Register Now for FREE! | | |
11-26-2007, 06:58 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 11-01-2008 12:03 PM Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
DNF$: 210 Location: Troy , MI | Please help me Dear domain friends ,
Three years ago I had registered domain name www.li-fi.com and back then there was no Trade Mark registered with this word.
Six month back one person approached me and asked for selling price and I let him know my asking price.
week later , he obtained Trade mark for this word and now he is threatening me to take action against me at court in new-york if I do not transfer domain name to him.
I need your expert advice please , what should I do now ?
Thanks
Last edited by manju-domain; 11-26-2007 at 07:19 PM..
|
| |
11-26-2007, 07:54 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | LLL or HELLL
Name: Gerry Brady Last Online: Today 04:05 PM Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,192
DNF$: 78 Location: Ireland
Country: | http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reverse_domain_hijacking
Send him this link ....
and tell him its not for sale anymore ... and redirect to goatse 
__________________ |
| |
11-26-2007, 08:12 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Dave Zan Last Online: Today 05:56 AM Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,634
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Quote:
Originally Posted by manju-domain week later , he obtained Trade mark for this word and now he is threatening me to take action against me at court in new-york if I do not transfer domain name to him. | Is this the other party in question? Quote:
Word Mark LI-FI
Goods and Services IC 041. US 100 101 107. G & S: Personal coaching services in the field of life coaching and fitness coaching; Personal training services, namely, strength and conditioning training; Physical fitness conditioning classes; Physical fitness consultation; Physical fitness instruction; Providing fitness and exercise facilities; Providing information in the field of exercise training
Standard Characters Claimed
Mark Drawing Code (4) STANDARD CHARACTER MARK
Serial Number 77127845
Filing Date March 11, 2007
Current Filing Basis 1B
Original Filing Basis 1B
Published for Opposition September 11, 2007
Owner (APPLICANT) Halevy, Jeff INDIVIDUAL UNITED STATES #907 88 Greenwich St New York NEW YORK 10006
Type of Mark SERVICE MARK
Register PRINCIPAL
Live/Dead Indicator LIVE
| At the very least, they don't have a trademark registration at USPTO just yet.
They could try to demonstrate common law, although it's an open question as
to when they started using it as such and if it pre-dates the domain name.
What you described happens a lot, though not everyone tells about it online.
One suggestion is showing that link dolansco posted. Another suggestion is to
tell them to forward their communications to your attorney, if you have one.
Yet another is to simply ignore them but keep their emails and what not, then
be ready to dispute their dispute if push comes to shove. You'll never really
know what they'll do, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't take precautions.
__________________ Dave Zan says Vidi, Vici, Veni! :-D DaveZan.com - My Blog |
| |
11-26-2007, 08:26 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 11-01-2008 12:03 PM Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
DNF$: 210 Location: Troy , MI | dolansco and Dave Zan
Thanks for your advice |
| |
11-26-2007, 08:44 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Philadelphia Lawyer
Last Online: Yesterday 10:22 PM Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,497
DNF$: 4,007 | Quote:
At the very least, they don't have a trademark registration at USPTO just yet.
They could try to demonstrate common law, although it's an open question as
to when they started using it as such and if it pre-dates the domain name.
| No, it's not an "open question".
Do you see where it says: "Current Filing Basis 1B"?
Folks, all of these lines MEAN SOMETHING.
1A - application based on use.
1B - application based on intent-to-use
Do you want to re-phrase that, Dave?
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. |
| |
11-26-2007, 08:58 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | DNF Member
Name: Sam Last Online: Today 06:02 PM Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 267
DNF$: 4,757 Location: Germany
Country: | so what would you suggest here Jerry? I mean, it's completely BS if the fellow is trying to con the domain off of manju_domains, by initially contacting "her" and then trying to con "her" out of a name that "she" owns knowing that there were no TM issues at the time of purchase.
I do hope that Manju_Domains has proof of all the emails.
__________________ Buying HIGH REVENUE & TRAFFIC .com portfolios. Please PM me if you have any for sale. |
| |
11-26-2007, 11:08 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Dave Zan Last Online: Today 05:56 AM Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,634
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Quote:
Originally Posted by jberryhill No, it's not an "open question".
Do you see where it says: "Current Filing Basis 1B"?
Folks, all of these lines MEAN SOMETHING.
1A - application based on use.
1B - application based on intent-to-use
Do you want to re-phrase that, Dave? | John, the open question part I'm referring to is the party's ability to show he
has a common law trademark apart from USPTO. But...I'll give it a try.
At minimum, the party in question has filed an application that might or might
not be eventually granted trademark status by the USPTO. Beyond USPTO,
they can still try to demonstrate common law since trademark rights arise via
use in commerce rather than registration.
Oh, manju-domain, forgot one more suggestion: talk to an attorney with real-
world experience in these legal matters. Then again, that's really the sensible
"advice" you can get around here.
__________________ Dave Zan says Vidi, Vici, Veni! :-D DaveZan.com - My Blog |
| |
11-27-2007, 08:44 AM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | iBrand.in
Name: Samit Last Online: 01-05-2009 09:39 PM Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 538
DNF$: 668 Location: mwzd.com
Country: | Why dont they go after lifi dot com. As it is hyphenated names dont really appeal...
Maybe because they think manju_domains is an easier target?
Are you sure you didn't approach them offering to sell... then its a problem. Also, parking is generally not accepted as first use in commerce. |
| |
11-27-2007, 09:27 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | DNF Addict
Last Online: 09-23-2008 04:35 PM Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,100
DNF$: 4,735 Location: Columbia, MD | Dave, with it's own application, they are stating they are not using the name in commerce yet. The "intent to use" means they plan on using but are not using as of yet. So up to the filing date, the term has not been used in commerce.
Right now the domain predates the filing date for intent to use. What ever you do, do not change the usage of the domain in the field of life coaching. If there was references there already, make sure you can support prior usage of it.
__________________ Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how.... |
| |
11-27-2007, 09:46 AM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Philadelphia Lawyer
Last Online: Yesterday 10:22 PM Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,497
DNF$: 4,007 | Quote: |
I mean, it's completely BS if the fellow is trying to con the domain off of manju_domains, by initially contacting "her" and then trying to con "her" out of a name that "she" owns knowing that there were no TM issues at the time of purchase.
| It happens all of the time, though not always out of nefarious intent. There are people who genuinely believe that filing an intent-to-use application with the USPTO provides them with the right to a domain name, regardless of the chronology.
Dave, read what DNQuest wrote. Let me know when the lightbulb turns on. Quote: |
so what would you suggest here Jerry?
| I'd suggest calling me John.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. |
| |
11-27-2007, 09:59 AM
|
#12 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 11:23 AM Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,184
DNF$: 5,419 Location: England
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by jberryhill I'd suggest calling me John. | That just made me laugh!    |
| |
11-27-2007, 10:57 AM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | DNF Member
Name: Sam Last Online: Today 06:02 PM Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 267
DNF$: 4,757 Location: Germany
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by jberryhill I'd suggest calling me John. | My bad John  .
__________________ Buying HIGH REVENUE & TRAFFIC .com portfolios. Please PM me if you have any for sale. |
| |
11-27-2007, 08:09 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Dave Zan Last Online: Today 05:56 AM Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,634
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Quote:
Originally Posted by DNQuest.com Dave, with it's own application, they are stating they are not using the name in commerce yet. The "intent to use" means they plan on using but are not using as of yet. So up to the filing date, the term has not been used in commerce. | Well, there's that lightbulb moment John mentioned. Thanks, both of you.
__________________ Dave Zan says Vidi, Vici, Veni! :-D DaveZan.com - My Blog |
| |
11-27-2007, 08:30 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 11-01-2008 12:03 PM Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
DNF$: 210 Location: Troy , MI | Thanks to all for your help |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| | | | All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM. 
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com
|