Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2009, 07:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Name: Edwin Hayward
Last Online: 11-15-2009 08:22 PM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,398
DNF$: 2,473
Location: Tokyo, Japan


Warning! Scammer posing as me to gain access to domain parking services

Back in July 2008, a scammer posed as me to try and join a number of domain parking services. He used a list of many of my .co.uk domains as "proof" that he had names worth parking, and (possibly - he could have created other email addresses as well) the email address edwinhayvard@yahoo.co.uk (note that his email address uses a "v" in it not a "w"!) He also may have initially used my home address in his application.

I made a pre-emptive series of posts to the major domain forums at the time, and I also emailed every parking program I could think of, and a large number of his fraudulent parking accounts were suspended, according to the communications I received from parking companies I didn't catch in my initial clean-up operation back in July.

However, he seems to have recently started using other parking accounts which he left dormant since July last year, hence this new alert. He seems to be laundering junk, click fraud and other similar worthless traffic through the parking accounts.

If you find that I ("Edwin Hayward") allegedly joined your parking service since July 2008, then it's highly likely that it's actually the scammer since I only entered a couple of new business relationships in the last 6 months.

A few things to check (not an exhaustive list)
- Poor English in any communication you exchanged with him, as if the messages were coming from a non-native speaker
- Was payment by wire requested?
- Is the traffic coming from "junk" sources and names that aren't generic? (all of mine are)
- Is the scammer hiding behind free email services? I have one gmail account (ehayward@) and several "real" email accounts at domains that I own, and that's it. I don't use any other free email services or have any other gmail accounts.
- Did he sign up with phone number 008613867744840? (not mine, nothing to do with me - that's a China country code)
- His ID on DNForum is/was "simajianlin". On Acorn Domains he is/was "majianlin". His username on Afternic is/was "Majianlin" and his Afternic ID is 118925.

If you have even the slightest doubt, please either PM me here or preferably email me at ehaywardATmemorabledomains.co.uk as I have a much larger file of information on this scammer, and would be delighted to send you everything I know about him. In the meantime, please DON'T PAY HIM!
Edwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 01-22-2009, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
aZooZa's Avatar
 
Name: Dale Hubbard
Last Online: Today 04:54 AM
iTrader: (45)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 5,869
Location: Exeter, UK
Country:

Send a message via MSN to aZooZa Send a message via Skype™ to aZooZa

Edwin - your rep is legendary. Grab the scum. Will be watching the .co.uk scene...
__________________
UK Drop Catching Services: Dropsystem.co.uk
New! Canada TBR Drop Catching: Dropping.ca
New! QUALITY MiniSites: NOTsoMINI.com
aZooZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-20-2009 11:05 PM
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 336
DNF$: 80
Country:


Sounds like you have your hands full. Good luck.
__________________
...
Yusio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Name: Edwin Hayward
Last Online: 11-15-2009 08:22 PM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,398
DNF$: 2,473
Location: Tokyo, Japan


Thanks for the encouragement. Unfortunately, the scammer is in an "awkward" jurisdiction in that it would be prohibitive to chase them through legal channels, so the best I can do is spread this warning far and wide...
Edwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 08:46 PM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 449
DNF$: 0


Edwin,

Don't feel bad, it happens to all of us. I had a similar scammer sign up for a number of services using a name just like mine @gmail.com. Since then I switched my email to a email address only I have an account at.

The way I found out was a lady at one of the parking services emailed me instead of him by accident because it is one letter off, I freaked out because I didn't realize people stooped to this level.
__________________
cloudsocial.com - cdnify.com
ohkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com