It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2008, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Name: Edwin Hayward
Last Online: 08-24-2008 01:43 AM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,381
DNF$: 2,321
Location: Tokyo, Japan


Scammer pretending to be me

Warning! There is a scammer going around applying to domain parking programs using my identity. Seems like it's been going on for a few months now, although I only found out about it today.

He is supplying a list of many of my .co.uk generics to support his application.

He gives his email as ehayvard@yahoo.co.jp and states he is from Japan and that his native language isn't English.

That's certainly true as he is actually from China according to the phone number he's been supplying in his fraudulent applications.

He also gives his DNForum username as "simajianlin" and his company name as "Roar Productions Ltd" on applications.

If you run an affiliate or domain parking program, please could you check to see whether you have this scammer signed up.

No idea why he picked somebody who's been visible and active in the domain industry for 13 years (pretty easy to refute the "native language' part, right?) to try and "borrow" as an identity but there we go. Unfortunately since he's based out of China the legal route isn't an option, so the best I can do is spread this warning widely.

I'd be happy to answer any concerns privately about this. But hopefully the above is enough for you to work from...

Thanks for your help.
__________________
JapaneseDomains.com - cheap .jp registrations, English language interface, no local presence required. Alphabetic & IDN names supported. Bulk pricing available.
Edwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-25-2008, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Seraphim's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 10:52 PM
iTrader: (16)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,921
DNF$: 2,533
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Country:


You shouldn't list your full name in your profile. I got burned badly in exactly the same fashion.
__________________
Link Exchanges Wanted - Food & Drink, Recipes, Egypt, Travel - PM Me
Seraphim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Name: Edwin Hayward
Last Online: 08-24-2008 01:43 AM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,381
DNF$: 2,321
Location: Tokyo, Japan


Unfortunately, you can get it off the Whois instantly anyway.

At least this way, I can stake a claim to be "me"!

Looks like he's also using edwinhayvard@yahoo.co.jp

I'm still finding info out, posting as I get it.

Last edited by Edwin; 07-25-2008 at 07:44 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Edwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator
 
DotComGod's Avatar
 
Name: Adam Dicker
Last Online: 09-05-2008 01:44 PM
iTrader: (35)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8,516
DNF$: 4,653,066
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Please PM if I can do anything to help,

-=DCG=-
DotComGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
sdsinc's Avatar
 
Name: Kate
Last Online: Today 05:30 PM
iTrader: (29)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,962
DNF$: 12,440
Location: Wonderland
Country:


Adam maybe you should have a look at user simajianlin
Also look up simajianlin in google
I wonder if he owns webhostingserving.com
sdsinc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Name: Edwin Hayward
Last Online: 08-24-2008 01:43 AM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,381
DNF$: 2,321
Location: Tokyo, Japan


They're definitely the same person. WebHostingServing.com is one of his, as is Review6.com.
__________________
JapaneseDomains.com - cheap .jp registrations, English language interface, no local presence required. Alphabetic & IDN names supported. Bulk pricing available.
Edwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 01:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Today 11:44 AM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 494
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


This is his domain HOMELOANING.INFO
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains