 | Welcome to Dnforum.com
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast and simple so please, join our community today!
If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. |  |
03-31-2008, 07:56 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | High Traffic Domains
Last Online: Today 04:16 PM Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,344
DNF$: 2,971 Location: www | Stolen content - images - text - What can I do? Hello,
I found out via google that a guy has stolen my entire website including images text and other content. This makes me so angry.
After some research I found another domain which this guy own (The domain with the stolen content has whois protection)
This guy name is : Peter Dixon (Could be a fake name) and he is located in Sydney, Austraila.
I sent him a email, but of course no answer. What can I do now?
The domain is bought via melbourneit.com, should I contact them or thats pointless?
The domain is hosted at:
Name Server.......... ns1.ipowerweb.net
Name Server.......... ns1.ipowerdns.com
Would it be any good to contact the hosting company? Would they do anything about it?
I understand its hard to do anything about it but I cant just sit here an watch some thief making profits on my stuff. Makes me really angry.
Any suggestions welcome,
Thanks!
Jens
__________________ |
| |
03-31-2008, 08:06 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Account Terminated
Last Online: 06-19-2008 12:08 PM Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,891
DNF$: 3,284 Location: my home is where my bank account is
Country: | yea, hosting companies deal with that- complain copyrights, i got mine domain removed quickly after guy complained i stole the images  |
| |
03-31-2008, 08:26 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | High Traffic Domains
Last Online: Today 04:16 PM Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,344
DNF$: 2,971 Location: www | Thanks, i guess it cant hurt to write them an email.
__________________ |
| |
03-31-2008, 08:28 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Cyberspace warrior
Name: Kate Last Online: Today 05:14 PM Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,753
DNF$: 11,087 Location: Wonderland
Country: | What you can do:
send a C&D to the the domain holder
at the same time send a complaint to registrar and webhost and include some evidence.
Last but not least: name and shame 
__________________ ShopNames.com - Quality domain names at discount rates PM me for a SedoPro endorsement code |
| |
03-31-2008, 08:57 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | DNF Addict
Last Online: Today 02:09 PM Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,178
DNF$: 4,256 Location: New Jersey
Country: | You may want to contact the hosting company with a Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) takedown notice.
__________________ Now Taking offers: Eigentlich.com | Suzy.net | Clown.org | abdomen.us | accurate.net |
| |
03-31-2008, 10:43 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 07:10 AM Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 650
DNF$: 324 Location: Ruuz.com | |
| |
04-01-2008, 01:28 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | DNF Addict
Last Online: 07-17-2008 06:05 PM Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,099
DNF$: 4,731 Location: Columbia, MD | Make sure you get screen shots of everything first.
__________________ Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how.... |
| |
04-01-2008, 01:31 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Evolve your business
Last Online: Today 05:26 PM Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 17,580
DNF$: 10,083 Location: Universal Citizen
Country: | Hire an Aussie with a baseball bat 
__________________ Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development |
| |
04-01-2008, 01:59 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Philadelphia Lawyer
Last Online: Today 04:04 PM Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,320
DNF$: 2,959 | Ipowerweb receives and acts on DMCA notifications. http://www.ipower.com/legal/legal_dmca.bml
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. |
| |
04-01-2008, 03:28 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 02:36 AM Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,798
DNF$: 124 Location: Elad
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by jberryhill | It would be nice to know, if they really do what they say! |
| |
04-01-2008, 06:06 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Philadelphia Lawyer
Last Online: Today 04:04 PM Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,320
DNF$: 2,959 | Quote: |
It would be nice to know, if they really do what they say!
| My experience with them is that they do.
You have to understand how the DMCA works though...
If the alleged infringer provides a DMCA counter-notice, then the host doesn't have to do anything.
The basic idea of the DMCA is that a hosting provider is caught in the middle when it comes to copyright claims.
Accordingly, they are relieved from liability if they follow the procedure:
1. provide a mechanism to receive complaints of the form required by the Act.
2. provide a mechanism to receive disputes of complaints from the customer.
3. if the customer doesn't respond to the DMCA notification, take down the material.
4. if the customer does respond to the DMCA notification leave the material up.
The hosting provider is not put in the position of being a judge, but merely in determining that there is, or is not, a dispute between the customer and the copyright claimant. It also forces both parties to produce sworn statements which either party may use against the other in court.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. |
| |
04-05-2008, 08:18 AM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | High Traffic Domains
Last Online: Today 04:16 PM Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,344
DNF$: 2,971 Location: www | Thanks everyone.
No reply so far so I moving a step forward.
Can anyone from Australia please verfiy and check if this info is valid:
Admin Name........... Peter Dixon
Admin Address........ 2 Gunyah Place
Admin Address........ Avalon
Admin Address........ Sydney
Admin Address........ 2107
Admin Address........ NSW
Admin Address........ AUSTRALIA
If this is a kid maybe its just enough giving him a call. If any can help me out with this please let me know :
Thanks!
__________________ |
| |
04-06-2008, 12:25 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
|
Last Online: Today 02:36 AM Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,798
DNF$: 124 Location: Elad
Country: | Have you tried sending the web-host an e-mail as suggested? |
| |
04-06-2008, 12:30 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | Hayabusa Pilot
Name: Dale Hubbard Last Online: Today 04:16 PM Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,920
DNF$: 3,534 Location: Exeter, England
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimva Thanks everyone.
No reply so far so I moving a step forward.
Can anyone from Australia please verfiy and check if this info is valid:
Admin Name........... Peter Dixon
Admin Address........ 2 Gunyah Place
Admin Address........ Avalon
Admin Address........ Sydney
Admin Address........ 2107
Admin Address........ NSW
Admin Address........ AUSTRALIA
If this is a kid maybe its just enough giving him a call. If any can help me out with this please let me know :
Thanks! |
Looks like it: http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=e...cr%3DcountryAU
__________________ UK DROP LISTS, EPP/DAC HOSTING, DOMAIN CATCHING SOFTWARE and £20 BOOKED CATCHES: New site! DropSystem.co.uk! |
| |
04-06-2008, 12:57 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
| | High Traffic Domains
Last Online: Today 04:16 PM Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,344
DNF$: 2,971 Location: www | Quote:
Originally Posted by fab Have you tried sending the web-host an e-mail as suggested? | Yes I did no reply so far. Quote:
Originally Posted by aZooZa | Thanks!
Hopefully the info isnt fake.
Need to know if the address is valid or not.
__________________ |
| |
04-09-2008, 05:48 PM
|
#16 (permalink)
| | DNF Newbie
Last Online: 06-19-2008 12:22 AM Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
DNF$: 252 Location: Washington, DC
Country: | While it may not be that useful in this case, with the Australian infringer, I really recommend that folks formally register copyrights of their original material with the US Copyright Office. It doesn't take that long, the cost is minimal, and there are some real benefits to having a registration, such as statutory damages for infringement.
__________________ Eric Menhart - CyberLaw P.C. http://www.cyberlaw.pro
Remember: Any comments are "general" in nature, and should not be relied upon as legal advice. |
| |
04-17-2008, 09:52 AM
|
#17 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Michael Last Online: 07-14-2008 08:09 PM Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 21
DNF$: 7,174 Location: Australia
Country: | Hope this helps Gidday mate,
Had a look around for you and found this info.
Your Search:dixon, gunyah place, avalon, new south wales.
Results:1-1 of 1 listing found.WeatherDarwin
34°C
More Weather
Search results
Dixon N 2 Gunyah Pl Avalon 2107 (02) 9973 4007
This is from the local White Pages for the area.
Not everyone down here is dodgy.
Hope it helps.
Namemojo |
| |
04-17-2008, 10:12 AM
|
#18 (permalink)
| | High Traffic Domains
Last Online: Today 04:16 PM Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,344
DNF$: 2,971 Location: www | Thanks Namemojo.
So the info looks valid. Guess that guy is busted.
Not sure what to do next. Maybe a phone call is enough.
__________________ |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| | | | All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com
|