Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2007, 09:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
TheBest.com
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Name: George Kirikos
Last Online: Today 04:00 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,206
DNF$: 866
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Exclamation Warning: Phishing attempts via email claiming to be from Moniker

I received the following email today, claiming to be from Moniker:

--- start email --------------
From info@moniker.com Wed Aug 29 04:49:23 2007
X-Apparently-To: [REDACTED] via 206.190.38.16; Wed, 29 Aug 2007 04:49:27 -0700
X-Originating-IP: [209.191.85.97]
Return-Path: <re.weiss@yahoo.com>
Authentication-Results: mta245.mail.re4.yahoo.com from=yahoo.com; domainkeys=pass (ok)
Received: from 209.191.85.97 (HELO web37012.mail.mud.yahoo.com) (209.191.85.97) by mta245.mail.re4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 29 Aug 2007 04:49:27 -0700
Received: (qmail 53702 invoked by uid 60001); 29 Aug 2007 11:49:23 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.com; h=X-YMail-OSG:Receivedate:From:Subject:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding:Message-ID; b=TpPhDeag/8kqRX5lkOeaIcRVHvL/vkUJ+uE6A0s0Dbf0Cnaf6qWmYCTNUBqjDnl+eAGfU6V72hoOQ3 oLabunoAD21QZg/+PrcG4/2DOuXK1BOpbmpWln34l9wF9WoTFpZuFR8f/XxjwK4X2ZFtbLivaSeuXAVQJGjXe2aTX+Gz0=;
X-YMail-OSG: LMawMwwVM1niEwCMrXOtPXFXiouttWUG9U.Pe0mt53MfHz9_BU 8bE4aCgBurXOxwP6nje16Idt_ZBaWX5gNd4.sAqek8CMketIZ8 UanO_49blWgxZg_P20VqhCSllw--
Received: from [64.251.19.130] by web37012.mail.mud.yahoo.com via HTTP; Wed, 29 Aug 2007 04:49:23 PDT
Date: Wed, 29 Aug 2007 04:49:23 -0700 (PDT)
From: "info@moniker.com" <re.weiss@yahoo.com> Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Yahoo! DomainKeys has confirmed that this message was sent by yahoo.com. Learn more
Subject: Affiliate Summit 2007
To: list@domainers-summit.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1328096676-1188388163=:53679"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Message-ID: <526363.53679.qm@web37012.mail.mud.yahoo.com>
Content-Length: 857
Why you should work with us :

[REDACTED LINK TO A YOUTUBE VIDEO]
------ end email ------

However, the actual target of the link was much more complex, appear to be an encrypted form to change one's password and submit it to a site in Asia.

This appears to be some form of Phishing attempt, using Moniker's good name to steal/take control of domain admin account email addresses, etc. Fortunately, I'm too paranoid to click on links in emails. lol

I've sent an email to Monte, but wanted to bring this to the attention of members here too. It would obviously affect accounts not at Moniker, i.e. if they control your email address, they can try to steal a domain held at any registrar.

Feel free to repost this warning to other domain boards/blogs.
__________________
George Kirikos
Home Page

Last edited by GeorgeK; 08-29-2007 at 09:49 AM..
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 08-29-2007, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:43 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 57
DNF$: 199


Thanks for the info
paulbakerboo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little of everything including PEYY.com showbiz2 Domains for Sale (Domain Sales) - Offers Wanted 1 08-10-2007 10:02 AM
vB 3.5 KEEP ALL ISSUES IN THIS THREAD DotComGod Suggestions and Feedback 174 11-07-2005 09:24 AM
WARNING: Spoof Microsoft email alert... devolution Domain Name News 5 05-05-2003 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com