

| | #1 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 06-21-2007 09:22 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 255
DNF$: 283 Location: Fairhaven, Mass, USA
Country: | Net Enforcers, Inc?? Has anyone heard of this so-called legal team? "Net Enforcers Inc, is a copyright and trademark enforcement company hired by ..." Read it on another site, someone using images advertising a product they are authorized to sell received an email -- not a certified letter -- threatening with DMCA if the images weren't removed. If they were, no prosecution. The funny part is the people 'hired' by this team are not the copyright owner of the images but apparently a competing website business. It would be like me owning pamstoyota.com, having images of the vehicles I was selling, and joestoyota.com hiring these folks and claiming copyright infringement ![]()
__________________ If you need billing options and alternatives for your mainstream or adult websites, visit Other Billing Dot Com |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 06-21-2007 09:22 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 255
DNF$: 283 Location: Fairhaven, Mass, USA
Country: | Thanks John --- but is what they are doing legal? Can they go after Pam's Toyota because she has Toyota images, if they're hired by Joe's Toyota? How can Joe file a suit of copyright infringement if Joe does not own the copyright, Toyota does? Also why hire these folks when you can simply file a DMCA -- I do it several times a week, it's not brain surgery ![]()
__________________ If you need billing options and alternatives for your mainstream or adult websites, visit Other Billing Dot Com |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 06-27-2009 03:38 PM iTrader: (2) Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 756
DNF$: 1,232 Location: Madison, WI | Looks like they are the equivalent of a Rent-a-Cop. They do what their boss tells them to and try to act like the law is on their side, even when it's not. Kind of like a lawyer, except unlicensed and possibly untrained. From the looks of their site, they are running out of a PO Box, have no clients (well, client page just says "Coming Soon"), don't have a phone # for contact purposes except for sales.... a.k.a. someone in their mother's basement probably. Just take a glance at what they say about violations. If it sounds like they have a case, look into it, otherwise ignore them. http://www.caraudiotalk.com/ currently has some press releases from silly companies who supposeedly bought their services. Some of the press releases look like they were written by marketing Rambo-wannabes. They seem to be under the impression that nobody is allowed to resell their products to anyone else after they were purchased. Newsgroups also report other people being harassed by these nimrods, largely over perfectly legal transactions regarding car audio sales. The major theory seems to be that they are some normal dealer trying to confuse their competition into stopping perfectly acceptable actions.
__________________ Dan Norder Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |