When I call them , I alway refer them as RegisterFLY, They are SCAM, I lost few domains
with them , In my book, Register.com = RegisterFLY.com = SCAMMERS.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Well just sent an email to Kieren who went over from UK few years ago to work from ICANN and he has sent me reply saying he will pass on to compliance team. What I would like to know ,if anyone knows, is whether Register.com have any website/domain names in UK or Europe as a may consider some legal action and enforce against their domain name as an asset.
DG
Yes good idea .
DG
Last edited by domaingenius; 04-12-2008 at 03:06 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
When I call them , I alway refer them as RegisterFLY, They are SCAM, I lost few domains
with them , In my book, Register.com = RegisterFLY.com = SCAMMERS.
IIRC Moniker required phone verification years ago, prior to ICANN's changing
the domain transfer policy. So far that's helped them retain their position of
never having seen a hijacked domain transfer out.
Before doing that, why not try this?
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Yes have tried that but still no reply. I will give them few more days.
As for security. I note what you say about Minker, but I still say Fabulous system is much better and easier. They allow you to make up your own questions that need to be answered before any stage of process can be completed (that can be set by yourself) so that no transaction can be done simply by auth code alone. It is much easier and safer than phone calls. I do NOT see the Register system as being intended for security purposes or actually secure.
If I missing something please tell me, but how does "A" telephone call to Register.com make it safer ??????? Surely someone else could easily make call and so how does that make it safe ?
DG
Disagree. I am sure it has little to do with security but instead to both make it tough to get and so they can try to talk you into staying.
That is exactly what happened when I called them for the auth code on my 1 name there. Same thing NetSol does when you call them for the code.
Netsol sends the epp code by E-mail, like GD. No problems to transfer away with them so far.
NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists
Yes they have. It is UK-based "Register.com Europe plc, dba Register.com Europe" http://corporate.register.com
Their Better Business record doesn't look too good:
http://search.newyork.bbb.org/report...page=1&id=7834
Based on BBB files, this business has an unsatisfactory record with the Bureau...
Now Network Solutions is playing games with transfers. I have a name expiring April 25. I submit a transfer and get an email fromthem with this:
Specifically, the domain name registration was not eligible for transfer because:
The domain cannot be transferred to another registrar because it has been locked due to potentially suspicious activity in your account.
Online the name has Transfer-Lock: Yes until May 3, 2008
I'm sick of lousy registrars.
This will cure your problem. http://www.dotweekly.com/2008/04/10/...here-is-a-tip/
It's happened to me Several Times. NetSol is just locking account for really No Reason! For some reason if the link doesn't work, Click Here. It's on my blog.
www.DotWeekly.com <--My Blog
Yes again thats correct and is definately a plus point. Sorry to say this but I trust Australian law makers and government more than US ,especially whilst you have a guy called "Bush" as President lol. I dont know if this word has same connotations as in UK but its appropriate for GW anyways as it about sums him up.
DG
If everyone agrees why dont we start a petition and send it to ICANN. I have the email addy of Kieren who moved from UK to ICANN somewhile ago and promised he would help when needed so can send it to him when complete ?. Anyone interested ?.
DG
Last edited by domaingenius; 04-12-2008 at 04:22 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Thanks, I sent an email. It's worth a try. Does this work on GoDaddy?
I guess not. But if you're looking for, say, a satisfying answer, especially if it's
directed towards Register.com, then beats the heck out of me if you'll get one
at all.
I'm simply providing one answer based on Moniker. Not that anyone's forced to
like it, anyway.
Interesting tip, Yofie. I'll blog about it later and link back to you, thanks.
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
same shit with moniker, gotto call to get your money back !
Originally Posted by reclad
Add one extra thing. If the US Snowe bill goes through unchanged,
your domains are not at a US-based registrar, and will be 'safe' from
US lawmakers and their machinations.
I live in Oz and whilst everyone gripes about their own government,
the ways which the US lawmakers find to screw their own good
citizens can be truly breathtaking. I think I'll stay in Oz.![]()
Rang Register.com ,waited 10 minutes for the scammers to answer and they said I would have the auth codes in few minutes .NOTHING received as yet. OK so please could someone like John Berryhill advise whether can issue proceedings in USA to force them to release auth codes ?.
Thanks
DG
Bookmarks