Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    TechMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    211
    DNF$
    756
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    756
    Donate  

    Somebody own a domain that a big corporation wants to sue him into acquiring

    Ok I read this AMA yesterday on reddit. AMA means AskMeAnything where users ask OP different questions and then he/she answers.
    In this AMA, OP is telling about how a corporation is after him for a .com domain which he owns. I thought it might be of some interest to users here so posting it.

    Here is the summary:

    My last name is the name of the domain. My last name is also the name of this random company that has offices all over the world. I use the domain as a portfolio for people to find and contact me quickly. It's been my way of connecting with potential clients and friends. They've already tried going through WIPO and lost. Now they are telling me that if I don't accept a ridiculously undervalued offer they are going to file litigation against me. I am a college student and can't afford a lawyer. Can anyone give me advice? What should I do? Take the poor offer or try to fight for my rights? I bought this domain fairly. I never expected any of this to happen. Please help!
    http://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/co...tion_wants_to/

  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    nextri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    12
    DNF$
    255
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    255
    Donate  
    That is ridiculous. But probably a good opportunity for him to make a lot of cash, if the company is big enough.

  3. #3
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    chipmeade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NoVa
    Posts
    660
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    2,515
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,515
    Donate  
    Something smells fishy to me with the person who posted the question. He already went through a WIPO and won? And only now is he concerned that it will be taken via a lawsuit? Doesn't add up to me.
    Free, Premium Available .com Names FreshAvails.com. Try our Sneak Peek Program
    Follow Us On Twitter! Get the Scoop before it happens. Twitter.com/FreshAvails
    DomainVictor.com-Domains for Sale!

  4. #4
    sopa.com
    Vincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Garden Grove
    Posts
    856
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    5,380
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,380
    Donate  
    Interesting.

  5. #5
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,874
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,977
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,536
    Donate  
    Is that Mr. Nissan?
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

  6. #6
    silentg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,276
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    7,800
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,800
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by draggar View Post
    Is that Mr. Nissan?
    I just checked out nissan.com and they got ad for car insurance.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    1,721
    DNF$
    7,964
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,964
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by chipmeade View Post
    Something smells fishy to me with the person who posted the question. He already went through a WIPO and won? And only now is he concerned that it will be taken via a lawsuit? Doesn't add up to me.
    What exactly doesn't add up? Complainant files UDRP against OP/registrant, registrant won, then complainant wants to dispute that in court now, which either party can do if they don't agree with the UDRP decision.

    Assuming what that college student says is true (and so far I've no reason to doubt), he's calling for help since he can't defend against a dispute that'll surely cost time and money.
    Gerry likes this.
    Vidi, Vici, Veni!

  8. #8
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,017
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,017
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Zan View Post
    then complainant wants to dispute that in court now, which either party can do if they don't agree with the UDRP decision.
    That is one of the biggest fallacies I see with every one cheering a WIPO decision (or denouncing it) as if someone won or lost and that is the final word. No, no, no...that is merely a procedural hearing before a panelist(s). Their decision is NOT final and NOT law.

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

  9. #9
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    chipmeade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NoVa
    Posts
    660
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    2,515
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,515
    Donate  
    Nothing overt it just seems like there is more to it that being shared. Here is what was shared by the op, a college student.

    * The Company went via WIPO and lost a decision
    * The domain is only 3 or 2 characters
    * He paid just over $1000 for it
    * He doesn't know if his college even has a law school
    * He has been using it for freelance work as an artist
    * He has never heard of this company (Company Name is the same as his last name)
    * A bunch of his family who are in the construction business use this company's tools everyday
    * He has nine years registration paid for already
    * The company going after him is a German based Construction Tool Company with headquarters and manufacturing plants all over the world and worth hundreds of millions.
    * They offered him $150 then $250 and would not go higher than $500 after he asked for thousands.

    Just to satisfy my curiosity, I looked at gtld decisions by WIPO over the last two years and nothing matched. I looked at the usual ccTLD suspects and nothing there fits either. Not saying I saw everything or even that this is not legit. Can't I be a skeptic?
    Free, Premium Available .com Names FreshAvails.com. Try our Sneak Peek Program
    Follow Us On Twitter! Get the Scoop before it happens. Twitter.com/FreshAvails
    DomainVictor.com-Domains for Sale!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com