Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    242
    DNF$
    771
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    771
    Donate  

    Obvious TM, but used in a descriptive manner?

    Does anyone know whether using an obvious TM in a descriptive manner would constitute infringement? Examples would be ChevyParts.com, BMWParts.com, BMWPartsForLess.com, Parts4Chevys.com, ChevroletRestorationWorld.com, FordTruckRestoration.com. These are all actual sites, so I am assuming that this type of usage is allowed, but I don't want to assume anything.

    I managed to pick up a similar domain recently that dropped that has 60k Exact global searches per month and I want to develop it into a site, but I just want to make sure I can use it in a legitimate manner.
    Dot Comikaze! - Join me as I try to turn $100 into $100,000 through domaining.
    GoDaddy Coupons
    - Get coupons for domain registrations and renewals.

  2. #2
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,499
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,537
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,537
    Donate  
    Seems like fair use to me. But if you are not car dealership/service co, or selling spare parts, it becomes more difficult to justify ownership.
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  3. #3
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,874
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,977
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,536
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by sdsinc View Post
    Seems like fair use to me. But if you are not car dealership/service co, or selling spare parts, it becomes more difficult to justify ownership.
    Good call.

    Also - it is up to the TM owner to decide if they want to go after you or not for infringement. Some don't mind it (hey, it's free advertising for them) and let sites like this go, while others aggressively defend their marks.

    A few tips:

    DO NOT PARK THE DOMAIN. That is a red flag to TM owners and can be the fastest way to a C&D or a WIPO. Best to set up a blank page or a "coming soon" page and point it to that (since most registrars like to point unused domains to their own parking pages - you'll get in trouble for what they did).

    If you do develop it make it 100% clear that you are not the company nor do you have any ties with them.
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    wussadotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    753
    DNF$
    1,315
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,315
    Donate  
    Obvious TM?
    heheh.. how about Google It
    Download Free Premium Website Logo

  5. #5
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    charlescarreon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    51
    Blog Entries
    2
    DNF$
    910
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    910
    Donate  
    Good lord, no, this isn't fair use!
    The addition of a modifier to an otherwise distinctive or famous mark does not lessen the confusing similarity. In Peter Jerie v. Petr Burian a/k/a 1st Art Studio S.R.O., FA0609000795430 (Nat. Arb. Forum Oct. 30, 2006) (SPORTLIVESCORE.COM transferred because prefixing registered trademark “LIVESCORE” with modifier “sport” created confusion); see Assurant, Inc. v. Charlie Chang FA0909001285683 (Nat. Arb. Forum Oct. 30, 2009) (ASSURANTDIRECT.COM transferred because adding “direct” to registered trademark “ASSURANT” created confusion); see also Patrick J. Kennedy v. Texas International Property Associates, FA0909001283626 (Nat. Arb. Forum Oct. 28, 2009)(WATERMARKGRILL.COM ordered transferred where complainant held registered trademark in “WATERMARK” for restaurant services).

    There are 13 pages of decisions at the National Arbitration Forum on this topic, none favorable to your position. Search the terms "modifier+confusion" at this link http://domains.adrforum.com/decision.aspx

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com