Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2002, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-02-2007 06:39 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 69
DNF$: 1,603
Location: Massachusetts

Send a message via ICQ to Loun Send a message via AIM to Loun Send a message via Yahoo to Loun

Verio Telemarketing

Not sure if anyone wants to have some fun with these people or not but I just got a sales call from verio telling me that they are aware of the domain name i registered and wanted to know if I was satisfied with my hosting.

I told him i had a couple dedicated servers and was good with what i had. I asked him where he got my info and he of course said whois. So i asked if he was aware that whois info couldnt be used for marketing via telephone or email and so on. he said well ahmm this isnt spam. So anyhow I proceeded to have some fun with him:

What was the comapny you work for again? To which he replied Verio. Then of course I asked his name and said great, scott, what number can oyu be reached at. He gave me their 800 number and stopped there and I said and your direct extension would be what scott? So i have his number and so on. Then ended the call with great that should be all i need... enjoy your day

It was hilarious listening to him go from confident sales pitch mode to shlt why is he asking me this and then the nervousness as he said bye.


I guess things like this could be considered legal issues as im sure it annoys other people like it does me. Anyone interested in playing or following up on this to try to see what ou can do PM me for the info I gathered.

Otherwise enjoy your day and best of luck with sales and development.

-Lou
Loun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 10-22-2002, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
izoot's Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-31-2009 05:13 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,083
DNF$: 3,486
Location: Chicago


I've gotten those calls too ona number of names....multiple times for finance growth.com ( why pick that one? ). I wasn't aware that "who is" is not to be used for marketing.

I've also gotten numerous emails from some russian girl ( svetlana some thing ) about web development.

I guess I'll start saving email and logging calls from now on.

Thanks for pointing this out....
__________________
http://www.TicketStub.com Do you have Sports, Theater, Music domains with traffic? PM me.
izoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-02-2007 06:39 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 69
DNF$: 1,603
Location: Massachusetts

Send a message via ICQ to Loun Send a message via AIM to Loun Send a message via Yahoo to Loun

sample

Betterwhois:

The data in this whois database is provided to you for information
purposes only, that is, to assist you in obtaining information about or
related to a domain name registration record. We make this information
available "as is," and do not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a
whois query, you agree that you will use this data only for lawful
purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this data to: (1)
enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that stress or load
this whois database system providing you this information; or (2) allow,
enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited,
commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail, electronic
mail, or by telephone. The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or
other use of this data is expressly prohibited without prior written
consent from us. The registrar of record is eNom. We reserve the right
to modify these terms at any time. By submitting this query, you agree
to abide by these terms.
Version 6.3 4/3/2002



Register:

The data in Bulkregister.com's WHOIS database is provided to you by
Bulkregister.com for information purposes only, that is, to assist you in
obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration
record. Bulkregister.com makes this information available "as is", and
does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a WHOIS query, you
agree that you will use this data only for lawful purposes and that,
under no circumstances will you use this data to: (1) allow, enable,
or otherwise support the transmission of mass or bulk unsolicited,
commercial advertising or solicitations via electronic mail, aka (SPAM).
(2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that apply
to Bulkregister.com (or its systems). The compilation, repackaging,
dissemination or other use of this data is expressly prohibited without
the prior written consent of Bulkregister.com. Bulkregister.com reserves
the right to modify these terms at any time. By submitting this query,
you agree to abide by these terms.



I consider telemarketing Mass Unsolicited advertising dont you?

Enjoy!
Loun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
revsorg's Avatar
 
Name: Matt Williams
Last Online: 09-03-2009 05:56 PM
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 426
DNF$: 969
Location: Leigh on Sea, E


You might consider using this :: anti-telemarketing script
__________________
Revs
revsorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
President Gringo
Guest
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Posts: n/a
DNF$: 0 [Check]


Quote:
Originally posted by revsorg
You might consider using this :: anti-telemarketing script
that is class
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phpArcadeScript on backup hosting due to Hurricane in Florida scottatmu Advertising and Related Offers 7 10-29-2005 11:07 AM
Register.com - Wins in Court Against Verio Again daum Domain Name News 0 01-30-2004 07:45 PM
.WS telemarketing bidawinner Gold Cafe 3 07-19-2002 02:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com