before it was committed to writing or text, seems it was 60K since they mention 50K later
seems the mark had some old connections to another company and they only assumed the rigths via bankruptcy
only at wipo could a decision like this be made
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!In this morning's "Domain Decisions" mailing from wipo.int:
http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2004-0065.html
In the text of the decision, under 4. Factual Background, it says:
1. What's a "pretextual bid"?...the Complainants made “a pretextual bid of $60,000,000†for the Domain Name. (Complaint, p.8.) A negotiation period followed, during which the Complainants and Respondent traded various offers and counteroffers.
2. Is the sixty million dollar amount a typo? If not, why wouldn't the respondent accept the offer?
before it was committed to writing or text, seems it was 60K since they mention 50K later
seems the mark had some old connections to another company and they only assumed the rigths via bankruptcy
only at wipo could a decision like this be made
Here's what the respondent said:
"Finally, the Respondent contends that it does possess a legitimate interest in the Domain Name. Namely, the Respondent asserts that its principal, Mr. Andrew Dorrani, intended to start a business in credit repair. The Domain Name was to be used in association with this credit repair business. The Panel takes notice that the Domain Name currently resolves to a web page that includes the slogan “Terminate all your debts 4 life and 4 ever.â€
That's got to be the lamest, most worthless claim of legitimate rights I've seen, and I've seen lots of bad ones.
Dan Norder
Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more
Naw.... musclenfitness.com was much lamer.That's got to be the lamest, most worthless claim of legitimate rights I've seen, and I've seen lots of bad ones.
Thing is, the Complainant didn't own rights either.
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
Bookmarks