DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2009, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
TheBest.com
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Name: George Kirikos
Last Online: Yesterday 09:23 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,206
DNF$: 866
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Exclamation Warning: Phishing attempts via email claiming to be from Tucows/OpenSRS

Just like phishers previously pretending to be Moniker:

http://www.dnforum.com/f26/warning-p...ad-247216.html

it looks like someone is trying to pretend to be Tucows/OpenSRS, to try to get you to click a link (and steal your Yahoo cookies, passwords, etc., thereby stealing your domains, etc.)

Here's some of the email:

Quote:
----- start email snippet -----------------
From: "support@domainhelp.opensrs.net" <support@domainhelp.opensrs.net> Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
To: you@example.com [redacted]
Date: Thu, 08 Jan 2009 22:26:33 +0300
Subject: IMPORTANT: Transfer of domain registration confirmation

================================================== ==========
CHANGE OF REGISTRANT PENDING
================================================== ===========


Dear Firstname, Lastname

The registrant of the following domain name(s):

http://example.com --- they use a different domain than example.com

has initiated a process by which you will become the registrant
of the domain name(s).

IMPORTANT: You must complete all of the steps below before the
domain can become active in your account.

-------------------------------------------------------------
You may be asked to log in to your account. To safely log in:

1. Go to the domainhelp.opensrs.net, Inc. home page and select "My Account."

2. Enter your account number 12065569 and password.
Then, click "Secure Login."
---- end email snippet --------------
The email is pretty authentic looking. Of course, I'm far too paranoid to click on links like that, but a lot of people would probably click on it, in order to try to figure out who is trying to transfer a domain name to them.

So, be careful out there! This is why I'm always hammering away on methods to try to improve registrar security, as the thieves continue to get away with this, due to reliance on email as proof of "ownership" or "control" of a domain.

Sincerely,

George
__________________
George Kirikos
Home Page
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 01-08-2009, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 12:10 AM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,367
DNF$: 183
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Thank yuo for the heads up.
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com