DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2003, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
DNF Regular
 
adill420's Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-09-2009 03:55 AM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 512
DNF$: 1,057

Send a message via AIM to adill420 Send a message via MSN to adill420 Send a message via Yahoo to adill420

TM domain..can't use it for forum?

I have reciently acquired BMWRacing.com and setup a forum there. What can BMW do? Also what can I do with the domain so it doesn't piss BMW off or should i contact them? I had plans on developing the site for information about BMW and a setup a forum thats about it.

Any input is appreciated. Thanks
adill420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 01-25-2003, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Account Terminated
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 05-20-2003 10:22 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,898
DNF$: 1,002
Location: Northeast


Thank you for taking my advice and posting this domain ... and your inquiry here in the "Legal issues" section! You'll be happy you did, once you begin to receive some input from the membership, and our esteemed legal 'friends. Good move.
Good Luck.
CoolHost.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
TrafficMonsterRRR's Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-27-2009 01:26 AM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,415
DNF$: 2,340
Location: nevaeH emaN niamoD


I think you should ask:

What does the BMW racing team call itself? and,
Where does the team hang out website-wise?

Granted BMW is a strong TM. However, if you have not knowingly registered a confusingly similar to a TM use of the TM word (again, what does the BMW racing team call itself is key), then you may have a prayer.

.. i.e if the BMW racing team called itself "BMW Racing" and had a well established site "BMW-Racing.com", you are at high risk of loosing the name at UDRP.

Good luck. It seems some "BMW" site owners are getting away with the word in their domain names, perhaps the lawyers could illuminate. It seems dealers can use it, for example.
__________________
Wholesale Domain reg. http://www.flynames.com -Free eNom Reseller Acc w/ $8.99 Retail:24hrNames.com --- $7.50 Reseller Acc www.NamesRus.net

Last edited by TrafficMonsterRRR; 01-25-2003 at 04:44 PM..
TrafficMonsterRRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Regular
 
adill420's Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-09-2009 03:55 AM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 512
DNF$: 1,057

Send a message via AIM to adill420 Send a message via MSN to adill420 Send a message via Yahoo to adill420

CoolHost: Thanks for the advice.

I thought that if you don't use a TM domain for commercial purpose there should be no problem? The only reason I registered BMWRacing.com was because I had plans on developing a forum (regardless of how many forums are out there). Kindly let me know. Thanks
adill420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 09:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 02-11-2004 01:21 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 170
DNF$: 242


Read: http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2000-1172.html and http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2000-1688.html and http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2001-1350.html
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-13-2009 03:36 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 590
DNF$: 105
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Send a message via ICQ to dtobias

If you're intending a noncommercial forum use, then perhaps .org or .info would be more appropriate (and easier to defend) than .com?
dtobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

Also read:

http://www.arbforum.com/domains/decisions/110830.htm
The Complainant has argued that customers are misled or confused when they are routed to the Respondent's site, because the Respondent is not an authorized BMW dealer. But the Respondent has not presented any evidence to the effect that Internet users automatically associate a domain name that combines the mark BMW with a geographic term with an authorized BMW dealer. Furthermore, the Respondent's site is very clear with respect to the nature of its business, so, prima facie, it would appear to this Panel that confusion is unlikely.
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 03:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 02-11-2004 01:21 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 170
DNF$: 242


That decision illustrates that the outcome in a UDRP proceeding may change depending on the Panelist assigned to the case. For example, cases w/Diane Cabell frequently turn out differently than cases deciced by Carolyn Marks Johnson. I think this case might have been different with another panelist, so don't take too much comfort in the fact that BMW lost this one.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 10:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

What is interesting about those two is to look for decisions where Cabell and Johnson were on a panel together. In those situations, it appears that Cabell decides to sit on her hands.
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 01:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User - Must Upgrade To Post
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-17-2003 09:02 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 467
DNF$: 986
Location: Mexico


>cases deciced by Carolyn Marks Johnson.

AVOID HER LIKE THE PLAGUE is a saying that springs to mind.
Drewbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com