Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Domain Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,420
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    11,641
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,641
    Donate  

    So what have I done now?

    Just got this in my email and it mentions DNForum...What is this all about??? I have no clue..anybody else get it ?? What do they think I have done? I have no dnforum domain...

    Dear President&CEO,
    This is a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in HongKong, China.
    On November.4, 2010, we received an application from MEIHUA Group requested"dnforum"
    as their internet keyword and China (CN) domain names. But after checking ,we find this name is conflict
    with your company's name or trademark. In order to deal with this issue better, it's necessary to send this email
    to you and confirm with your company whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China?
    If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better.

    Looking forward to your reply

    Best regards,

    Alice
    Alice Wang
    Checking Department
    ----------------------------------
    HongKong Office(Head Office)
    HongKong China Technology Ltd
    Tel:+00852-37556517 Fax:+00852-37556340
    Rm 1105,Lippo Centre Tower 1,89 Queensway,
    Admiralty,Hong Kong
    Web: http://www.ChinaTechnology.org

  2. #2
    silentg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,276
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    7,800
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,800
    Donate  
    It's probably a scam. Just found this online China Scam. There's more other reports on google.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Adam Dicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    16,144
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    Canada Follow Adam Dicker On Twitter Add Adam Dicker on Facebook
    DNF$
    8,430,659
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,430,659
    Donate  
    I get these all the time, it is definitely a scam.

    -=DCG=-

  4. #4
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,874
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,977
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,536
    Donate  
    I wouldn't call it a scam but it is clearly a scare tactic. They're claiming someone is trying to register a .cn version of one of your domains, their mentality is that people will jump to register it to "save" themselves.

    In a nutshell, just ignore these (unless you want the .cn or .asia domain - then just do it at the registrar of your choice.
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

  5. #5
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,499
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,540
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,540
    Donate  
    'Chinese slamming'.
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  6. #6
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,017
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,017
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by draggar View Post
    I wouldn't call it a scam but it is clearly a scare tactic. They're claiming someone is trying to register a .cn version of one of your domains, their mentality is that people will jump to register it to "save" themselves.
    Bingo. All the ones I get are telling me someone has registered or is registering a long string of .cn variables of my name and are going to TM those for their use. This is hopefully a scare tactic to jump in and reg all those name.

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

  7. #7
    Formerly known as grcorp.
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,192
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    2,615
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,615
    Donate  
    That email hardly makes any sense. Definitely a scam attempt.

    Just remember that where there's smoke, there's fire. If it doesn't look right - it ain't right.
    Premium LLLL .com for sale - N::B::F::A - click here to see thread!
    Women lie. Men lie. Numbers don't lie.
    Email is the best way to get a hold of me - maxwell [] maxwell.me


  8. #8
    Bloody Hell
    Acro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28,668
    Country

    Holy See
    DNF$
    15,573
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    15,573
    Donate  
    Don't even bother responding to those morons that emailed you. All they do is force you to pay for a .cn domain that matches your .com
    For starters, you can't even own .cn domains without a physical or business presence in China anymore.

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog

  9. #9
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Domain Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,420
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    11,641
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,641
    Donate  
    But I have no domain that even matches a so called "dnforum" domain - thats what they are saying...maybe they are just phishing for info...I answered them back saying I dont know what they are talking about...

  10. #10
    Formerly known as grcorp.
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,192
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    2,615
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,615
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Domain Master View Post
    But I have no domain that even matches a so called "dnforum" domain - thats what they are saying...maybe they are just phishing for info...I answered them back saying I dont know what they are talking about...
    Rule of thumb is to never respond.

    If they were truly serious, they would email you again making further requests/demands for action.

    Let's say they sent out 100,000 emails and they had an 0.1% response rate at 100 responses. It's much easier to harass 100 people than it is to harass 100,000 people, so expect a more detailed, more intimidating reply from them.
    Premium LLLL .com for sale - N::B::F::A - click here to see thread!
    Women lie. Men lie. Numbers don't lie.
    Email is the best way to get a hold of me - maxwell [] maxwell.me


  11. #11
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Domain Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,420
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    11,641
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,641
    Donate  
    Look what happens when I google MEIHUA Group
    http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...2e2d2dbbfd80d2

    ---------- Post added at 05:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:16 PM ----------

    and more specific this one from 9/1/2010 which sounds like my letter--->
    http://www.the-name-i-wanted-was-alr...stration-scam/

  12. #12
    DNF Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    665
    DNF$
    3,987
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,987
    Donate  
    Had hundreds of these. Ignore them. They are trying to get you to register domains you don't need - the ones you have are safe and sound.

  13. #13
    DNF Addict
    south's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    33143/04930
    Posts
    4,995
    DNF$
    8,204
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,204
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Domain Master View Post
    and more specific this one from 9/1/2010 which sounds like my letter--->
    http://www.the-name-i-wanted-was-alr...stration-scam/
    the-name-i-wanted-was-already-taken-so-i-used-a-lot-of-dashes.com

    Love it!
    All offers good for 72 hours except running auctions

    Progeria Research | Pulmonary Fibrosis | Dammit!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com