Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    TheBest.com
    GeorgeK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,264
    DNF$
    1,512
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,512
    Donate  

    Exclamation Warning: yy.com was a HIJACKED domain (now recovered)

    Hi folks,

    yy.com, discussed at:

    http://www.*************/showthread....threadid=30623

    was a HIJACKED domain (I could tell right away, and helped inform the true owner). It has since been recovered, on behalf of the real Kirk Oatman, who has moved the name away from NSI to OpenSRS.

    If you check the WHOIS for that domain name, definedhost.com (who started the thread), it has the "pagiz.com" domain that had been involved in the Secretary.com and KS.com thefts (I think Toho of DNForum lost $10,000+ on the latter).

    See:

    http://www.domainstate.com/showthrea...ight=pagiz.com

    for the Domainstate thread about that theft.

    yy.com had been pointing at 69.93.226.162 temporarily, which also had the pagiz.com domain:

    http://www.whois.sc/reverse-ip/?lookup=69.93.226.162

    chadhorn.com WHOIS also shows a @pagiz.com admin email, and definedhost.com nameservers (if you recall, there was a "Chadwick Horn" in the Secretary.com theft, if you read that domainstate thread).

    I have an IP address of the emails that were sent back/forth while the domain was hijacked, and it is:

    68.64.225.154

    which is Adelphia.net. Headers of the email also mention "DefinedHosting".

    So, we have lots of information for the FBI or other law enforcement to go after the domain thieves, and help get back Toho's money, etc. (I think DotComCowboy was never made entirely whole, either).

    Reports should be made to

    http://www.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp

    for those with more information. Would be nice to put these scum out of business. There are too many stolen domains floating around, and no one wants to get stuck with stolen goods.

    I've also talked to Mary Gallegos, who had been victimized by these thieves (although the secretary.com has since been recovered), and there's an open police investigation. So, just a matter of everyone filing the appropriate details with authorities.

    Be on the lookout for other fishy domains, as there are certainly others out there with stolen domains.
    George Kirikos
    Home Page

  2. #2
    TheBest.com
    GeorgeK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,264
    DNF$
    1,512
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,512
    Donate  

    Re: Warning: yy.com was a HIJACKED domain (now recovered)

    Looks like the first link is broken. Perhaps the mods can remove the restriction/filter on one of the competing boards, as the domain biz should be cooperative when it comes to domain hijackings, etc.
    George Kirikos
    Home Page

  3. #3
    President
    GiantDomains's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    N-Y-C
    Posts
    6,729
    DNF$
    573
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    573
    Donate  

    Re: Warning: yy.com was a HIJACKED domain (now recovered)

    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeK
    Looks like the first link is broken. Perhaps the mods can remove the restriction/filter on one of the competing boards, as the domain biz should be cooperative when it comes to domain hijackings, etc.
    Mods don't have that power, but you can suggest it to DCG
    NETCHEAP - Discount Dotster Reseller - $7.99
    FREE pushes from your dotster account, renew for $7.99! 1. Create a netcheap account. 2. Push from dotster to netcheap account name. 3. Renew for $7.99!

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    DNJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    DN Forum Where
    Posts
    359
    DNF$
    386
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    386
    Donate  

    Re: Warning: yy.com was a HIJACKED domain (now recovered)

    Yeah it looks to me like its a filter, just replace the *'s with "name pros.com" (remove the space)

  5. #5
    Kuwaiti UNIX Geek
    Bashar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    645
    DNF$
    4,130
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,130
    Donate  

    Re: Warning: yy.com was a HIJACKED domain (now recovered)

    http://www.domainnametalk.com/showthread.php?t=259

    and check the PM he PM'ed me with:
    Hello Bashar,

    I have contacted you via email regarding YY.com. Below if the pasted email:



    Dear Bashar Alabdulhadi,

    Thank you for possibly taking interest in YY.COM. This has been my company since late 1994 and as of 2003, I closed the doors for good to the company it represented. I ventured into other avenues of development and thus, have no use for this domain any further from what the previous use was for.

    There is a very large presence for it on yahoo and a high google pagerank. The domain is very easy to remember and ever with it's current state of nothingness, it still receives over 300 unique visitors per day. For some reason, we have a high yield of traffic from the middle east/asian countries.

    I have has several professional appraisals ranging between $20,000USD to $50,000USD for the domain namesake alone, with one as high as $150,000USD. The latter was taking into consideration teh advertisements and placement of all advertising over the years. While I am not asking as much as the last appraisal, I would appreciate keeping these appraisals in consideration when/if you decide to offer to purchase this domain. Please reply back with your offer as soon as is convenient to you. This sale, once a price is agreed upon, will proceed via escrow.com with teh purchaser (you) being in charge of the fees associated therein.

    If purchase of this domain goes forth, I would rather it be a private sale as the present software patent owners that I sold the software patents to, still have the "YY Software" anme attached to it. While they have no namesake in the domain and company name itself, I would prefer this method as to not interfere with their companies stability by the means of public eye. If you would rather have this a public auction however, while I would prefer it not, I will go forth with it.

    Bryan Jones spoke highly of you and said he would refer you at any time to do business with. He complimented on your speed at returning his emails as well as overall satisfaction with his dealings with you. That is the primary reason I decided to offer this to you over posting in the forums I have been given links to. While he didn't give me your email at forst (for your privacy as an individual), he decided to do so as I would like to have this domain sold as soon as possible. It is a lot of wasted traffic someone can get use of. If I have not heard back from you within the day however, I am going to go ahead and post it within the forums selling to the highest bidder. I already have a person asking for it around the $50,000USD mark.

    Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. If you have any further questions or would like to set an offer for this domain, email reply back to this email or simply send an email to koatman@yy.com.

    Thank you for your time and consideration. Have a very wonderful day.



    Sincerely,

    Kirk Oatman
    KuwaitNET Internet Services - www.KuwaitNET.net
    Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - C.E.O.
    Kuwait's First Hosting Services Provider since 1997, an ICANN accredited Registrar

Similar Threads

  1. Stand Up And Protect Your Domain Name
    By nicpal in forum Domain Name Legal Issues
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 01:14 PM
  2. Judge approves domain name penalty on eReferee.com!
    By daum in forum Domain Name News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2004, 06:19 PM
  3. WARNING: Domain Registry of America scam mailing (again!)
    By devolution in forum Domain Name News
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-30-2003, 03:31 PM
  4. Trade marks vs domain names
    By izopod in forum Domain Name News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2003, 01:38 PM
  5. Is my domain hijacked from enom??
    By ajiabs in forum General Domain Name Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-19-2003, 05:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com