Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Siauliai
    Posts
    74
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    656
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    656
    Donate  

    Trademark question .eu

    Adult domain with 300k visitors a month. Eu TLD. It is not for sale, my friend uses this for his site.
    It is exactly the same as one of the most famous adult sites around the world.

    Trademarks registered:

    Australia
    Hong Kong, SAR of China
    Iceland
    International Registration
    Mexico
    New Zealand
    Norway
    Singapore
    Switzerland
    Taiwan, Province of China

    We want to save this domain. Any posibilities to save this?


    My friend got an email:

    Dear Sir

    We are lawyers acting on behalf of XXXX Ltd. of Hong Kong, successor in title to Jager and Polacek GmbH of Austria (hereinafter the "Client").

    It has come to our Client's attention that you are the registered owner of the domain name <XXXX.EU> (the "Domain Name"), registered on 19 May 2006.

    In addition, following our request to the European Registry of Internet Domain Names (EURid) based on our Client's trade mark rights in the term XXXX, EURid have revealed that you had acquired the Domain Name on 29 January 2008.

    Our Client has developed significant goodwill in the term XXXX. As you are most certainly aware, www.XXXX.com is one of the world's most famous adult websites. Our Client's website available at www.XXXX.com is one of the most visited websites in the world and in many countries. Our Client has used the brand XXXX in interstate and international commerce since 2006 and has since developed and acquired very significant notoriety and goodwill in the term XXXX, its services and its main website, www.XXXX.com.

    Moreover, our Client holds several trade mark registrations worldwide in the term XXXX, including an International Registration XXXX, number 1003223, registered on 22 April 2008.

    In view of the above, you must be aware of our Client's brand and services.

    The Domain Name is identical to our Client's trade mark. Our Client has indicated to us that it has not authorised you to register or exploit the Domain Name. Our Client considers that your registration and use of the Domain Name is detrimental to its trade marks, trade name, goodwill, reputation and business.

    Your registration and use of the Domain Name clearly infringe our Client's intellectual property rights and constitute an act of unfair competition. As a result of this infringement and misrepresentation which is detrimental to its goodwill, reputation and business, our Client's is likely to suffer a loss.

    In addition to the Domain Name, the website available at the URL www.XXXX.eu (the "Website") to which the Domain Name points, reproduces our Client's exact trade mark several times. The Website is particularly detrimental to our Client since it is used in relation to services which are highly similar to those available at our Client's website www.XXXX.com and has a look and feel which is very similar to our Client's website www.XXXX.com. The Website suggests the existence of some form of association, endorsement or link between our Client's brand and services, the Domain Name and the Website. Our Client considers that you are seeking to attract traffic to the Website by deliberately creating confusion between our Client's services and the Website to free ride on our Client's goodwill and generate undue financial gain as a result.

    On behalf of our Client, we therefore require that, within ten (10) days of your receipt of this letter, you agree to the following undertakings:

    1. That you will take all necessary steps to transfer ownership of the Domain Name to our Client;

    2. You will not use or register any sign, logo, domain name, or trade mark identical or similar to any sign, logo, domain name or trade mark held by our Client; and

    3. That you will not divulge the Domain Name transfer or these undertakings to any third party.

    Please sign and return a copy of this letter to us at the address above to indicate your agreement with these undertakings.

    Should you fail to return the signed letter to us within the specified time period, we have been instructed by our Client to take, without further notice, all steps which our Client shall deem appropriate to ensure that your actions cease and that our Client obtains compensation for any damage suffered.

    In the event that you or your legal counsel wishes to contact us with regard to this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me at the above contact details.

    Yours faithfully

  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    domaingenius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,238
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,811
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,811
    Donate  
    With this I would suggest that you firstly check here to see if there is a European trade mark registered;
    http://oami.europa.eu/CTMOnline/Requ...tion=CTMOnline

    Do they have a trade mark that is valid in ANY European Country ?. If they do ,and you are using for similar or same class of product or service then
    will be big problem. You need to establish that first, i.e. does any trade mark they are advising you of cover any Country in Europe ?.

    DG

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Siauliai
    Posts
    74
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    656
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    656
    Donate  
    Yes, they have. i checked.. The site is the similar and that's no good.

    We need good lawyers to take a consultation. Can anyone recomend?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com