

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-19-2009 06:18 PM iTrader: (3) Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 74
DNF$: 10 Location: London
Country: | Trademark & Google AdSense I own photoshopsoftware.com. If I put up a photoshop site with google adsense, will I get in trouble because photoshop is a trademark name? Also, am I likely to get in trouble with adobe photoshop?
__________________ I'm buying parked domains making $2+ a month. Contact me if you have any to sell. |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Name: Scott Last Online: Today 01:37 PM iTrader: (137) Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,132
DNF$: 2,659 Location: 33143/04930
Country: | Yes.
__________________ All offers valid for 72 hours except running auctions. SJCParking.com | SFOOffsiteParking.com | LaGuardiaParking.net |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Marc J. Randazza Last Online: 11-16-2009 08:31 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 262
DNF$: 10 Location: San Diego | I would go further and say that you should drop that domain like a hot potato.
__________________ Marc J. Randazza The Legal Satyricon No post should be considered to be legal advice. |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-19-2009 06:18 PM iTrader: (3) Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 74
DNF$: 10 Location: London
Country: | ok, I get the picture, but I'm new to this so can someone elaborate. there are lots of websites around that have trademark names contained within them, but no-one seems to care. And is it wrong to have a trademark name in the dmain if you are reveiwing the product. It's obvious I'm not pretending to me photoshop. I don't understand the law in these cases so am just asking for an exlpanation. I'd be grateful if anyone can provide one.
__________________ I'm buying parked domains making $2+ a month. Contact me if you have any to sell. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| The Evil Mod Name: Ed Last Online: Today 03:40 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,322
DNF$: 216 Location: South Florida
Country: | It is all up to the TM owner - some don't care, some see it as free advertising, others are rather aggressive about defending their TMs. Your domain is clearly targeted towards their software and it is a TM. the company in question does have the right to file a WIPO against you and you'll have a hard time defending it (plus I think they can be rather aggressive with "protecting" their TM). Even if you have no ads and make no money from the domain, they can still (attempt to) take it from you. It is also about use - especially when it comes to generic terms. If you were very lucky and picked up Apple.com and used it to promote products in regards to the fruit (apple pie, apple tarts, apple cider, forums to discuss growing apple orchards, etc..) AND you kept anything computer related out of your ads there isn't a thing Apple (computers) could do about the TM.
__________________ Get a Parked.com account today! What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net I'm always looking for dog breed domains |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Name: Scott Last Online: Today 01:37 PM iTrader: (137) Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,132
DNF$: 2,659 Location: 33143/04930
Country: | Adobe is known to aggressively prosecute people for piracy. They also do defend their trademark : http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...&aq=f&oq=&aqi=
__________________ All offers valid for 72 hours except running auctions. SJCParking.com | SFOOffsiteParking.com | LaGuardiaParking.net |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) | |||||
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Marc J. Randazza Last Online: 11-16-2009 08:31 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 262
DNF$: 10 Location: San Diego | Quote:
Quote:
On the other hand, if you have a trademark and you want to protect it, you have to hire a lawyer to go out and exterminate the cybersquatters. You see the imbalance? This is like saying "there are lots of cockroaches in the city, and nobody seems to care." It isn't that nobody cares, its that the numbers are usually overwhelming. However, when the trademark holder gets you in his sights, and metaphorically smacks you with his newspaper, you WILL get squashed. Quote:
A negative example? YOUR DOMAIN. Let me put it very simply. You. Are. A. Cybersquatter. I'm not saying that to insult you or to rain on your parade. But, under the UDRP and the ACPA, that's what you are. Your website isn't a "website" at all. You've merely taken a pay-per-click page and merged it with an aggregator that scrapes the web for content that says "photoshop." You aren't reviewing anything, you aren't actually trying to share knowledge about photoshop. You are trying to attract people to your domain by using Adobe's registered trademark. 99% of the people who get there will say "dammit, another crappy cybersquatting site," and they will move on. 1% will click a link, thus making you a nickel in the process. You figure that if you have enough of these sites, you can make some passive income. Really, it is a smart business model (on some levels). But, if Adobe's lawyers see it, they aren't morons. They'll see through the BS as surely as I did. You will then get sued and you will lose. If you're lucky, they will just file a UDRP and take the domain. If you are unlucky, they will file an ACPA against you and slap you with a damages and attorneys' fees award. Quote:
I am certain that this isn't what you wanted to hear, but ... well, call it "tough love" kid. Better you hear it from me than from Adobe's lawyers. ugh, typo above.... I wrote Quote:
It is not per se unlawful or wrong to use someone else's trademark if you ARE using it under fair use (and are not using the mark as the honey with which to catch money flies).
__________________ Marc J. Randazza The Legal Satyricon No post should be considered to be legal advice. Last edited by marcorandazza; 10-25-2009 at 10:20 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | |||||
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-19-2009 06:18 PM iTrader: (3) Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 74
DNF$: 10 Location: London
Country: | Thanks marcorandazza. That's a very helpful reply. I now understand the situation more fully. Not that it matters, but I didn't use an aggregator that scrapes the web for content. These were paid for articles that were written by someone that uses Photoshop.
__________________ I'm buying parked domains making $2+ a month. Contact me if you have any to sell. |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Marc J. Randazza Last Online: 11-16-2009 08:31 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 262
DNF$: 10 Location: San Diego | You're welcome. I am sure it isn't what you wanted to hear... but hopefully I just saved you a big pain in the ass.
__________________ Marc J. Randazza The Legal Satyricon No post should be considered to be legal advice. |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-19-2009 06:18 PM iTrader: (3) Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 74
DNF$: 10 Location: London
Country: | Not what I wanted to hear, but at least I can make more informed decisions in the future. It's much appreciated.
__________________ I'm buying parked domains making $2+ a month. Contact me if you have any to sell. |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member | i have a mis-spelled domain i have parked. am i violation of any trade marks? to use an example (not mine) Toyote.com Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Marc J. Randazza Last Online: 11-16-2009 08:31 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 262
DNF$: 10 Location: San Diego | Quote:
The owner of Toyote.com could have a legitimate use for that domain (at least I could imagine one). However, it isn't being used legitimately. That is clearly a cybersquatting site, and the owner of that site should be held liable. If you have a similar site, you should be too.
__________________ Marc J. Randazza The Legal Satyricon No post should be considered to be legal advice. | |
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| The Evil Mod Name: Ed Last Online: Today 03:40 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,322
DNF$: 216 Location: South Florida
Country: | It's all on the usage. If you use it to profit off of someone else's TM - then it is cybersquatting. Say I owned Windos.com (deliberate typing) and used it to sell software, MS Windows, and so on - then I would be infringing. BUT - if I used it to promote stained glass, car windshields, hurricane proof windows then I am not infringing. The same could be said for the actual windows.com domain - just be damn sure any ads that appear only pertain to physical windows (glass, etc..) and not anything to do with computers or software.
__________________ Get a Parked.com account today! What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net I'm always looking for dog breed domains |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 03:08 PM iTrader: (34) Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,293
DNF$: 0 Location: Toronto, Canada
Country: | Ok so here's my question. What if a trademark is being parked ...but the purpose of it being parked is because it is temporary until it gets developed? Let's assume no ad's from the TM are being used on the parking page? Can that be justified as fair use? |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |