Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2008, 11:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
madcamel's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 11:11 PM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 945
DNF$: 18,559
Country:


My first IDN C&D

OK,

I won't use the real domains, to avoid exposing myself to more risks.

I own menú.com.
They own menu.com and have TM on the term "menu" (without the accent).

Now they want me to give them menú.com.

Do you think I have a chance fighting this ?

My case:
1. They own TM on "menu", not on "menú".
2. "menú" is a generic word.
3. If they win, it means every ASCII domain owner can take the equivalent IDN domains of his ASCII domains in all languages.

Would appreciate any comment.

Idan
__________________
» D o m a i n e r s H u b . C o m
madcamel is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 06-16-2008, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Account Terminated
 
domain newbie's Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-19-2008 12:08 PM
iTrader: (22)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,891
DNF$: 12,698
Location: my home is where my bank account is
Country:


"spam"
domain newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
madcamel's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 11:11 PM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 945
DNF$: 18,559
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by domain newbie View Post
"spam"
These are not the real domains. Just examples. I don't own any of them.
__________________
» D o m a i n e r s H u b . C o m
madcamel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Account Terminated
 
domain newbie's Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-19-2008 12:08 PM
iTrader: (22)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,891
DNF$: 12,698
Location: my home is where my bank account is
Country:


..still "spam"

need to see the name, if it's generic- click spam, unless its "apple" or "orange" etc
domain newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 12:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
madcamel's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 11:11 PM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 945
DNF$: 18,559
Country:


Yea. smart move. I'll do that. sure.
__________________
» D o m a i n e r s H u b . C o m
madcamel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Dave Zan
Last Online: 11-12-2009 09:55 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 0
Location: Manila


You don't necessarily need to state the actual domain name here. If the party
in question is smart enough to search online, they might find your thread and
possibly use it against you.

Whether you have a chance or not will depend on a variety of things such as
current content of the domain name (if any), intended use, etc. Unfortunately
revealing such things online can also be risky.
__________________
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Dave Zan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
DNQuest.com's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-23-2008 04:35 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,100
DNF$: 4,835
Location: Columbia, MD

Send a message via Yahoo to DNQuest.com

There is no need to reveal domain names in these forums. You will see many of the established active posters won't ask. Sometimes it is better if people did not post them. So just because a domain is not listed does not mean it is not a valid question.

As with any domain TM claim, usage plays an important factor along with "similar" or "confusingly similar" marks. So first, could "menu" be concidered a TM. Though it was stated as "generic", that means nothing, is it descriptive? that is the question. If menu.com is a website of menus, there may not be protection for the menu name since that is what is being supplied. Now if "menu" was a Browser (I call dibs btw), there could be TM protection under software. Now, the spelling or "look" of the name. Using the example of Menu as a browser, and then you used menú.com in the software catagory, that could pose problems. Could it be "confusingly similar"? It could be.

Depending on the name, it could be concidered typosquatting. It would be the same as m1crosoft.com and using it for selling software.
__________________
Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how....
DNQuest.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 04:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
fab
 
fab's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-19-2009 07:01 PM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,442
DNF$: 366
Location: Elad
Country:

Send a message via MSN to fab

Quite similar to DNQuests's comments.

Based upon my TM lessons I got from JB I passed TM 101 here. My thoughts (disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer [nor do I earn that much], so don't consider this legal advice)

If the domain name is generic, they cannot get a tm on that specific topic, e.g., apple can be trademarked as a type of computer but not a fruit.

If you use the generic domain based upon it's generic meaning, then you are not infringing upon the tm.

As stated previously, if the IDN is confusingly similar to the tm, and you are using it in a similar way as the tm, then you would be infringing.
fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 10:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
madcamel's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 11:11 PM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 945
DNF$: 18,559
Country:


Thank you all, very helpful.
__________________
» D o m a i n e r s H u b . C o m
madcamel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-15-2009 09:47 AM
iTrader: (9)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 223
DNF$: 953


This was a recent accented IDN decision which found for the TM owner:
http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/d...2008-0140.html
malmar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com