If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Got this in my email today:
http://www.olympicdarts.com/udrp.pdf
The sad thing about it, is this is the first time I have heard anything about a c&d or complaint.
Reading over the document, I see they sent a letter to my previous address at the exact same time that I was deployed overseas, so I never even saw that.
My concern is having to come out of pocket for anything, which I do not want to do. I am in no way trying to fight this because I believe it's simply not worth it.
So should I just reply back to the email explaining the situation and offering to transfer the domain to them?
which is funny cause I was going to submit an offer yesterday for bmwdrivers.com phew..!
Network-Tools.com - Network Tools since 1998
Network-Tools.com - Network Tools since 1998
Not parked, use it for Hosting personal images.
But.... so be it if they feel the need to come after me, I'll gladly hand it over.
Guess they're too busy sending out notices to the other 4000 or so domains with olympic in them.
http://domain-search.domaintools.com...ilter=n&pool=A
lol yeah, "olympic" is another highly defended TM.
Need A SedoPro Account PM Me * nev.org * pmm.org * svc.net * ispoof.com * umm.org * sop.net * qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com * uce.org * wta.net * eoso.com * Coming Soon: Appraise.xxx
Biggedon, mind if you can post the brochure or tell us what can and cannot do regardless the olympic domains?
It might worth awhile to find some names since they do have traffic if we obey their rules.
not worthwhile at all imo.
can't post the whole brochure, but here are some key points from the booklet:
The Olympic Symbol etc (protection) Act 1995 (OSPA) prevents the use, in the course of trade, of any of the Olympic and Paralympic words, mottos and symbols.
Including these but not limited to...
Olympic
Olympian
Olympiad
Paralympic
Paralympian
Paralympiad, their plurals, translations and anything similiar to them.
The words, London 2012 * 2012# * LOCOG * Javelin * Team GB
(# registration of these trade marks is in progress)
More info can be found at london2012.com
Need A SedoPro Account PM Me * nev.org * pmm.org * svc.net * ispoof.com * umm.org * sop.net * qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com * uce.org * wta.net * eoso.com * Coming Soon: Appraise.xxx
You actually have a fair chance of winning this UDRP. There are varying decisions on the legality of incorporating someone else's trademark in a domain name in the context of a domain name dispute commenced by the registered trademark owner. I have picked out two for you, below. The first was lost by the domain registrant (guelphVW.com), nut the second was WON by the registrant (mercedesshop.com). I would have to say that your domain more closely resembles the second one.
http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2003-0326.html
http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2001-0160.html
The problem is that if you win, BMW probably isnt interested in purchasing it.
Hope this helps,
Zak Muscovitch
www.muscovitch.com
Okay, nobody look at my list.
There is a German company that owns the TM on OLYMPIC, OLYMPICS, OLYMPIAD, and OLYMPIADS. I am not sure if this is the IOC so until then I would not be too concerned with this C&D. If it is an entity of the IOC, yeah...take it serious. Clear cut guidelines as pointed out above.
Most of these C&D's stem from the Salt Lake City Winter Olympic games when domain(ers) regged thousands of them as soon as the news broke and even the host city and the IOC could not even get their own domain names. The IOC came down hard with the backing of numerous court judgements, casings, and rulings finding in favor of the IOC, both national and international rulings.
Same scenario with the 2012 Summer Games being awarded to London.
Being that sedo is based out of Cologne, Germany...you'll never be able to park a domain with those four words mentioned above at sedo. And anything BMW? Forget about it!
Also, don't reg anything in with the words ACADEMY AWARDS THE OSCARS NOMINEES NOMINATIONS WINNER WINNERS.
You'll just have to trust me on this one.
These words were never in the text of the law firm that represents The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. This was not just an email but registered letters sent to me.
What the text did contain and cite was the history of The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences along with the cases won regarding lawsuits for infringement and improper usages of the words THE ACADEMY AWARDS as well as THE OSCAR. You can not even use an image of the OSCAR without express written permission. The percent of cases won vs. cases lost? 100%.
http://www.oscars.org/legal/preamble.html
It also appears that this same law firm had been retained by The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for decades. Emails are emails...suspicious, spoofing, phishing.
Four registered letters from a law firm (confirmed by a check with the Los Angeles county BBB and California Bar Association) is a different story. Very pretty and expensive legal stationary, I might add (ooooo, aaaaah).
We also had a couple telephone conversations.
Bookmarks