Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Chappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    785
    DNF$
    4,908
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,908
    Donate  

    Need some advice

    So I have owned a 4 letter .com since 2008. Sometime in 2009 a guy in Canada said his business goes by that name and he has the .ca domain. He demands my domain and starts threatening legal action calling me a squatter. I tell him my name is simply parked, showing results unconnected with his business but if he wants it I'd be glad to give it to him for what I paid (no gain to me). So, he gets all upset and continues to send me threatening emails for about a year.

    In 2010 he managed to get the name trademarked with CIPO and is using that as evidence that the .com is now rightfully his.

    I refuse to just give the name to him as I don't really think I've done anything wrong and clearly did not register this name in any bad faith. He seems to have it in for 'domainers' and wants to make an example of me through litigation.

    The latest development is that he's contacted the parking company where the name is parked and had them remove the name given his trademark claim. Can he do this? I'm waiting a response from the parking company but it seems unfair to me.

    Thanks
    Domainer since 1975
    Generic/LL/LLL

  2. #2
    DNF Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    665
    DNF$
    3,986
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,986
    Donate  
    Has he actually taken any action beyond threats? ie have you received a cease and desist/solicitor's letter etc? Regardless I would cease all contact with this guy.

    ---------- Post added at 07:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:41 PM ----------

    BTW most parking companies will roll over at the first threat so you'll get used to it. Just park it elsewhere making sure you show only a generic page.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    DropWizard.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Langley, BC
    Posts
    1,422
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    3,820
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,820
    Donate  
    He has absolutely no claim against you. In fact his actions could be construed as harrassment and interference with a 3rd party contract.

    TM's in Canada are not effective in the US and your registration of the .com clearly predates his TM so he'll lose on the argument of "bad faith". That has to be proven before he'd ever get the .com.

    Frankly at this point I agree about breaking off all contact with him. Deal with the parking company you're currently at because it sounds like he'd just go after the next one anyway. There's no reason the parking company should delete the name they can block anything related to the TM.

    Unfortunately it's just a part of the business to deal with these whack jobs masquarading as intelligent human beings. I can remember one that had a small business for a short time 10 years previously, never incorporated, no website ever claimed a TM on a domain that we owned. Nothing in the world could convince him his claim was ridiculous. In his (warped?) mind the entire world should have known he used that name and it was his forever. We just had to put him on ignore until he went away.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Adam Dicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    16,144
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    Canada Follow Adam Dicker On Twitter Add Adam Dicker on Facebook
    DNF$
    8,430,652
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,430,652
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by DropWizard.com View Post
    He has absolutely no claim against you. In fact his actions could be construed as harrassment and interference with a 3rd party contract.
    Agreed, is the name a generic term?

    -=DCG=-

  5. #5
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,499
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,537
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,537
    Donate  
    There is a name for this: reverse domain hijacking.
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  6. #6
    Chappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    785
    DNF$
    4,908
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,908
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by DotComGod View Post
    Agreed, is the name a generic term?

    -=DCG=-
    Yes its generic...albeit not a very well known term but its in the dictionary (noun).
    He's threatening to take action against me by filing a case with the supreme court in his Canadian province but I haven't been served any formal notice yet. Again, he's been harrassing me for over a year now but never formally done anything.
    I've dealt with UDRP's before but never anything like this!

    I'll avoid contact (I have for several months now) but I'm still upset at my parking company which told me they could no longer accept the name since this guy obviously contacted them.
    Domainer since 1975
    Generic/LL/LLL

  7. #7
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,874
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,977
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,536
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by katherine View Post
    There is a name for this: reverse domain hijacking.
    QFT.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chappy View Post
    I'll avoid contact (I have for several months now) but I'm still upset at my parking company which told me they could no longer accept the name since this guy obviously contacted them.
    I see this as a possible new tactic (maybe it's not new) - someone who is savvy reports the domain with all the parking companies in hopes that enough black list it so the owner gives it up.

    If it's a generic word and you monetize it for the generic - they have no claim to it. The Canadian courts can't do anything about it- he has to go though WIPO.
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com