Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2009, 09:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:52 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 880
DNF$: 0


the ultimate trademark infringement and getting away with it

check out hifibitz.co.uk which is the original site and then hifibitz.com. It is the ultimate trademark infringement. advertising rival products, making logo same as trademark site and having an affiliate program directly from trademark site. wow....
__________________
buying lll.ca and generics. PM list and prices
victornumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 05-25-2009, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:49 PM
iTrader: (393)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,737
DNF$: 3,435
Location: USA
Country:




Maybe he has an agreement with the UK site. He's linking to them via an affiliate id. Either that, or he has huge balls
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:52 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 880
DNF$: 0


whois seems to be private and hifibitz is a multimillion dollar corporation and there are many chain stores all over UK so I doubt it.
__________________
buying lll.ca and generics. PM list and prices
victornumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:49 PM
iTrader: (393)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,737
DNF$: 3,435
Location: USA
Country:




Well, he is using an affiliate id, therefore he doesn't seem concerned. Is the name tm'ed ?
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:52 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 880
DNF$: 0


I think it is and it seems awfully similar especially the capitalization of the letters. I think its still a great deal though considering hifibitz let the .com expire and ended up selling at auction for $400. It would be interesting how this plays out though.
__________________
buying lll.ca and generics. PM list and prices
victornumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:49 PM
iTrader: (393)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,737
DNF$: 3,435
Location: USA
Country:




Wow then it's obvious they are fast asleep; however, you're right, this does not justify the .com holder's bravado.
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:52 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 880
DNF$: 0


however, I do find it impressive the .com owners are able to build such a site in a few days and have terms of service and everything else together a ready to go.
__________________
buying lll.ca and generics. PM list and prices
victornumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 11:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
PRED's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 03:05 PM
iTrader: (118)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,938
DNF$: 1,013
Country:




Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by victornumber View Post
check out hifibitz.co.uk which is the original site and then hifibitz.com. It is the ultimate trademark infringement. advertising rival products, making logo same as trademark site and having an affiliate program directly from trademark site. wow....
no, i need to correct you, the ULTIMATE tm infringement is:

www.wipo.com
PRED is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com