If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I bought the domain FLYIJET.com on pool.com's marketplace.
I have been approached by a lawyer saying the FLYI is a registered trademark.
According to the US patent and trademark office the trademark FLYI is registered in relation to a number of different services.
The most relevant service to use the FLYI trademark is as follows:
IC 038. US 100 101 104. G & S: PROVIDING AN INTERNET WEB SITE OF INFORMATION REGARDING AIR TRANSPORTATION AND MATTERS OF INTEREST TO AIR TRAVELERS, AND MULTIPLE-USER ACCESS THERETO
I have said that I will not display such information on the site, however they are still trying to claim ownership of the domain.
What should I do?
HELP (urgent)
Bonnag
Sounds like they've been eyeing that for a long time, and prepared in case
this happens.
Why'd you get that domain? How do you intend to use it?
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
If you want to save the domain, I'd recommend you to :
1.- Setup some content of your site, it should be totally unrelated to the trademark.
2.- Put a disclaimer that clearly states you are not, and not related, nor sponsored nor affiliate, nothing, nada, zero related to the trademark.
3.- If they have their own website put a link to them to lead people to the "correct place".
After all this, you're chances to survive a WIPO complaint will increase like 10%![]()
Sorry to say, but in almost all cases they always go on the side of the tm holder! else there is little point for paying for a tm!
I suggest doing what fischermx said, and ask if that satisfies them. If they continue to approch you, if your rich fight it. Else give up the name! Not Really too worth the legal battle imho!
Pay Per Click Forum | payperclick.biz | bgrbloomer.com | Charity-gift.com | PokerForum.org.uk | EfficientSearch.co.uk | HolidayForum.co.uk | Magaluf.org | AdPreviewTool.com
No, that's not what the database says. Not a single one of those records indicates a registration.According to the US patent and trademark office the trademark FLYI is registered
Pet peeve #362
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
Bookmarks