Well it seems like they are selling names till 15 years, I'm wondering what are they planning to do when all of these customers start to sue them.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I was referred to starregistry.com from a friend who spend $500+ in registering his wifes name to a star... i was seconds away from purchasing one for my mother today, when i noticed on google that starregistry.com has no rights to sell names!
it appears starregistry.com is a scam, they claim they have the rights to name stars ! this is not true!
just google them and you will find
http://www.naic.edu/~gibson/starnames/isr_news.html
http://www.wired.com/techbiz/media/news/2001/12/49345
http://www.bankrate.com/brm/news/advice/20041130a1.asp
and more
Well it seems like they are selling names till 15 years, I'm wondering what are they planning to do when all of these customers start to sue them.
Social Bookmarking
I should correct something, it seems like they are founded in 1979 so that makes 30 years. And the wired.com article says that they sold 1 million certificates. People should sue them immediately otherwise they are not going to stop selling those pointless papers. I'm sorry for your friend, too.
Social Bookmarking
I did this about 25 years ago as a gift... I think it was like $25 but the certificate was cool looking!
For a nominal fee, I will enter on my official registry of dust bunnies under my couch, the name of your choice, and send you a certificate attesting to the dust bunny which has been named for you.
I am also considering expanding the registy to include the blades of grass in my yard, and the hairs in my beard.
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
I don't think they are doing anything illegal.
Read their FAQ:
http://starregistry.com/faq.cfm
# Q: Am I buying the star?
# A: No. We do not own the star, so we cannot sell it to you.
This is like adopting the star. This star is associated with that special someone. It is something you can point at to know that there is something special out there for you.
# Q: Will the scientific community recognize my star name?
# A: No. We are a private company that provides Gift Packages. Astronomers will not recognize your name because your name is published only in our Star catalog. We periodically print a book called Your Place in the Cosmos © which lists the stars that we have named.
Last edited by denny007; 03-25-2009 at 09:24 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
ThankYouDHL.com
That was more or less my point.I don't think they are doing anything illegal.
The relevant question of fact is whether their advertising is deceptive.
But, I can charge whatever I want for people to enroll in John Berryhill's Registry of Beard Hairs, or anything else.
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
Bookmarks