Did Dennis Wilson give any other specifics aside from the domain name?
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I got home a few nights ago, and on my message machine was a Dennis Wilson who supposably works for 20th century fox. He was calling in regards to fantastic4movie.com.
I am wondering what I should do. Would this domain name fall under trademark or copyright infringement?
Did Dennis Wilson give any other specifics aside from the domain name?
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
He just stated he was calling for his client 20th Century Fox.
seems that 20th centure made Fantastic Four so....
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120667/companycredits
you best have plans to make a site about home theature equipment that is fantastic 4 movie watching or something....
Last edited by theparrot; 10-25-2004 at 12:20 PM.
Did he leave a call back number? If so, see if it matches to fox's number.
The number he left does match the one on the Keats McFarland & Wilson website. Apparently these guys handle issues with Universal and 20th century fox. But my real question is, do you think they have any right to say its copyright infringement? Would it be possible this guy wants to settle outside of court?
Is your domain name parked or does it have content? If the latter, what kind?
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
It's just parked at my website for the moment.
http://www.edu.pe.ca/southernkings/fox.htm
"The average lifespan in the wild is 6 years."
How much longer would a 20th Century fox have left?
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
LOL! Good one John.
Taboo, unless you have a good reason that is totally unrelated to the Fantastic 4 Movie, they can get the domain in a dispute case against you.
I guess you have to ask yourself, "Why did I register this name?" And if the answer has anything to do with Marvel Superheros.. uh oh.
Just my 2 cents.
That, in essence, is what domain disputes are all about."Why did I register this name?"
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
I sense a post hijacking at work!
(Jessica Alba is in it? I didn't know that. Interesting..)
*ahem* Back on topic? lol
Whoever has fantasticfourmovie.com is the lucky one getting the traffic.
Fox are pitbulls. Be very careful. Do not speak to them or email them without geting qualified legal advise first. They aren't kidding when they say ANYTHING you say can be used against you (even in a civil court).
I think movies should get their own extension.
www.fantasticfour.movie
The only people who could register them would be actual movie production companies.
I would think they are getting ready to release the movie and need the domain name.. Good Luck.. -=/
Movie names are registered by the studios in advance, not a couple weeks before.
A specialized movie extension would have other problems, who gets the domain if it's small studio vs fortune 500 and both have a script written years earlier with the same title?
Again, be careful with FOX, Paramount on the other hand has a sense of humor.
The problem of movie name overlap is no less so then it already is for .com, if a .movie existed.
I also think that a .mov extention should be made personally.
Last edited by theparrot; 10-26-2004 at 10:18 PM.
One trouble with that is that ICANN currently allows registrations on a yearly
or so basis only. Some movies won't remain popular beyond a year.
Unless the movie outfits have no problem keeping those names forever. :huh:
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Bookmarks