Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    domaingenius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,238
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,811
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,811
    Donate  

    Threat of TM when acutally no TM ?

    In the UK there is a tort of threating a trade mark action when the person making the threat does not have a trade mark. Is it the same in the US ?. Reason I ask is that I have received an email saying they have a trade mark (which they dont) etc etc and usual BS.

    DG

    ---------- Post added at 10:24 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:23 AM ----------

    Sorry about typos ,trying to type too fast.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,371
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    10,980
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    10,980
    Donate  
    You can't really determine whether they have a trademark or not. That would have to be adjudicated. Just because it isn't registered doesn't mean they don't have one. Google "common law trademark".

    Bottom line, you probably have no recourse for them claiming a trademark and threatening action.
    PaleoDirectory.com - Paleo, Primal, and alternative health, fitness and diet resources.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    domaingenius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,238
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,811
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,811
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by 2gajgops View Post
    You can't really determine whether they have a trademark or not. That would have to be adjudicated. Just because it isn't registered doesn't mean they don't have one. Google "common law trademark".

    Bottom line, you probably have no recourse for them claiming a trademark and threatening action.
    Thanks for the tip on that, as is slightly different to UK laws. I have seen this now on Google,that assists;
    "Geographic limitation of common law marks:

    Common law trademark rights are limited to the geographic area in which the mark is used. Thus, if a coffee blend is sold under the name BLASTER in California only, the trademark rights to that name exist only in California. If another coffee retailer begins to market a different blend in New York under the same name (assuming they had no knowledge of the California company), then there would be no trademark infringement. However, if the New York company attempted to sell their coffee blend nation-wide, they would discover that the California company's common law rights to the mark would prevent them from entering the California market"

    DG

    ---------- Post added at 02:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 PM ----------

    Things have moved onwards just now. The company is registered in Delaware . It is now saying it does not have a trade mark, but has allegedly filed for one but it does not yet show anyway on the USPTO database . The filing anyway was subsequent to the regging of the domain. The actual company was registered before the domain was regged, but they did not start trading until after the regging . From my reading they cannot use an ,contended, Common Law trade mark under the Lanham Act or in any Federal procedure ,so they will be limited to the UDRP I guess ?.

    DG

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,371
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    10,980
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    10,980
    Donate  
    It is likely they would go the UDRP route. It is always hard to evaluate these things without knowing all the particulars, but it sounds like you are on pretty solid ground. But, being right doesn't always mean you will win. Any negotiation for this name, or are they just trying to bully you off of it?
    PaleoDirectory.com - Paleo, Primal, and alternative health, fitness and diet resources.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    domaingenius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,238
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,811
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,811
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by 2gajgops View Post
    It is likely they would go the UDRP route. It is always hard to evaluate these things without knowing all the particulars, but it sounds like you are on pretty solid ground. But, being right doesn't always mean you will win. Any negotiation for this name, or are they just trying to bully you off of it?
    They are trying ti bully me out of it. I have now transferred the domain to UK Registrar so can claim UK jurisdiction and promised them if they issue UDRP then I will issue proceedings in
    UK and tie them in knots for 2 years or more.

    DG

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com