

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict
Country: | Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? An outfit, which I believe is Russian based, is registering adult domains using my whois details and is using them to peddle medical drugs. I also have reason to believe that they are using all these names to send spam (although I still in the process of trying to prove this as I haven't actually received any myself). The registrar for these domains won't suspend any of these names (which contain my name, address and partial telephone number) unless I can give them evidence of any spam coming from individual domains - which is going to prove extremely difficult. The email address for these names leads to Moscow. What can I do? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks. |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Paul Rogers Last Online: 11-17-2009 11:15 PM iTrader: (10) Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,251
DNF$: 0 Location: UK
Country: | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? What Registrar?
__________________ Get your first month free at hostgator |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) | |
| DNF Addict
Country: | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? Quote:
If Directi doesn't do anything about it, file a complaint here... http://reports.internic.net/cgi/regi...lem-report.cgi Good luck - Rob | |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict
Country: | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? This really is a horrible scenario. If this isn't resolved immediately, I think you should put up a page somewhere explaining exactly what is happening. The purpose of the explanation would be so that the anti-spam activist groups wouldn't take your personal information and make your life miserable. They've done that to spammers before and if they thought you were doing it - they'd target you also. BTW, how did you find out that these names were being registered with your info? Is all of the whois info including the email yours? Maybe you could request a domain transfer from another registrar and get the names. |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict
Country: | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? My email address isn't on the whois of the domains. I found all this out as my name and address was posted on a blog calling me an international spammer to be avoided - the blog is being syndicated all over the internet, so I am not a happy man at the moment. I will try contacting directi.com. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 10:37 AM iTrader: (25) Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,788
DNF$: 174 Location: New Jersey | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? Take your drivers liscence with your information and fax them to the registrar and tell them they are your domain names that have been hijacked. You should be able to get the domain names this way.
__________________ Legal Help Forum |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Gold Lifetime Member | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? Check to see if you're not already in a spam list - http://www.spamhaus.org If you're in the list as a person or as a domain name owner then follow the removal procedure, or if urgent send inquiry to project-admin <at> spamhaus.org directly describing your case. |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Last Online: Yesterday 05:22 PM iTrader: (18) Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,356
DNF$: 4,947 Location: lost in the amish country....
Country: | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? Ed, you may get a few friendly forum members to complain to ICANN about these domains having a fake whois (which is againsts ICANN rules and the domains will be suspended)
__________________ check it out : BenefitAuction.com |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Last Online: Yesterday 09:17 PM iTrader: (9) Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,363
DNF$: 465 Location: nurv.com
Country: | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? That would be nice if you could take the domains. That would teach them to try that again. :-D So if somebody uses bad WHOIS can you get the name transfered to you? Or just suspended. Either way would help I guess.
__________________ ► Does your website need the NURV ® touch? ► StephenKing.net - Stephen King Unofficial Resource & Fan Site! |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) | ||
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Dave Zan Last Online: 11-12-2009 09:55 PM iTrader: (1) Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? Quote:
one spam complaint without even asking them to dispute it. However, DirectI might also ask for proof of such. Quote:
can report it for such and the registrar might delete it if not corrected timely. On the side, I might post in my blog about an extreme case of that I was just told about. I'm just hesitant due to the possibility someone might exploit it.
__________________ Vidi, Vici, Veni! | ||
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict
Country: | Re: Someone using my whois details to register adult names -what can I do? I wrote to directi and they are giving the russians 15 days to sort out their whois info before the domains are suspended. I have found several more names that I will be giving to them as well. With regards to the blogger who is making these accusations against me, I posted a reply on their blog and it was immediately deleted by them. I then sent them a detailed run down of the true situation via email and I have received no response. I have also contacted their host sixapart.com, but again have received no response after several days even though the blogger is breaking their TOS agreement. |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |