It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2008, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 08-27-2008 03:20 AM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 105
DNF$: 763
Location: Las Vegas


What's this "We're just checking your contact info" scam?

I was contacted by phone by someone speaking such broken English that I could barely understand him. He kept saying "we're verifying the contact info on your domain" (some obscure domain I own). He asked me if the email address was correct, and I said yes.

I've also gotten some emails about this regarding various other random domains including a couple I don't even own. It basically says that they registrar has to verify my contact info. I've only gotten this on a few domains and I own hundreds so it seems kinda fishy to me.

Anyone know anything about this?
__________________
VegasNews.com
SportsTalkForum.com
beggers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-2008, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Name: Frank
Last Online: 08-28-2008 10:11 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 306
DNF$: 645
Location: Richmond
Country:


Sounds like a scam. Registrar contacts by e-mail annd snail mail first, to my knowledge.
__________________
Frank
Domain Sales Zone
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Domagon's Avatar
 
Name: Ron Bennett
Last Online: 09-04-2008 08:47 PM
iTrader: (17)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,285
DNF$: 7,630
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Country:


Filing a Whois Data Problem Report (WDRP) is a backdoor way to legally "steal" a domain...

Registrar locks, domain passwords, etc are NO protection...

Most registrars, including many of the well respected ones, will only give the registrant a relative short time (several days to perhaps two weeks) to respond to a WDPR before taking further action, which can include deleting or more likely assigning ownership of the domain to someone else via drop services or potentially even transferring / selling it to the person the filed the WDPR to begin with - and yes, to the best of my knowledge, that's legal!

That may be the story behind the weird phone call you received - either a person who wants your domain hoping you wouldn't know anything about the domain so they have a better shot with a WDPR ...

Or, perhaps, simply verification by the registrar in response to a WDPR that someone filed; billing issues and other things can also lead to a registrar calling.

In regards to the whois contact emails you received - many are legit. Most registrars send them out annually.

Problem is that one can't easily tell a bogus email from a real one - so it's best to never click any link in any email, even when from a known sender...

All it takes is a scammer to link to a fake login page that looks legit (other ways include stealing cookies, rogue javascript, etc), to steal one's password, and then transfer out their domains - sadly, such thefts happen all too frequently.

Ron
__________________
Domagon Consulting Services - Business Help and Problem Solving
View Domains For Sale at DomainList.com - contact me with offers.
Quality LLLL - Voys.com - On Sedo Auction - $500 start
Domagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Yofie's Avatar
 
Name: Jamie
Last Online: 09-04-2008 09:02 AM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 734
DNF$: 90
Location: Wisconsin
Country:


This sounds close to a phone call that I got a couple weeks ago. I wrote about it here. It's a Scam!

http://www.dotweekly.com/2008/04/10/...istry-support/
__________________
Come see what nearly 10K others do per month!
Yofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 12:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
DN Coyote
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 08:53 PM
iTrader: (16)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,943
DNF$: 352
Location: South Florida
Country:


I just got an email from NetSol about making sure my (2) domains with them have accurate information asking me to click on a link and log on.

Yeah, right.
__________________
Ask me about my Domain Management Tool! Only $5!
What's on Draggar's mind?
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 05:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 08-27-2008 03:20 AM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 105
DNF$: 763
Location: Las Vegas


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yofie View Post
This sounds close to a phone call that I got a couple weeks ago. I wrote about it here. It's a Scam!

http://www.dotweekly.com/2008/04/10/...istry-support/
This is exactly what happened, including that the person was difficult to understand, wanted a fax number, etc.
__________________
VegasNews.com
SportsTalkForum.com
beggers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 11:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
**********
 
Last Online: Today 08:11 PM
iTrader: (87)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,615
DNF$: 7,076
Location: .us


From this number, right?
http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-800-223-9113
__________________
Revenue.net | Parked.com
NameGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 05:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
DDC_Cyn's Avatar
 
Name: Cynthia
Last Online: 09-02-2008 03:41 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 167
DNF$: 25
Location: The OC
Country:


Worst case, it's a scam. Least case it's some business with something to sell that needs to confirm your info so they can send you a sales pitch.
__________________

DDC.com

Power Parking
DDC_Cyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 06:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
MAllie's Avatar
 
Name: Monica
Last Online: Today 07:11 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 414
DNF$: 65
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country:


I got one of those this morning, supposedly from GoogleAdWords:

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

We were unable to process your payment.
Your ads will be suspended soon unless we can process your payment.
To prevent your ads from being suspended, please update your payment information.

Please sign in
to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login,
and update your payment information.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for chosing Google Adwords
No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG.
Version: 8.0.100 / Virus Database: 0.0.0/0 - Release Date: 00:00

_________________________

Naturally, I have no intention of clicking on the link. As with any other site where I want to check my details, I go straight onto the site from my PC address bar.



__________________
Newbie on a steep learning curve
MAllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:12 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains