DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2005, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
888-MRDELETED
 
Mr. Deleted's Avatar
 
Name: Joseph Slabaugh
Last Online: 05-01-2009 05:58 PM
iTrader: (48)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,947
DNF$: 24
Location: youtube.com/mrdeleted
Country:


wamart.com WIPO

Quote:
Complainant contends the following:

- The second level domain name <wamart.com> is confusingly similar to Complainant’s mark; WAL-MART is a famous mark, which enhances the likelihood of confusion. The domain name is only one letter apart for the mark. By using this mark Complainant engages in intensive advertising of its services and merchandise.

- Respondent lacks rights or legitimate interests in the domain name. Respondent was not authorized by Complainant to use the domain name, which is likely to be confused with Complainant’s mark. Respondent has no rights in “wamart” or in “WAL-MART” in any country.

- The domain name <wamart.com> was registered in bad faith, because Respondent had knowledge that the Complainant held rights in and to its mark WAL-MART. Respondent is clearly partaking in typosquatting. Respondent registered the domain name and used it to list links to companies that offer goods and services competitive to those offered by Complainant. For example, the “furniture” link leads to a link farm page with links to other furniture retailers. By registering <wamart.com> Respondent was deliberately trying to capture web traffic intended for “www.walmart.com”. Furthermore Respondent has enrolled as an affiliate with a company, DomainSponsor, that pays money to websites that direct traffic to other websites. Services such as DomainSponsor are creating incentives for an increase in cybersquatting, by making it simple and profitable. The domain name was acquired in bad faith with the purpose of diverting Complainant’s customers to Respondent’s site. Respondent’s use of the domain name tarnishes Complainant’s mark.
http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2005-0322.html
Mr. Deleted is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 06-09-2005, 03:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Bishop
 
namestrands's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-16-2009 03:42 PM
iTrader: (117)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,954
DNF$: 2,515
Location: UK
Country:


Re: wamart.com WIPO

harsh but fair.. and as it was parked then it was expected.
namestrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 01:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 08:03 PM
iTrader: (393)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,747
DNF$: 3,467
Location: USA
Country:




Re: wamart.com WIPO

There are some oddballs in the WIPO. "Services such as DomainSponsor are creating incentives for an increase in cybersquatting, by making it simple and profitable."

Since when the nazi won the war?
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com