Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. #21
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    denny007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,507
    DNF$
    11,511
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,511
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Acro View Post
    Right. So the "Kevin Ham's" resort to spamming these days?

    Listen, I don't care if he's right or wrong. What I care about is that he sent out an email anonymously to a bunch of people, alleging all this without having the testicles to say who he is, which is the Registrar and what domains were taken from his account. Whistle-blowing works when you do it to the authorities, not when trying to gather a lynch-mob.
    He is not that big but maybe 5-10% of KH could be.

    Anyway he should do it differently, if I would not know about it already I would think "scam" right away too.

    And he is not "whistle-blowing", he is not an employee of that registrar, he is a customer.

    Just imagine you suddenly start to see your best domains selling in auctions and when you check into it you would find that all those domains has been taken away from your account by the registrar...

    Basically he is looking for people to which this happened too, if they will write him "Hey this happened to me at this registrar too" either it will be same registrar or not.
    I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
    ThankYouDHL.com

  2. #22
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    Tia Wood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,675
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    543
    Bank
    2,627
    Total DNF$
    3,170
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Portfolio View Post
    Listen, once I confirm my lawyer doesn't have a problem with it. Which I doubt he will. I will be happy to provide his contact info.
    Just curious as to why you didn't wait until then. Isn't this kinda pointless until then

  3. #23
    Bloody Hell
    Acro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28,668
    Country

    Holy See
    DNF$
    15,572
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    15,572
    Donate  
    Well, since we put two and two together that Portfolio is largeportfolio@gmail.com I'd be interested to know how he compiled the email list he sent this to because I get enough spam already.

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog

  4. #24
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    denny007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,507
    DNF$
    11,511
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,511
    Donate  
    Just curious as to why you didn't wait until then. Isn't this kinda pointless until then
    Well he probably first need to find out if there are more people like him, if not he goes solo quietly
    I'd be interested to know how he compiled the email list he sent this to because I get enough spam already
    My guess either list of domains at that particular registrar or his bidding history from auctions whois emails.
    I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
    ThankYouDHL.com

  5. #25
    Bloody Hell
    Acro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28,668
    Country

    Holy See
    DNF$
    15,572
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    15,572
    Donate  
    My apologies to rmnarmenta, I misguided my frustration. I don't respond well to sarcasm which is better than mine Sorry man.

    Denny, thanks for the insight. I am definitely curious to know who this guy is. If it's Namejet, I suspect eNom as the foul play Registrar.

    Still, spam is spam.

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog

  6. #26
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    denny007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,507
    DNF$
    11,511
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,511
    Donate  
    Still, spam is spam.
    Yeah he should show some respect and send personalized emails "Hi (Acro), I got your email from...." would be couple of horus work and people would take him more seriously...

    So it is NOT the guy who I thought it is, anyway this can happen to anyone, really...just got a thought - it might be sent by the registrar who is doing it they are fishing if their misdeed became an issue or its still oK
    Last edited by denny007; 09-16-2009 at 01:54 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
    ThankYouDHL.com

  7. #27
    fab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Elad
    Posts
    5,044
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    33,891
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    33,891
    Donate  
    Well, I'd really like to see the end of this story!

  8. #28
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,499
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,540
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,540
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Portfolio View Post
    Attorney advises not to disclose at this time. Which SUCKS!
    So what's the point of this thread ?
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  9. #29
    PRED's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9,147
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    UK
    DNF$
    7,149
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,149
    Donate  

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by sdsinc View Post
    So what's the point of this thread ?
    this thread has a point alright.............


    after years of wars,acro and denny are getting along famously well,
    i think they may end up getting a room together at the next domainer convention ,

  10. #30
    Registered User - Must Upgrade To Post
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7
    DNF$
    100
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    100
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by denny007 View Post
    If is it who I think it is it is one of the larger domainers, not publicly known much but pretty active on Namejet/Snapnames
    You're exactly on track....

    I am pretty sure I know who you are referring to. Know him well, he is MUCH more public than I.

    Also - surely you realize the Employees, and Founders of Registrars are also Domainers, which in itself presents a conflict of interest if they have access to information for thousands of accounts and have the ability to manipulate data in a manner to benefit themselves. Those same "account reps" that Domainers are so fond of running to with problems are the same ones that may very well use those problems to benefit themselves.

    This is still a highly unregulated industry with assets worth hundreds of thousands of dollars being manipulated on a whim by people controlling accounts who have the ability to easily cover their tracks with simple minded excuses such as "Oh those are your domains? I'll move them back." With no questions asked! One has got to ask what the **** is going on!?

    The checks and balances are simply not there. Granted their is some tracking, but the Wolves are Watching the Hen House. You may think the privacy feature is your friend. Trust me - it only makes the shell game easier for those who are toying with accounts. Don't make the MISTAKE of claiming your Registrar is the most secure Registrar in the industry because they told you it was. You are merely regurgitating their marketing efforts.

    Quote Originally Posted by sdsinc View Post
    So what's the point of this thread ?
    The point is are there any other victims of Registrar account mishandling? According to received emails the answer is "yes"!
    Last edited by Portfolio; 09-16-2009 at 05:18 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  11. #31
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    487
    DNF$
    1,581
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,581
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Portfolio View Post
    Don't make the MISTAKE of claiming your Registrar is the most secure Registrar in the industry because they told you it was. You are merely regurgitating their marketing efforts.!
    There is one registrar that claims this really, so if you are trying to make a hint then umm thanks...
    cdnify.com - fresa.org (strawberry) - autismcharity.com

  12. #32
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    chrisb72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    270
    DNF$
    1,414
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,414
    Donate  
    I also got the same "We are suing them" email, I said I have had experiences similar to that and he wanted to know with who. Obviously if he isnt saying then Im not saying. Maybe its a "hijack your name" scam and they make it look like it was the registrar. It sounded shady to me at the time too and now I see this.
    iInvested.com / Sawthat.com / LawyerZone.com

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com