Notify their Hosting Company as well.
Originally Posted by jondolar
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I own phpcart.net including the scripts. There is another website that is using much of my site content and is selling my script.
http://www. cartman. nethut. no
What do I do? I notified the company that handles their payments. Hopefully, they'll cancel the account.
This totally sucks when a potential client pointed out the similarities.
What else can I do?
Thanks,
George
Notify their Hosting Company as well.
Originally Posted by jondolar
Send one email to the site owner (To) and CC the Hosting company, the payment processor and the upstream(s). Might throw in the domain registrar as well just to add a little spice, but they generally wouldn't do anything.
Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,click here - Automated Signup!
gotta love the comment on the infringer's site:
"!! WARNING !!
Despite the fact that CartMan is copyrighted laterial, a number of people have taken the liberty to change the code and to distribute copies without the author's consent. Unneccessary to say, such action is illegal. Take care, and note that additional code have been added to some of these CartMan clones, code that could potentially endanger you and/or your customers. Please support the continued development of CartMan, and purchase your copy here. Thank you!"
should also say "Support the continued ripping of PHPCart"
I thought Cartman was the chubby guy in South Park.
This article was posted on /. last night. I haven't read it, but it might be helpful to you:
http://www.xequte.com/fraud/
Good luck.
Sam
--
I'm just waiting 'til the shine wears off.
Great story, Sam.
Yes, thanks for the post Sam. I've sent a few emails and now have to fax a signed document to his ecommerce provider. Hopefully, that will slow him down.
very nice one!Originally Posted by FLe8
thanks for sharing it!
Send him an official letter (snail mail that makes him sign for it) saying that if he doesn't take down his website by such date that he will be sued. It will probably scare the guy enough to make him close up shop.
from the .no domain, it would indicate they are likely in Norway. International borders make this type of situation difficult at best. I doubt you can even send registered or certified mail to Norway from other countries.Originally Posted by jojoyohan
Before sending out anything I would suggest getting all your ducks lined up. This would include amongst other things:
- Screenshots of any offending material
- Printouts of any offending material
- Any contact info on the site (email, phone, fax, address)
- Whois info of the domain
- IP address of host and nameservers
- Current payment processor (if paypal, the paypal email address)
Good luck!
Did you just email them or file a DMCA complaint?I notified the company that handles their payments. Hopefully, they'll cancel the account.
http://www.digitalriver.com/corporate/dmca_notice.shtml
Thanks DigitalB. I emailed them and got a response back from them telling me to fill out their form and fax it in.
Bookmarks