DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2006, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-03-2006 04:31 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
DNF$: 106
Location: USA


TM issue? Please help!

I could use some help on a possible TM issue in a domain name. I've registered some domain names that are comprised of a large international corporation's name plus a geographic location. A very close example (not actually what i've registered) would be DellCalifornia.com or SonyLosAngeles.com. My domain names are parked and i've done nothing with them (no attempts to sell or develop). If the large corporation suddenly becomes interested in my registered domain names (as I suspect they may), do I stand to lose these domains on a trademark issue because part of the domain name contains their name? This may be a silly question, but i ask because i've noticed that many domain names like this are for sale on various websites without apparent legal action by this particular company (or other similar companies for that matter). thanks, whoiss
whoiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 05-20-2006, 02:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
Ashaw's Avatar
 
Name: Andrew Shaw
Last Online: Today 03:07 AM
iTrader: (99)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,460
DNF$: 0
Location: Maryland
Country:

Send a message via AIM to Ashaw Send a message via MSN to Ashaw

Re: TM issue? Please help!

Domain names that infrindge on TM's are always at risk. Sony "for example" is tradmarked. Anything with the word Sony in it is infrindging on sony's TM. No matter how you use it, if you are registering the name to gain from a TM that is already ested, you are infridging on the tradmark.

Take for example the following POSSIBLE infrindgments:

Sonyness.com
sonie.net
soney.org
slony.fm
sonybaloney.be
sssooonnnyyyy.info
sonygoods.whatever

If you do not have sony's permission, you always stand the chance of having it taken away. Many people take the risk, and many people dont get a C&D, but its possible.
__________________
Domain Research Tool
Save $120 off your order with this link!
Find Traffic Domain names with ease!
My Countdown Counting down to: California
179 days 10 hours 14 minutes
Ashaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 09:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-03-2006 04:31 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
DNF$: 106
Location: USA


Re: TM issue? Please help!

Ashaw, thanks for the reply. How did you know that the word "Sony" was tm'd? I've looked at the uspto site and it appears that there are trademarks for stylized versions of my domain's name using a certain font and color, but i'm not sure if that includes the company's name in any other font. Should I assume that every large company has their own name tm'd? The name of the company is a very recognizable family name, similar to the Dell example i mentioned...

Also interestingly enough <www.sony.com> , and <sony.com> are listed as dead TM's by the uspto.....
whoiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
aZooZa's Avatar
 
Name: Dale Hubbard
Last Online: Today 04:07 PM
iTrader: (45)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,876
DNF$: 5,873
Location: Exeter, UK
Country:

Send a message via MSN to aZooZa Send a message via Skype™ to aZooZa

Re: TM issue? Please help!

You betcha "Sony" is trademarked in every way, shape and form. Depends what you're doing with the domain you have. For example, paypalsucks.com is still going strong. And is "PayPal" a TM? You betcha. Are the folks at eBay litigious? You betcha.
__________________
UK Drop Catching Services: Dropsystem.co.uk
New! Canada TBR Drop Catching: Dropping.ca
New! QUALITY MiniSites: NOTsoMINI.com
aZooZa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 01:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
DNQuest.com's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-23-2008 04:35 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,100
DNF$: 4,835
Location: Columbia, MD

Send a message via Yahoo to DNQuest.com

Re: TM issue? Please help!

First, if you really want to understand TMs, please please please use the search feature on this site for "TM" and "trademark"

Secondly,

"How did you know that the word "Sony" was tm'd?"

I know you did not ask that question??????? you have to be kidding me that you do not know Sony is TMed. TMs are expressed names or logos that is identified with a company or service. A TM DOES NOT have to be registered to be a trademark.
__________________
Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how....
DNQuest.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-14-2009 07:30 AM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 199
DNF$: 34


Re: TM issue? Please help!

be careful with TMs, you could also be obligated to pay a big amount of money after you get a c&d letter and transfer the domain over to them.
sealover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-03-2006 04:31 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
DNF$: 106
Location: USA


Re: TM issue? Please help!

DNquest, Thank you for your help. I checked searched the TM info and if was a bit helpful, but i'm still interested in learning more about this. I purchased my first domain ever a few weeks ago. This isn't a business I was expecting to be in and may never buy another DN again, but a unique opportunity arose, so I jumped...

You are right that i should assume that sony was TM'd, but how do you KNOW that it (or any other company) is TM'd...that's what i'm getting at. I'm guessing that i'll have to assume that any company with an internationally recognized name is a possible TM issue....probably safer that way...

I just stopped mid-sentence and did a search on this site for the company in question. guess i should have done that first...There were a number of members of this forum that have sites with this company name (including for sale dn)...that makes me feel a little better about this...

Thanks again, whoiss (by the way, i got the nickaname whois(s) in '87...can i sue WHOIS???? i can prove it with a tattoo..... ; )
whoiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 05:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
DNQuest.com's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-23-2008 04:35 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,100
DNF$: 4,835
Location: Columbia, MD

Send a message via Yahoo to DNQuest.com

Re: TM issue? Please help!

Yes, it is safe to assume if you register a domain with a name of a company that you know, it s TMed (that is the meaning of a TM).

As far as using a tatto and proof.. you should see my windows tattoo lol
__________________
Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how....
DNQuest.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spybot.biz TM Issue? domaindirk Domain Name Legal Issues 11 08-12-2004 03:21 PM
Bick.us and Biostat.us - Discussing TM issues hhunterjr Domain Name Legal Issues 7 02-28-2003 10:57 PM
Auto Manufacturer's Name for Dealers? TM issue? cbattles Domain Name Legal Issues 5 12-30-2002 08:38 PM
Is it a TM issue? scottatmu Domain Name Legal Issues 9 12-28-2002 11:44 AM
need an urgent help about a TM issue please help!! Gold Cafe 38 06-08-2002 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com