It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Click Here
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2008, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 12-29-2008 01:07 PM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 184
DNF$: 625
Location: USA
Country:


Arrow Trademark Question

Hello, I have a quick question regarding a trademark infringing domain name...

The domain name was registered in 2002 and my trademark was finally approved and finalized this year. The domain that is in violation of my trademark is simply parked and doing nothing. The owner has already shown bad faith by demanding "five figures", so in this event, can I file with WIPO and probably win my domain or are they going to have the rights to it because they registered it many years ahead of my trademark?

Any insight is appreciated.
dr00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-30-2008, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
DNF Newbie
 
raoul's Avatar
 
Name: Raoul Koning
Last Online: Today 02:57 PM
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 144
DNF$: 548
Location: Netherlands


i have no ideaa if it works like this, if it is, its rediculess. A new type of biz is born, search some nice websites wich have no trademark and simply apply for one
__________________
a "internet company" that not uses some kind of a instant messenger .

email is SOOOO 1999
raoul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Today 01:15 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 75
DNF$: 100
Location: USA


How is is bad faith to ask for five figures? If they had it before your trademark and are not doing anything with it that is not Bad Faith. Your trademark is good for the business you are in. Others can still use that name for a different type of business.

You will lose with WIPO.

Last edited by caper5; 05-30-2008 at 01:24 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
caper5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
DN Coyote
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 03:01 PM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,249
DNF$: 422
Location: South Florida
Country:


I agree. They had it long before your TM was approved thus no "bad faith" in their registration. I'll admit, asking 5 figures for the domain because of your trademark is bad karma (unless it is worth 5 figures) and unfortunately bad karma is not against any law.

Hopefully you registered other TLDs (.net, .org, .info, .us, etc..)
__________________
Ask me about my Domain Management Tool Only $5!
What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net

draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Today 01:15 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 75
DNF$: 100
Location: USA


It could also be that he just does not want or need to sell it. I imagine he registered the name because he likes the name.

He probably doesn't even know that the person asking for the domain has a trademark on it. And if he does maybe the email was more of a threat and he just has no interest in selling to someone that threatens him when he knows he is in the right.
caper5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 12-29-2008 01:07 PM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 184
DNF$: 625
Location: USA
Country:


Well, quite a sprinkle of random responses here. To clarify, I was ASKING for a reason... so please take that into consideration here. In addition to that, I have not told them about the trademark, so no "threatening" emails were sent.

Also, I doubt this person regged the name for the fact that they like it, then parked it at a known domain parking company. My research shows the same person owns around 5,000 more domains too. He is definitely in the domain business.

But lets take an example like this... (pretend that this is a present day scenario)

Joe Smith gets word that "Bill Gates" (the local high-school computer nerd) is starting a computer company, and he plans to call it Microsoft. He has like 200 dollars to his name at the time, and obviously doesn't realize the importance of a trademark. So Joe Smith, another computer nerd with domain knowledge, goes and registers "Microsoft.com" because he believes Bill will be successful someday and want to buy his domain.

This is a mighty good speculation, but in the end, Bill Gates is the one who has to buy the domain at the five figure amount.

Even though the domain was registered before the trademark in this example, does that mean that Joe Smith can demand a five figure number for the domain that is key to his business operations?

I appreciate the responses thus far. Any more insight or knowledge would be beneficial to me.
dr00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Today 01:15 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 75
DNF$: 100
Location: USA


Sorry I didn't mean to sound rude.

So in 2002 he knew that you were going to start a business and was aware you were working on something with that name? It is Unfortunate, but people can ask whatever they want for a domain name. Unless you are a McDonald's or another famous company many people can use the same name for different types of businesses with or without a trademark.

Again, I am sorry if I can across as brash in my posts.
caper5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 12-29-2008 01:07 PM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 184
DNF$: 625
Location: USA
Country:


No, you're fine. No worries.

I appreciate the response, but it appears that it will probably come down to money unless anyone else knows of another loophole? ;D

Thank you all for your input.
dr00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 05:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
onlinetv's Avatar
 
Name: Rick Siegel
Last Online: Yesterday 05:20 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 91
DNF$: 340
Location: Spain
Country:


You have no loophole. His ownership is prior to your filing. He is not even competing parked. Always hard to bite the bullet.
__________________
Niche Video Website Community Guide
onlinetv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains