It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2004, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
sellinbiz's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2006 03:12 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 124
DNF$: 299


Tm Ns8

-
__________________
-

Last edited by sellinbiz; 09-06-2006 at 09:33 PM.
sellinbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-2004, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldbie
 
Mr Webname's Avatar
 
Name: N one
Last Online: 01-22-2007 05:03 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,014
DNF$: 1,843
Location: USA
Country:


Re: Tm Ns8

http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfield...h=Submit+Query
Mr Webname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
sellinbiz's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2006 03:12 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 124
DNF$: 299


Re: Tm Ns8

Found it thanks. Looks like NS8 is trademarked.
__________________
-
sellinbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Name: Sam Pfanstiel
Last Online: Today 08:07 AM
iTrader: (91)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,456
DNF$: 328
Location: USA
Country:


Re: Tm Ns8

I am not a lawyer (as you would otherwise soon deduce), but it looks to me that the only TMs for NS8 are both "Service Marks". Doesn't this denote the drawing, and not the letters themselves? Aren't there some trademarks (i.e., drawings) that do not guarantee their owners use to the corresponding domain names? Can anyone clarify the differnet types of TMs -- and their domain name enforceability?

Also, the attorney on record with the USPTO is Jason Rhodes. While this company may employ multiple attorneys' offices, I would be a bit leary since the letter above is apparently signed "Cliff". In other words, wouldn't that be an interesting scam -- to scare people into giving up perfectly usable domains due to non-existing trademark issues, or trademark conflicts that are unenforceable. Just thinking out loud on this.
__________________
Sam Pfanstiel
President, Diverge, Inc.
Visit my latest domain sale
diverge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 04-18-2008 03:27 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 203
DNF$: 372
Location: Florida


Re: Tm Ns8

Quote:
Originally Posted by sellinbiz
Found it thanks. Looks like NS8 is trademarked.
"NS8" may be a common-law mark, but it is not a registered trademark in the United States.

Go back to uspto.gov, look up the mark again, and click the "Check Status" button.

You'll see:
Filing Date: 2004-06-01
Newly filed application, not yet assigned to an examining attorney.
First Use in Commerce Date: 2004-04-00


If you really want the name, you might check with one of the lawyers here to learn whether your use of "ns8.com" will infringe their mark.
Ovicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
sellinbiz's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2006 03:12 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 124
DNF$: 299


Re: Tm Ns8

Update: They (whoever Cliff represents) offered $500 each for a total of $1,000. Not sure what they mean by $500 each I only own NS8 .com.
__________________
-
sellinbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 07:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
domaindirk's Avatar
 
Last Online: 05-04-2006 03:31 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 884
DNF$: 251
Country:


Re: Tm Ns8

I am not a lawyer, but it appears that you registered the domain well before they filed for the trademark. The "first use in commerce" could be a point contention, since it is the same month/year that you also registered the domain.
domaindirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 04:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 07-16-2008 10:18 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 756
DNF$: 1,232
Location: Madison, WI


Re: Tm Ns8

Servicemarks do not mean that it's a drawing. Service mark means that its a business offering services instead of products. It otherwise works like a trademark.

OK, the deal here is just like it is on pretty much every thread here. It's only a trademark violation if three conditions are met:

1) Confusingly similar to a trademark. It appears they are trying to establish one. They may already have one and are just now registering it, or they may not have one at all. hard to tell. So let's just for the sake of argument say they have one and move on.

2) No legitimate purpose. NS8 could have all sorts of uses. Even if they do have a trademark, you can still have a legitimate use in some field other than the area for which they use their trademark. So if they have NS8 for, say, financial services (I didn;t bother to look up their application, so that may not be it), you can use it for some other field. A trademark on a word doesn't give them the right to prevent anyone else from using that word for every business out there, just ones competing with them.

3) Registered in bad faith. They are going to have a very difficult time proving you registered the name knowingly to infringe upon them.

So, basically, from a glance, and I am not a lawyer and blah blah blah, this whole threat of filing an ICANN dispute is nonsense, because they can't prove 2 out of 3 of the things they need to and the other one is debatable. It's apparent they either have no clue, are just trying to scare you into selling, or both.

If you want to sell for the price they offer (seems low to me, idiot emailing you probably got paid more than that in the time it took to write that), agree to, otherwise tell them that you have no intention of using it in a way that would infringe on their trademark and so there is no conflict.

That's my advice anyway.
__________________
Dan Norder
Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more

Last edited by namedropper; 08-14-2004 at 04:37 PM. Reason: Added word "no" so it read how I meant it instead of opposite
namedropper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 04:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Name: Sam Pfanstiel
Last Online: Today 08:07 AM
iTrader: (91)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,456
DNF$: 328
Location: USA
Country:


Re: Tm Ns8

Quote:
Originally Posted by sellinbiz
Update: They (whoever Cliff represents) offered $500 each for a total of $1,000. Not sure what they mean by $500 each I only own NS8 .com.
This sounds VERY [p]fishy. I would definitlely hold off.
__________________
Sam Pfanstiel
President, Diverge, Inc.
Visit my latest domain sale
diverge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 04:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Oldbie
 
Mr Webname's Avatar
 
Name: N one
Last Online: 01-22-2007 05:03 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,014
DNF$: 1,843
Location: USA
Country:


Re: Tm Ns8

Thinks .... DNForum Appraisal thread ......
Quote:
"Appraisal for ns8.com please".
Quote:
"3-character names are of little value unless they mean something"
Quote:
"$25-50"
Quote:
"reg fee"
Quote:
"this is a three character name not a 3-letter name"
Quote:
"$500
Quote:
"Are you smoking something bud? Nobody will pay $500
Quote:
"I've reported your comments to the Mods
With apologies to sellinbiz for giving vent to my humour
All the best with the dispute/sale.
Mr Webname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2004, 11:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Acro.net Αdministrator
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-10-2008 10:14 PM
iTrader: (365)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,046
DNF$: 15,616
Location: Domainistan
Country:



Re: Tm Ns8

If you simply registered the name to use it for nameservers and you are not really in love with it, $500 is not a bad amount at all. It will let you sleep better.
__________________

Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2004, 11:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
sellinbiz's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2006 03:12 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 124
DNF$: 299


Re: Tm Ns8

Issue settled. Payment in escrow now. Probably could have pushed for more, but their counter offer was good enough for me

Thanks for the responses
__________________
-
sellinbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 01:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 07-16-2008 10:18 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 756
DNF$: 1,232
Location: Madison, WI


Re: Tm Ns8

Glad to see it worked out to the satisfaction of both sides.
__________________
Dan Norder
Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more
namedropper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains