Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Philadelphia Lawyer
    jberryhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,020
    DNF$
    6,642
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,642
    Donate  

    Revenge of the Nerds

    This was a fun one:

    thenerds.com -

    http://www.arb-forum.com/domains/decisions/155179.htm

    "The Respondent claims that the Complainant does not state when it acquired the alleged categorical distinctiveness in connection with a term that is commonly associated with technical subject matter. The phrase “the nerds” is likely more synonymous among consumers with the 1984 motion picture “The Revenge of the Nerds”. "
    John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
    John-AT-johnberryhill.com
    Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.

  2. #2
    DNF Addict
    Rocket2Uranus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    2,176
    DNF$
    3,441
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,441
    Donate  
    sounds about right to me

  3. #3
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    170
    DNF$
    315
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    315
    Donate  
    Nice decision John.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    756
    DNF$
    1,343
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,343
    Donate  
    "Complainant contends that Respondent’s only use comes by way of infringement upon the rights of a trademark holder and that the term “the nerds” is a not generic, but rather a term that is unquestionably capable of gaining trademark protection, which the Complainant has done. "

    Complainant further admits to being dropped on his head as a baby and smoking copious amounts of crack before reaching the decision to try to trademark the term.
    Dan Norder
    Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more

  5. #5
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    353
    DNF$
    199
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    199
    Donate  
    Dr Berryhill,

    I'm interested in hearing your response to this statement.


    "Respondent contends that it has rights to and legitimate interests in the Domain Name because its business consists of the registration of abandoned and expiring domain names, such as the Domain Name.



    In view of the Panel’s dispositive finding as to the existence of trademark rights, the Panel declines to reach a finding as to Respondent’s rights or legitimate interests. In so doing, the Panel does not find that Respondent has established rights or legitimate interests in the Domain Name."

    Has the legitimacy issue been conclusively discussed in previous rulings?
    The First Name
    Email its<at>mercurylink.net with a desired account name to get setup. After catch auction system now

  6. #6
    Philadelphia Lawyer
    jberryhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,020
    DNF$
    6,642
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,642
    Donate  
    "Has the legitimacy issue been conclusively discussed in previous rulings?"

    Relative to Ultimate Search? Yes, e.g.:

    http://www.arbforum.com/domains/decisions/96320.htm
    The Respondent is using the domain "groceryoutlet.com" for a website that links to online resources for groceries and similar goods. The domain is therefore being used to describe the content of the site. The panel finds that this is a legitimate interest in the domain name.

    http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2002-0189.html
    The Respondent is entitled to conduct a business of capturing generic trademark names which become available in the marketplace – often through failure to renew registration.
    [...]
    The Respondent is using the name for what has been held in other WIPO decisions to be a legitimate business. Accordingly in the opinion of the Panel, the Complaint must fail.
    John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
    John-AT-johnberryhill.com
    Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    URLCollection's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    1,986
    DNF$
    5,969
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,969
    Donate  
    Great Job John - This was a very interesting case! Nice work!!!
    Steve O'Brien
    VP Corporate Marketing - CPi Sites, Inc. - NameStore - TopNames
    UrlCollection.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com