Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Success Is My Only Option
    Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4,249
    Country

    Italy
    DNF$
    28,078
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    28,078
    Donate  

    Exclamation What type of scam is it??

    I don't know if this is domain-related but I'm curious to know what type of scam is it.

    5 minutes ago I received this mail:

    From: security@cra-arc.gc.ca

    "Canada Revenue AgencyOnline Refund Form
    After the last annual calculation of your fiscal activity we have determined that you are eligible to receive a tax refund of 386.00.
    Please submit the tax refund and allow us 3-9 days in order to process it.
    A refund can be delayed for a variety of reasons. For example submitting invalid records or applying after the deadline.
    To access the form for your tax refund, please click here>>
    Copyright Canada Revenue Agency. All rights reserved. www.cra-arc.gc.ca"

    First I'm Italian not canadian so what the hell they talk about?
    Be careful guys don't click on that link.

    Who received this mail?
    Last edited by draggar; 11-18-2008 at 04:29 AM. Reason: Broke the link as per OP request

  2. #2
    DNF Regular
    ParkQuick.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Narnia
    Posts
    944
    DNF$
    18,825
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    18,825
    Donate  
    I think the link is mangled - it looks like

    mhtml:{5B5CC328-1FA3-4511-A233-B921C4FAF5BB}mid://00000119/!x-usc:hxxp://www.vrn.cc/forum/Canadian/getStatus_en.htm

    (http changed to hxxp to keep it un-clickable)

    I still think you should deactivate it in your post, though.

    The scam is probably what happens when you click on the link and all sorts of bad stuff gets downloaded to your machine.

  3. #3
    Success Is My Only Option
    Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4,249
    Country

    Italy
    DNF$
    28,078
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    28,078
    Donate  
    Thanks.
    Mods please deactivate that crap link thanks.

  4. #4
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,874
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,974
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,533
    Donate  
    Link is broken now.

    Typical phishing attempt - make the address look legit when it is not.

    I often see http://(IP address)/www.bankofamerica.com/security etc.. in phishing emails.

    It's best to do three things:
    1) Forward the email to the respective fraud team (usually fraud@domain.com or abuse@domain.com)
    2) Clean out your cache etc..
    3) Go to the site that they are mentioning (if you are concerned about it) - DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK. Type it into the browser yourself (as in www.bankofamerica.com to continue the above example).
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com