Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    PeterMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,627
    DNF$
    24,614
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    24,614
    Donate  

    Someone used my contact information on a TM infringing domain...

    I just got a C & D letter about it...

    I never registered the name, never bought it, never even saw it before but sure enough, my name and contact information is in the Whois...

    I am emailing them and the registrar right now and I know this will be cleared up but it is a strange thing to see...

    Anyone heard of this before?

  2. #2
    Devil Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,203
    DNF$
    12,930
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    12,930
    Donate  
    Looks like a setup!

  3. #3
    GenericDomainMarket.com
    EG.domains's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,696
    DNF$
    1,878
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,878
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Devil Dog View Post
    Looks like a setup!
    Agreed.
    DotTV.org for sale

    Generic & Premium Domains for sale!

  4. #4
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    PeterMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,627
    DNF$
    24,614
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    24,614
    Donate  
    really? So what should I do?

  5. #5
    GenericDomainMarket.com
    EG.domains's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,696
    DNF$
    1,878
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,878
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by elivate View Post
    really? So what should I do?
    Do what you were doing ..

    Quote Originally Posted by elivate
    I am emailing them and the registrar right now and I know this will be cleared up but it is a strange thing to see...
    DotTV.org for sale

    Generic & Premium Domains for sale!

  6. #6
    Devil Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,203
    DNF$
    12,930
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    12,930
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by elivate View Post
    really? So what should I do?
    Hmm, I'd personally get with the registrar of that name and find out who the real owner is. I mean, they had to pay for it one way or another, cc, paypal, check or something.

  7. #7
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    PeterMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,627
    DNF$
    24,614
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    24,614
    Donate  
    ok, thanks, I have done that, I guess I was thinking that you meant that the email was a scam or something... But the email looks legit...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    940
    DNF$
    5,250
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,250
    Donate  
    even the email on the whois is your email address?

  9. #9
    fab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Elad
    Posts
    5,044
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    33,891
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    33,891
    Donate  
    I don't know why you should be worried about a domain you never registered. When you register a name you can put anything in whois. I would just write back to them that you don't own the domain, have access to it, and in any way affiliated with it.

  10. #10
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    PeterMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,627
    DNF$
    24,614
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    24,614
    Donate  
    OK, got to the bottom of this... I still don't fully understand it but It was a .ca domain and I had picked one up from a drop that had been owned previously by this person... To make a long story short the information was not properly updated by CIRA and somehow I am now listed as the technical contact for EVERY one of this persons domains... Crazy... My registrar is fixing it now...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com