It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2005, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
TheBest.com
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Name: George Kirikos
Last Online: Yesterday 10:54 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,123
DNF$: 1,646
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Thumbs up tmg.com UDRP

Prepare to be amazed -- tmg.com UDRP, no respondent reply....

http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2005-0161.html

The Respondent is Whois Privacy Protection Service Inc., Bellevue, Washington, United States of America.

And the anonymous proxy wins!

__________________
George Kirikos
Home Page
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-13-2005, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Jonathan's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 12:44 AM
iTrader: (52)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,316
DNF$: 524
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

That's really nice to see. Do you think the early 1995 reg date made the panel nicer to the 'respondent'?
Jonathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2005, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Kuwaiti UNIX Geek
 
Bashar's Avatar
 
Name: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi
Last Online: 09-21-2008 03:55 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 623
DNF$: 3,636
Location: Kuwait
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

and whois protection is removed now

amazing!
__________________
KuwaitNET Internet Services - www.KuwaitNET.net
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - C.E.O.
Kuwait's First Hosting Services Provider since 1997, an ICANN accredited Registrar
Bashar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2005, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Sarcle's Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-05-2008 05:08 PM
iTrader: (61)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,249
DNF$: 4,568
Location: Kansas City


Re: tmg.com UDRP

This sound's like they could start taking all are acroynoms. That is crap as it could mean anything.
__________________
Hide your affiliate links
Sarcle.com "Kein Mitleid Für Die Mehrheit"
Sarcle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2005, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Acro.net Αdministrator
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 12:40 AM
iTrader: (364)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18,979
DNF$: 10,867
Location: Domainistan
Country:



Re: tmg.com UDRP

God bless those weird Germans. They made my wallet fatter by 5 digits :-D
__________________

Acroplex.com Professional Web & Graphics development
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 07:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
DNF Regular
 
oberheimer's Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-02-2008 10:01 AM
iTrader: (9)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 592
DNF$: 422
Location: Sweden
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

Really nice to see. The germans are so greedy
__________________

---------------------------------------
BUYING LLL.com & Quality word.com
oberheimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 10:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
JEsports's Avatar
 
Name: John
Last Online: 08-21-2008 10:21 PM
iTrader: (76)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,906
DNF$: 944
Location: Alabama
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

"In weighing that assumption, the Panel notes first that Complainant is of course not the only entity in the world entitled to use those three letters in connection with an offering of goods or services, on the contrary, it is more than likely that many entities around the world could be entitled to use a three-letter abbreviation such as TMG"

I would EXPECT that to be the answer and was glad to see that it was upheld.
JEsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 11:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
DNF Regular
 
oberheimer's Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-02-2008 10:01 AM
iTrader: (9)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 592
DNF$: 422
Location: Sweden
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEsports
"In weighing that assumption, the Panel notes first that Complainant is of course not the only entity in the world entitled to use those three letters in connection with an offering of goods or services, on the contrary, it is more than likely that many entities around the world could be entitled to use a three-letter abbreviation such as TMG"

I would EXPECT that to be the answer and was glad to see that it was upheld.

Good point, let's say i got a 3 letter and 2 diffetent companies file a complaint (that it can be confused with their trademark)
__________________

---------------------------------------
BUYING LLL.com & Quality word.com
oberheimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 11:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Bishop
 
namestrands's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-16-2008 10:32 AM
iTrader: (109)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,804
DNF$: 2,115
Location: UK
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEsports
"In weighing that assumption, the Panel notes first that Complainant is of course not the only entity in the world entitled to use those three letters in connection with an offering of goods or services, on the contrary, it is more than likely that many entities around the world could be entitled to use a three-letter abbreviation such as TMG"

I would EXPECT that to be the answer and was glad to see that it was upheld.
That is so weird I lost a similar UDRP, where as several companies owned the trademark in different countries.. and yet NAF ruled against it.. even though pointed out this fact.

I will have to add this ruling to my case law file.. I think NAF are pro corporation..
__________________
Parked.com - The Valet Domain Parking That Pays
Offers Made Are Valid for 12 Hours from Post Time.
namestrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 12:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
888-MRDELETED
 
Mr. Deleted's Avatar
 
Name: Joseph Slabaugh
Last Online: Yesterday 02:35 PM
iTrader: (47)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,933
DNF$: 8
Location: youtube.com/mrdeleted
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

Registrant Contact:
The Marketing Group
Diane Feder
hmmm why did she use private whois? The Marketing Group sounds OK to use this domain, if she had no private whois, it may not have resulted in a wipo.
Mr. Deleted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 03:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Last Online: 07-10-2008 02:08 PM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,175
DNF$: 7,245
Location: Athens
Country:


Re: tmg.com UDRP

I see more and more people/companies using whois protection simply to avoid spam to their main email address. Nothing strange about that.
__________________
Seek... And you shall Find
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 AM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains