Hopefully you kept the communiucations (emails etc..) between you and the "buyer". If they showed interest in the domain and THEN registered the trademark it may kill any case they have (but I am not a lawyer).
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I have a domain registered for over 11yrs. About 6 months back, an offer came in via sedo, and we decided to sell, then after waiting for 6 weeks for buyer to make payment, the buyer backed out.
sedo then proceeded to give us the buyers info. then we contacted the buyer and the said they still want it, but cant raise money for it and then correspondence just died.
Recently saw their site, they have trademarked the name (generic), do you think this will be a problem going forward. They named the company with the generic name as in the domain name (without the .com etc).
Can this be a case going forward for reverse domain hijacking? Just worried, shd we start to develop the name instead of it being just parked...
all inputs appreciated?
Developed sites --> | OUTSOURCEHUB.COM | VBAGS.COM | MYRELATION.COM --> PM Offers.
Hopefully you kept the communiucations (emails etc..) between you and the "buyer". If they showed interest in the domain and THEN registered the trademark it may kill any case they have (but I am not a lawyer).
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
yes have stored that all. this is really dangerous, i dont know if parking is to blame, we need to build more sites around them or simply the snowebill fears. in any case, just thinking ahead and always remaining vigilant
thank you dragger...![]()
Last edited by buysellfast; 03-11-2008 at 07:19 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Developed sites --> | OUTSOURCEHUB.COM | VBAGS.COM | MYRELATION.COM --> PM Offers.
If they registered the name much later than it was registered by you, you did not act in bad faith, they did. Especially if it is a generic.
But strange things can happen in Europe, where companies trademarked generic terms like "marketing" to get .eu names. Nobody can own the term "marketing".
Strange things can happen in Europe, you say!!! No one can own the term "marketing?! LOL
Yeah, just like no-one can own the term "apple"!!! Or "windows"!!!
Trade marks fall into classes (both in the USA and in the uncivilised wasteland outside those borders!) so if I want to trade mark "marketing" for my new range of badger polishing accessories this is unlikely to be a problem...![]()
Totally disagree with this point.
Marketing, can & should not be able to be trademarked for marketing, on the other hand, if someone calls their dog canal marketing, then it could be marketed for that purpose.
Apple is TradeMarked for Computers not fruit, and Windows is TradeMarked for computer OS, not "Windows".
Courteous and Respectful DNForum Member!
Text Link Ads WhyPark.com - Stop Parking Your Domains - Society's Problems - PM me to Post your Opinions
Fab, what you just wrote actually is in agreement with LizzeyDripping.
BTW Lizzey, I've been looking for a quality badger polishing kit for a while - mine are looking so dull at the moment!
Buysellfast, maybe there is some way you can pre-empt any action - possibly by letting them know that you have become aware of their new TM. Recently someone had a TM taken off them I believe....
DNGazette.com - for sale
Sorry, I missed his last line. BTW, Canal should be Kennel.
Courteous and Respectful DNForum Member!
Text Link Ads WhyPark.com - Stop Parking Your Domains - Society's Problems - PM me to Post your Opinions
Bookmarks