DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2005, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 04-20-2006 11:32 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
DNF$: 75


Response To Email Solicitations

If you have a domain that is similar to another domain but there is no trademark on that other domain, and someone from the other domain emails you and asks you if you want to sell it, can you be liable for anything by responding to that email? Should that email be treated as a legitimate request to buy the domain or should it be seen as some sort of a trap?
clickmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 03-17-2005, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-27-2009 03:38 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 756
DNF$: 1,232
Location: Madison, WI

Send a message via AIM to namedropper Send a message via Yahoo to namedropper

Re: Response To Email Solicitations

If there legitimately is no trademark on the other name, then there shouldn't be any way for a trap to work even if they intended it to be one. Of course one spot people fall down on is assuming that lots of things with trademarks aren't actually trademarked. Are you sure there is no trademark, and, if so, how do you know?
__________________
Dan Norder
Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more
namedropper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Name: Andy Laws
Last Online: Yesterday 08:00 PM
iTrader: (82)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,760
DNF$: 1,190
Location: North Carolina
Country:

Send a message via AIM to Duncan Send a message via MSN to Duncan

Re: Response To Email Solicitations

You can respond, but just be careful as to "How you say" what you say

Duncan
__________________
TopicTown.com - Earn $0.02 per post - register today!
Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 04-20-2006 11:32 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
DNF$: 75


Re: Response To Email Solicitations

Quote:
Originally Posted by namedropper
If there legitimately is no trademark on the other name, then there shouldn't be any way for a trap to work even if they intended it to be one. Of course one spot people fall down on is assuming that lots of things with trademarks aren't actually trademarked. Are you sure there is no trademark, and, if so, how do you know?
Hi Namedropper. I am pretty sure there is no trademark. I have checked the online databases at USPTO, as well as databases in Canada, Australia, and UK. The company is not incorporated in North America, so I'm not worried that there is a state trademark I haven't seen. So, with the information provided online I could not find anything showing that there is a trademark or that there is an application for a trademark. Of course I can't check every jurisdiction on the planet but the major ones seem ok.

Now I was told that the domain can be challenged even if there isn't a trademark. This is more of what I'm worried about.
clickmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Dave Zan
Last Online: 11-12-2009 09:55 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 0
Location: Manila


Re: Response To Email Solicitations

Quote:
Originally Posted by clickmaster
Now I was told that the domain can be challenged even if there isn't a trademark. This is more of what I'm worried about.
If they use the UDRP, then they need to prove: a) your domain name is
identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the
complainant has rights, b) you have no rights or legitimate interests in
respect of the domain name, and c) your domain name has been registered
and is being used in bad faith.

And they'd better hope the respondent doesn't reply at all or mount up a good
defense.
__________________
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Dave Zan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 02:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Steen's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-20-2009 04:31 PM
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,883
DNF$: 1,808
Location: White Rock, BC
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to Steen

Re: Response To Email Solicitations

Quote:
Originally Posted by clickmaster
Hi Namedropper. I am pretty sure there is no trademark. I have checked the online databases at USPTO, as well as databases in Canada, Australia, and UK. The company is not incorporated in North America, so I'm not worried that there is a state trademark I haven't seen. So, with the information provided online I could not find anything showing that there is a trademark or that there is an application for a trademark. Of course I can't check every jurisdiction on the planet but the major ones seem ok.

Now I was told that the domain can be challenged even if there isn't a trademark. This is more of what I'm worried about.
If I understand correctly, you are looking for a registered trademark. Perhaps they have rights to the mark without registering a trademark.
__________________

Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,
click here - Automated Signup!
Steen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

Re: Response To Email Solicitations

Quote:
Hi Namedropper. I am pretty sure there is no trademark. I have checked the online databases at USPTO, as well as databases in Canada, Australia, and UK.
Oh boy.

Look, if I:

1. Registered flippetywidgets.com in 1996, spent nine years selling "Flippety Widgets" shoes in stores and on my website, had an annual advertising budget of a million dollars, had radio and TV commercials in your area for my "Flippety Widgets" shoes, sold 200,000 units per year in stores in your state, AND

2. if you came along in 2003, registered flipetywidgets.com for no particular reason, had it pointed to a ppc page that included "shoes", THEN"

3. Do you think it is going to make a cup of warm spit's worth of difference whether I ever obtained a trademark registration in the US, Australia, or Canada?

Now, do you see all of those hypothetical facts? They each contribute in their own special way to how my hypothetical would turn out if you offered to sell the domain name to me for $50, $500, or $5000. It is a certainty that the facts in your situation are not "exactly like" the facts in 1 and 2 above.

If, for example, my domain name was instead "LargoShoes.com" and I sold a brand of shoes I called "Largo"; and if you registered "LargeShoes.com" to advertise "large shoes"; then the picture is radically different.
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Domain Buyer
 
DaddyHalbucks's Avatar
 
Name: Hal
Last Online: 11-18-2009 11:20 AM
iTrader: (57)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,730
DNF$: 120,139
Location: Las Vegas, USA
Country:


Re: Response To Email Solicitations

I think what JB is trying to say is that you could get caught in the trap call COMMON LAW rights, that is, unregistered trademarks.

It all turns on the facts.

If you offer to sell the domain, that is one fact is against you.
__________________

www.ParkingCash.com
<==Click here

www.RingtoneCash.com
<==and here
DaddyHalbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beware Of Paypal Orders From Email Addresses From Another.com And Rock.com ??? ComScout.com Gold Cafe 24 02-01-2004 12:39 PM
PayPal scams came from P.Pal employees, I've the proof !!! DomainEmpire.com Gold Cafe 11 12-01-2003 08:08 PM
My problem with RegisterFly. Do you face the same issue? Success Domain Registration Discussion 5 02-12-2003 07:47 AM
Stop Spam Secrets Episode VII mole Gold Cafe 7 12-01-2002 08:15 AM
need advise on a email response for my domains for sale eddie1278 Domain Registration Discussion 7 09-14-2002 01:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com