Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 01:28 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,370
DNF$: 193
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Scam warning - POWERSALE

I just noticed two charges on my wife's bank card towards an entity called "POWERSALE 877-244-1121".

She had two charges for $72.21 and "international transfer fees" of about $2.21 for each charge.

Take a look at your bank accounts.

Edit: It seems like a Google Work from Home scam.

Tack on another one:

Grant Masters 800-926-0273

For $38.34

The amounts seem pretty consistent with the other complaints.

My wife has canceled the card.

Last edited by draggar; 06-21-2009 at 09:55 AM..
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 06-21-2009, 09:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
 
ecomindia's Avatar
 
Name: Dipendra Srivastava
Last Online: Today 05:52 AM
iTrader: (18)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 810
DNF$: 1,496
Location: Ghaziabad,India
Country:

Send a message via Yahoo to ecomindia

Quote:
Edit: It seems like a Google Work from Home scam.
Meaning... Work from home kinda stuff?
__________________
Buying your expiring .net.in, .co.in, .in cctld. OFFER NOW . Bought 63+ domains already!
ecomindia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
James's Avatar
 
Name: Jim
Last Online: Today 01:58 PM
iTrader: (82)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,168
DNF$: 26,316
Location: NEPA.US
Country:


Thanks for the heads-up
I had a somewhat similar incident a couple of years ago..they got your info somewhere..cancel card and request a new one along with the obvious dispute

best advice scroll to
Quote:
Blazing Scam - 19 Jun 2009
http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-877-244-1121

G/L

jim



Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar View Post
I just noticed two charges on my wife's bank card towards an entity called "POWERSALE 877-244-1121".

She had two charges for $72.21 and "international transfer fees" of about $2.21 for each charge.

Take a look at your bank accounts.

Edit: It seems like a Google Work from Home scam.
__________________
Note:My posted Sales Prices are valid for 3 Days only
Most my domains listed for sale are available at sedo.com
James is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 01:28 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,370
DNF$: 193
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecomindia View Post
Meaning... Work from home kinda stuff?
Yes, she went to the site but didn't sign up for anything - I'm wondering who told her to go there - she's been working with someone so he may of requested it, if it is him then he might be in trouble, too.
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
stewie's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 02:15 PM
iTrader: (46)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,121
DNF$: 153
Location: Canada
Country:


Thx for heads up,
__________________
.
.
.

Buying LLL.ca & LLLL.com /generic domains, pm w/pricing...thx
stewie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
meganerd's Avatar
 
Name: Tia Wood
Last Online: Today 01:43 PM
iTrader: (75)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,607
DNF$: 210
Location: Missouri
Country:



Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar View Post
Work from Home scam.
Are you secretly using your wife's credit card again? j/k
__________________
MY BLOG | Parking & PPC Alternative
Graphic Designer & Web Developer, yes. But overall, I am an artist. Give me a mouse and I'll show you art.
meganerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 01:28 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,370
DNF$: 193
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Tia -

She claims that she didn't give them any information (but she's been known to do that).

Apparently this is a pretty big scam and there isn't much US law can do about it since these people are overseas.
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
James's Avatar
 
Name: Jim
Last Online: Today 01:58 PM
iTrader: (82)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,168
DNF$: 26,316
Location: NEPA.US
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar View Post

Apparently this is a pretty big scam and there isn't much US law can do about it since these people are overseas.
If you don't use the card for international purchases I "believe" your banking instituiton can block/not authorize such transactions..check with them

jim
__________________
Note:My posted Sales Prices are valid for 3 Days only
Most my domains listed for sale are available at sedo.com
James is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 01:28 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,370
DNF$: 193
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

She shouldn't be - I'll check with her and have her check with the bank, good suggestion James.

I do once in a while with mine but I am also very careful with who I use it with (and I'd rather use Paypal sometimes if i am not sure).
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
 
ecomindia's Avatar
 
Name: Dipendra Srivastava
Last Online: Today 05:52 AM
iTrader: (18)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 810
DNF$: 1,496
Location: Ghaziabad,India
Country:

Send a message via Yahoo to ecomindia

I think most of the banks gives a free option to have SMS / EMail Alert whenever card is used... Do activate that!

Working with #1 bank, i can bet , this really helps on all these stuffs!
__________________
Buying your expiring .net.in, .co.in, .in cctld. OFFER NOW . Bought 63+ domains already!
ecomindia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com