:33 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 12:26 PM Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 510
DNF$: 312 | I'm having the same issue as princehull with the same member. |
| |
08-14-2008, 10:33 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 06:01 PM Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,373
DNF$: 1 Location: Chicago
Country: | Contact Adam he might help
__________________ Coat.net for sale via pm |
| |
08-14-2008, 10:37 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 05:04 PM Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,321
DNF$: 11,552 Location: Washington DC
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by princehull the member's name is "InBrownStockings"
Pushed it a few days ago thru godaddy | Get in touch with your go daddy account rep right away... they will take care of it. Otherwise try posting in the godaddy section here...
Adam will be able to put you in touch with an account rep to help you... http://www.dnforum.com/f209/go-daddy...ad-259350.html
__________________ . |
| |
08-14-2008, 10:49 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 03:48 PM Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
DNF$: 900 Location: TEXAS
Country: | The name used on the Paypal payment was Kim Halfmann
One member I have been in contact with has said that the whois for his domain has been changed to:
Molford, Travies
939 Fast Lane
NY, NY 88483
United States
9999999999
The whois info for my domain has yet to be changed. I printed out my info just in case. Also, so some of you can watch out the name that was "stolen" was iran-iraq.com. (i still have the .net version) |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:12 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | DNF Regular
Last Online: Today 09:28 AM Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 969
DNF$: 352 | Im having the same issue. InBrownStockings made an offer on one of my names, I accepted, she paid by echeck, and now it says "returned". Fortunately, I have not transferred the name. But this member should get banned.
__________________ Looking to sell CRDT.COM, LATO.COM, and FUCA.COM. PM me and let's make a deal. |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:21 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | DN Coyote
Name: Ed Last Online: Today 06:41 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,922
DNF$: 430 Location: South Florida
Country: | I've sent a message to Johnn and the admins to look into this.
I highly suggest people to contact the registrars where they had the domains and explain the situation. |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:24 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Melissa Last Online: 11-25-2008 10:15 AM Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 662
DNF$: 1,200 Location: in a house
Country: | i thought it was a he? Regardless plan on sending an email to godaddy |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:27 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 03:48 PM Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
DNF$: 900 Location: TEXAS
Country: | I just assumed it as a she because of the name. Regardless they should be banned from here and dealt with properly. I am about to give godaddy a call and see what happens. |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:28 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | DN Coyote
Name: Ed Last Online: Today 06:41 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,922
DNF$: 430 Location: South Florida
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by Pink Misfit i thought it was a he? Regardless plan on sending an email to godaddy | I would recommend calling them. Email tends to be slow with all of the registrars, at least with a call you can get somewhere in a few minutes.
GoDaddy sales & service: 480-505-8877 |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:35 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 11:45 AM Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,569
DNF$: 20 Location: Toronto, Canada
Country: | It pains me to hear things like this...these domain thieves need to be punished.
I am sickened to hear about your loss princehull.
__________________ Stie.com - For Sale! |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:48 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 12:26 PM Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 510
DNF$: 312 | I pushed the domain to InBrownStockings and I'm now trying to get it back into my account. I'll keep everyone informed on what happens with GoDaddy... |
| |
08-14-2008, 11:52 PM
|
#16 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 03:48 PM Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
DNF$: 900 Location: TEXAS
Country: | I just got off the phone with godaddy and was told since it has already been pushed and accepted there is nothing they can do to get it back.
They did tell me that one is legally required to provide correct whois info and if the info can't be verified or is incorrect icann will release the name back to the public. I know one of you had the whois info for their name changed to fake info. Mine has not been changed as of yet........
Thanks to everyone who has responded.
I am planning on trying to take this further. It just sucks that I thought I finally had my first sale. What a dissapointment!
I did some searching on the email address I was given and was used for paypal and found this: AGC PLANROOM
ATTN: KIM HALFMANN
1326 SOUTH 14 TH STE G
[P.O. BOX 5365]
ABILENE, TEXAS 79602 [79608]
3256767447/
FAX 3256760107 kimber6252@aol.com
Last edited by princehull; 08-15-2008 at 12:25 AM..
Reason: Automerged Doublepost
|
| |
08-15-2008, 12:54 AM
|
#17 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 06:14 PM Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,980
DNF$: 3,496 Location: Canada
Country: | Kimber6252@aol shows these results, which does clearly appear to be female. http://72.14.205.104/search?q=cache:...lnk&cd=3&gl=ca
Woman from Texas ( confirmed same person ) http://72.14.205.104/search?q=cache:...lnk&cd=1&gl=ca
Look at 4th address and email down for real info... http://www.asadistrict11.com/2008_WYLIE_CONTACTS.doc
Halfmann Kim 6677 Maple(02) 695-2026 669-7470 kimber6252@aol.com
Here is what 411 says. Notice addy is same 6677 Maple and therefore the same owner of the email kimber6252@aol, phone number is different though.
Halfmann, Kimberly D
Household: Gary
6677 Maple St
Abilene, TX 79602-3325
(325) 695-2026
Not sure why a near middle aged women would do such a things or if someone is just using her info/email. Its possible she is being used as I found the same " handle as the email used to say things suck on youtube and reflective more of a 12 yr old.
Also 411 addy shows same city ( Abilene TX ), your Kim Halfmann 110%. Maybe give her a call and see if she is the theif or being used.
Last edited by TheLegendaryJP; 08-15-2008 at 12:55 AM..
Reason: Automerged Doublepost
|
| |
08-15-2008, 12:59 AM
|
#18 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 12:26 PM Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 510
DNF$: 312 | |
| |
08-15-2008, 01:04 AM
|
#19 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 03:48 PM Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 264
DNF$: 900 Location: TEXAS
Country: | thanks JP. I had most of that info but not all of it. I plan on trying to contact her tomorrow. It seems as though there may be some identity theft going on as well.......
I will keep everyone informed. |
| |
08-15-2008, 01:33 AM
|
#20 (permalink)
| | Acro.net Αdministrator
Last Online: 11-29-2008 08:26 AM Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,764
DNF$: 7,665 Location: USA
Country: | Mods can confirm I reported this person about 4 to 5 days ago, based on their buying pattern behavior (new member registration, many sizable "no questions asked" purchases, dubious WHOIS info). Also warned a member directly when I noticed this, after "in brown stockings" post SOLD in their thread.
__________________ Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| | | | All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com
|