DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2003, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
morel's Avatar
 
Last Online: 02-17-2007 06:07 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 430
DNF$: 1,150
Location: Chicago


someone is threatening to litigate for my hyperdrive.com

I purchased the domain hyperdrive.com less than a year ago, from someone in California. He had registered the domain back in 1996 for a business, and sold the domain to me when that business became defunct. He had a trademark for hyperdrive.com, that is still live at the the trademark office. The serial number is 75194744, the reg number is 2160064. At the time I purchased the domain, he said I could also have that trademark, though I hadn't asked to transfer it, because I didn't think I would need it.

So that's the history of the domain.

Yesterday, the owner of hyperdrivei.com (Hyperdrive Interactive) contacted me about buying the domain. I offered to sell it to him for $2500. He refused, and then told me that the resale of this type of name would be illegal. I don't think he has much of a case.... however, we both are located in Cincinnati, Ohio. He claimed that "HyperDrive is filed with the secretary of state in Ohio as a limited liability company by us". I'm slightly worried that he might be able to win in a local court. I haven't emailed him back yet. What should my response be?

Last edited by morel; 07-11-2003 at 01:05 PM..
morel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 07-11-2003, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Alleged Cybersquatter
 
nameslave's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 09:47 PM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,791
DNF$: 2,423
Location: Toronto, ON
Country:


Re: someone is threatening to litigate for my hyperdrive.com

Quote:
Originally posted by morel
He had a trademark for hyperdrive.com, that is still live at the the trademark office:
http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?...ate=alg5md.1.1
You actually have to kind of login every time you query TESS, therefore the link you provided above won't work for others. Is there a Serial or Registration Number that we could use as there are at least 9 live hyperdrive-trademarks over there (not including those under Boolean searches).
__________________
SELLING - chinatradeblog.com ($1,000), chinatradeforum.com ($1,000), sinotown.com (US$500)
SOLD 2009 - jinggangshan.com (US$4,000), lujiazui.com (US$3,000), jinqiao.com (US$3,000)
nameslave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
morel's Avatar
 
Last Online: 02-17-2007 06:07 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 430
DNF$: 1,150
Location: Chicago


Re: Re: someone is threatening to litigate for my hyperdrive.com

Quote:
Originally posted by nameslave

You actually have to kind of login every time you query TESS, therefore the link you provided above won't work for others. Is there a Serial or Registration Number that we could use as there are at least 9 live hyperdrive-trademarks over there (not including those under Boolean searches).
Thank you nameslave. I have corrected my post... the serial number is 75194744, it's the 13th trademark when you search for hyperdrive... the only trademark for hyperdrive.com.
morel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 11:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-01-2005 11:02 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 224
DNF$: 1,216
Location: Davie, Fl

Send a message via AIM to HOWARD

If the trademark was transfered to you, what exactly is the problem?
__________________
Howard Neu, Esq.
HOWARD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 11:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 09:34 PM
iTrader: (87)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,413
DNF$: 6,593
Location: Washington,DC


Howard,

I think the problem is that the owner of the TM offered to transfer the TM to him. But, he felt he didn't need it. So, he didn't accept it.
__________________
Act Now


Twitter - dotcomgroup
actnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 02:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

...aside from which, the current owner does not appear to have continued offering the same g&s for which the TM was originally obtained. Nevertheless, the TM owner was perfectly entitled to dispose of the domain name by selling it to the current owner, and it does not appear that the current owner was attempting to appropriate any third party's goodwill in acquiring the domain name.
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Domain Buyer
 
DaddyHalbucks's Avatar
 
Name: Hal
Last Online: 11-18-2009 11:20 AM
iTrader: (57)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,730
DNF$: 120,139
Location: Las Vegas, USA
Country:


Get a legitimate use ASAP!

This is not legal advice and I am not a lawyer.
__________________

www.ParkingCash.com
<==Click here

www.RingtoneCash.com
<==and here
DaddyHalbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com